Update On The AuberginessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

4.jpg

Some critters are chewing on them aubergines and I can't tell whether these are actually some kind of aphids or another pest. I was thinking they're a stink bug but I didn't bother squashing one to smell it so am sorry I won't be able to confirm that.

A few days ago, I found a few brown dots on the stems and the leaves and suspected it was the sudden temperature drop at night that caused it. By the way, the sun abandons this side of the earth as early as 5 pm these days and the temperature has been down till 3 degree Celsius in the evening and probably colder at night. I didn't bother checking the temperature in the greenhouse in the evening because the last time I did check at day light, it was only 13 degree Celsius.

3.jpg

Today, I finally got me some free time so I spent it in my backyard checking on plants and I was thinking of moving at least two of these inside the house but I found the leaves looking like that above as if it was scarred from a chicken pox. Polka dotted brown!

2.jpg

The stems are starting to rot and a few has already started browning from the bottom and their leaves are starting to catch mildew, too. None of the flowers I saw a few days ago turned into fruits instead .. they fell and just browned. The remaining buds have started to brown as well but I guess its because the stem they were on started turning brown, too.

6.jpg

Was it the cold? Was it the tea compost I mixed in it's soil? Was it the cold? Is it too humid in there?

1.jpg

Perhaps all of the aforementioned reason yet, I thought of trying to save them by cutting off the browning areas and that's when I saw these under the leaves.

Do you happen to know what they are? I don't. I'm still thinking it's an aphid or a kind of an aphid which has evolved because of the white one in the middle and more aphid looking like critters I found on the other leaves.

It was then that I realized I should actually be glad I didn't place any of them inside the house cause imagine these pests hatched in there that would surely start a contagion. Normally, I'd wash the whole plant and check eack of their leaves but my guess is .. these could be egged in the soil or in one of them folded leaves.

5.jpg

So.. this gardening experiment didn't even last a month and two weeks this time because of so many factors plus time is really essential in gardening and almost everything we do. I've been busy the past few days, I kept coming home dead tired, I couldn't pay them a visit to attend to them.

I let go of all ten of them and let the pot out of the green house and the oranges in so I guess, this is another one of my epic gardening fail record and this one went down pretty fast. At first, I thought of salvaging two and just wash them both including the roots but I didn't want to risk letting an egg or two of them critters in the house so I've decided to abort mission besides, I've got plenty of eggplant seeds to sow.



This content's 100% mine. I took the pics with my Samsung A3 1016..



Here are my most recent post: **TIP : DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below. .



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me ---> @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

It was a search to hear that you have spent a lot of time and love for your plants.
Hope you will not experience this any more @englishtchrivy

it's alright :D we learn from experience and a curve along the way is sometimes good to never repeat the same mistake :D
sometimes I just try pushing boundaries and it doesn't work sometimes but there's nothing wrong giving it a try

Yes, that's what one learns more of

Thank you for posting englishtchrivy.

This is the dark side of gardening.... ^_^

However as long as we do not seek to deny the reality of pests and who-knows-what....we can keep gardening happily.....can we not.

The principle being.... reaction to reality is irrational.....which even applies to gardening.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers....A bientot mon ami.

All is going well....just slow....thank you for your kind wishes. ^_^

always happy here as long as I can garden :D
keeps me alive ^ ^ doing it

I didn't kill the pests .. I just cut the plants and threw all of them in the green bin hahahah
I was disgusted so there .. they look weird

okay ... I'm glad you're doing well and just slow .. it's always like that
you'd be lucky to get things in order in a month
I wish you luck no stressing out dear .. chill
am off

Sad to read that your aubergines are feeling sick.
I'd say it was cold that made them sick.
For aphids I had good results spraying plants with "onionized" water (letting one or two onions macerating for one or two days in one liter water).
I would say that, for me, the worse failure this year was with pumpkins: I planted 9 plants and harvested just one pumpkin and another little one. And I still don't know exactly why! (But I blame extraordinary drought last summer)

#til about onionized water
thanks for the tip
I normally use one with garlic

oh .. pumpkin needs enough water .. Im sorry to hear that but hey .. on the bright side you got one :D
so perhaps next year you'd get more?

btw, my other veggie gardening friends used cow dung as a natural fertilizer on theirs perhaps you could, too? some use horse shits hahah

Yes, next year my priority is to build a rain water collection system connected with an automized drip irrigation. That should help growing more pumpkins!
As I said, last year was the dryest year in Piemonte region since 1871 (!)

I also found a person with horses who will gift me some of their poop! :)

ah ... where in Italy is that?
I've only been to Venice, Brunick and a few famous cities .. is Piemonte the mountains you could ride through to get to Venice if you want to avoid the main road?

It's in the North, as Venice, but on the other side, near France.

You can't control the effect of the weather, plus it's a tropical plant.
Tanim ka na lang ulet sa spring lola.

un na nga ateng
well .. at least they grew and fruited unlike the okras I planted this year :(
those just vanished into thin air
I guess am out of here
VI down much

Looks like you have to spray an anti pest for each of your plants, anticipate.

as long as it's garlic water and oil
or anything organic - am open to that
though .. I already let these ones go and I moved the lady bug I found on one of the cosmos flowers in the green house this afternoon hoping he'd do the work for me in exchange of a warm place
am an organic gardener
edit : I mean .. I practice organic gardening

Of course you better understand about gardening. I will know much about organic gardening through your post. Thank you for sharing :)

thanks but no .. am still learning a lot .. a lot every year .. every time

Yes, it's sad to see what happens to your eggplants @englishtchrivy, I can not exactly say the reason, but here are a few possible reasons: a spider mite; aphid; lack of sunlight; excessive watering or stagnant water at the roots; lack of potassium in the soil. Perhaps if you check all the reasons, you will be able to save the plants. Do not despair and good luck to you :)

hm ... probably the first three reasons you mentioned

Usually aphids appear because of ants, I do not think that in cold weather they generally appear. It is better to wait until spring, and then fully take care of the garden.

the ants are still pretty active in my green house
they probably have nests there
it's not that cold in there yet
except for when the sun's out

it means that the aphids, until get rid of ants, fights with the aphid is useless

Hey @englishtchrivy! These look like red spiders to me. I wouldn't bother with these plants anymore, if the stem is rotting, I always discard them so they don't spread fungi spores around. If you didn't already find out what these are, I can send these pictures to some people that know better and they could identify the bug and the fungi for you! Happy gardening!

I did get rid of them already :D
it would be nice if someone would be able to identify them thanks that would be highly appreciated

Hi, maybe this link is helpful! They say that there's not enough information in the pictures.

I'm sorry to read about your aubergines! Here, in the garden of my father, we had many taste aubergines to eat in the past months, I hope the same for you the next time!

thanks ..
these were remnants .. they were still flowering so I thought bring them home and let them try in pots but I guess it's too cold for them now

yes, maybe it's too cold now. I don't know there, but here there are about 5-8 °C in these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40