June Gardening Journal

in #gardening5 years ago

Source and Source

This is my entry for the Steemit Community Garden Journal for June being run by @simplymike.

Wow! Three garden journals in the row! I'm really getting into this!

The Front Garden

Pass... the less said about this side the better.... let us just say that alternating warm weather and heavy rain has led to huge growth in all plants... wanted and unwanted! Luckily, I haven't seen the elderly neighbours for the last month (yes... they are still alive... I've not yet cashed in my one free "get away with it" card yet!).

The Back Garden

Well, the main task for the month was to hack back at the ground ivy that has started to see large growth into one of our neighbour's gardens. So, time to slash and burn (well, no burn... but that would have been fun!)... no mercy, it grows fast...

Which did lead to several very full buckets (I had already emptied out most of them) of random green waste. We have a green waste container right outside on the street, so that is pretty handy... You just dump the green (food as well) waste in... and sometime later in the year, there is a big compost collection week at the local tip!

However, the danger of leaving almost full buckets of cuttings around (to be filled at a later date and taken out into the green waste when full...)... is that they sit there for the next few weeks, waiting to be filled. Unfortunately, that meant that they were filled with water and hail (these were pretty big hailstones!) over the next week or so... and then left to sit around in the heat for another week. Let me tell you, there are no words to describe the fetid and putrid smell that was coming out of them... guess who had the pleasure of emptying them into the green waste...

New additions to the garden include these two parsley plants and a basil plant. Parsley, well... we don't use too often in the cooking... but basil, we use heaps! There is nothing better than making fresh pasta and then a quick and easy tomato sauce with basil and anchovies!

As the month went on, the parsley seems to have held up well...

...however, the Basil has not fared so well... a mixture of adults plucking it for eating... kids plucking it for making "potions" and snails (I think) taking snacks from it (although, one of our kids thinks it is the neighbourhood cat that is doing it...). Anyway, I've taken to laying out snail pellets around this area to ward off snails... I heard that coffee grounds can also work?

Meanwhile, I took all the aphid crumpled leaves off the cherry tree... I figured they weren't really contributing too much to growth any more anyway. So, that was quite a few leaves...

... and so we have a handful of little cherries coming... I really have to get some netting, so that we end up eating them instead of the birds!

The Blackberry plants are growing like crazy... and have started invading the space of the plants surrounding them... in particular, there are shoots that are growing strongly through the cherry tree and out to the hedge... I probably should do something about that... They are flowering though, which means that we should be getting some blackberries in the next month or two... which is great, as the todler has just gotten addicted to berries!

Likewise, the Strawberries are growing at a furious pace... throwing out new shoots to entrench themselves in the soil around (I'm starting to think that this is going to turn into a growth war zone between all the plants...). Our kids were excited to start seeing the first of the white coloured strawberry shapes taking form. In fact, we are told this every day by our little one.... As for the two sides that I had planted the strawberries on... it doesn't seem to be making much of a difference at the moment. Both sides are growing fast, but maybe they will have a different amount/quality of fruit?

.... and last but not least... the grape vine... which I had to hack back to stop it intruding on the other neighbour's side! It's gotten a bit unruly... but the plan is to try and train it around the the fence (we will put up some sort of wooden structure to help it....) to try and get a bit of privacy and shade. On the left of the photo, you can see another climber (just a flowering one...) that we hope to train over the shed door and down on the other side... I'm not really sure that will work, plants don't seem to want to grow downwards... but it is a plan from my wife, so I'm tasked with trying to make it work! It might be easier to start a new climber on the other side though....

To Do list

We have a bunch of little plants and cacti that are just sitting around barely living or dying on our kitchen window sill... I had recently learnt from a student of mine about how she was making Terrariums (self contained and self regulating ecosystems) with plants in a large jar! I think I'm going to give it a go with these ones... the idea is that the bottle ecosystem finds a balance... with dying plants feeding the living until an equilibrium is found (hopefully an equilibrium that also includes some living plants...). It is going to be one of my projects for this coming month!

I probably need to mow the lawn again... at the moment, the official reason is that I'm letting the seeds come so that the patches will be regenerated... but I'm starting to suspect that that line is not going to hold up for much longer... I might need to come up with a manufactured crisis to distract attention and scrutiny from the public!

There are some little projects that need to be fixed up... which will involve some drilling (small, but it does mean I get to use the hammer drill!). An insect hotel, and some ideas to try and train the climbing plants... plus some trials to figure out how to best get netting over plants to stop birds eating our fruits!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

It seems to be coming together just fine, @bengy!
Can't wait to see the next one :0)

Thanks... Small incremental changes, but it is coming together!

Great post on your garden. That ground ivy can take over. I have the same problem with the wild marigolds wanting to climb all over everything and take over. Hacking back the grapevine and training it to go where you want to go - I hope you have a trainable plant, lol. I never have luck with that, the shoots always want to spread in the opposite direction. My strawberries died out over the winter, only a few of them came back this year. Sigh.

Haha... I hope I have trainable plants as well... but I suspect that they will grow every where but the right place... maybe I have to tie them down and cut the bits that stick out... just like raising kids?

Sounds like you have great conditions to plant in, the snails/slugs I found a saucer or two of beer near to plant helps without using pellets containing aggressive chemicals.

Good luck with training grape vines they would make a lovely feature outdoors as a roof with fruits hanging through @bengy, had one in our growing up years over a carport, it worked.

Beer? That is strange... do they drink it and drown?

Wow your garden is really taking off this month. It seemed like last month you were barely started. Now I see that you will have a good harvest. My tip for basil is plant 4x the amount you need and hope that is enough.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep... the basil is going to be finished pretty soon, I will need to plant more... and figure out how to keep the snails away!

All that time spending working to get the garden and plants thriving... and along comes the pests (aphids)- oh they just know how to ruin a good thing!

I'm importing some ladybugs into my garden... I think those aphids are going to be food!

Looking good @bengy. My garden didn't happen this year but hooe to get back to it next year. Thanks for sharing!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks... it is coming along, but slowly... but on the other hand, gardens are slow slow process!

Your hands are full! Hmmmm... cherry tree and the grape vine... remind me of my childhood. Enjoy your garden!

Yes, hopefully we will have fruit... and then I need to put up nets so that the birds don't get to them!

Looks as things are coming along there. I got so much to do to my plot that barely passed for a garden. My strawberries are on schedule but the Starlings totally plundered my Blueberries before they could even begin to ripen.

Bastards! The birds are really a pain in the arse! I have started to put up netting, hoping that they keep the birds out... hoepfulyl, I don't accidentally catch one...

Looking good! Our front yard was at critical cutting level yesterday, so my boyfriend had to take care of that before we were the bane of our neighborhood, haha. Looks like you should be getting a good bit of berries between the blackberries and strawberries! Yum! Though those never seem to last long when you start gobbling them down quickly when they are so fresh and delicious. The kids making basil potions takes me right back to my own childhood! We had a little cherry tree (at least I think it was cherries) in our backyard that produced inedible fruit, so during the summers we always made our own potions and pretend meals using them. I do hope you can get the basil to bounce back, though, as it is a delicious herb! That's one that we don't have in our garden right now, but we're trying to get some more going again to add to the variety.

I need to make sure that the birds don't get to them before we do though... some nets have gone up... but I need to finish them this week!

I have been doing some pruning of leaves myself to whatever got into my tomato.

I’m the opposite when it comes to basil and parsley. I tend to use a lot of parsley and put it in so many things from omelets, salsa, and chicken.

Ah... yes, parsley would work well in those! I have a chicken that needs stuffing this week, maybe I will use that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29