Ragtag Garden, Part 35

in #gardening7 years ago

And we have radishes!

It looks like almost all the seeds in the tape have sprouted, plus a few stray ones that escaped when I tore the tape to length. A few of them are getting their second set of leaves already!

I also have someone else's interest as well. My guess is either squirrels or birds. Either way, they've missed the carrot seeds, so far. As a matter of fact, I think those have started sprouting, too. There are a few wispy leaves that I'll be keeping an eye on. (Lower right in the second shot.)

The tomatoes have been enjoying our recent heat wave. This is the first time all season two are ripening at once.

The pole beans have given three decent meal-sized batches to date. I've continued to remove the worst of the yellowing leaves. And, the plants continue to replace them with new dark, shiny ones! Blossoms are still appearing and young beans are still maturing, so I have hopes for a fourth batch.

I've been keeping a little secret, too. When I went to remove the spent pea plants from the containers, I noticed one of plants wasn't quite done yet, so I let it go a bit longer.

This is why:

It survived my neglect, so it just didn't seem right to not let it finish it's job. We have at least another week of hot weather, so I'll be giving it a drink to help it through. That should be enough to let the pods fully mature. What a fun surprise!


RECAP:


It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden


Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

The expansion of these two projects has now become The Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2


Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

I always viewed radishes as "ok" when added to something else but they never really did it for me. That is until I ate some at a friends house that roasted them in the oven with a bit of seasoning. Oh my, my world changed, like for real. They take on a nutty flavor (or hers did). It's rare to find a very low carb veggie and they fit that bill as well. Yum, yum.

Ooohhhh, that sounds interesting. Never thought of roasting them. I'll have to give this a try. Thanks for the tip!

Btw - did you ever find your solar shower bags or are you still making fires to heat dish water? ;~D

I DID!! That was such a brilliant suggestion. Life has changed as I knew it. I'm still not great at doing dishes daily. Living alone, I don't make too many. But wow, what an easy peasy process it was. I was telling my kiddo about this a couple of days ago. If nothing else, you'll always be remembered for that tip, LOL.

Oh good! The other day, hubby and I were recalling a camping trip where one came into play... which got me to wondering if you'd found yours.

I'm so glad it's working out well!

Ooh looks like a delicious fall crop is going on! I'm replanting carrots and parsnips this month🌱

Here's hopin'....

Yay on getting more veggies going! Can you get two full growing seasons there?

Those little 2 narrow leaf sprouts in with the radishes are carrots. I hope you get lots of sprouts now that they've sprouted. It takes carrots a while to germinate.
Those peas are pretty crazy, all died back except for the top. :-)

Oh, good! Thanks for the confirmation. I was afraid of getting my hopes up for nothin'. If I counted correctly, they may be ready by Thanksgiving. I'm already pondering plans to make a cold frame, if needed. That will be fun. Never done one! LOL!

The peas crack me up. I'd been tempted to pull them several times, but then I saw the pods. Silly, but, oh well... ;~D

Well done little pea pods, that was a nice surprise :)

I thought of you the minute I saw the pods! I knew you'd be pleased, which was what stopped me from tearing it out with its fellows.

They will be gorgeous yum Lucky thing :)

Fingers crossed... haven't had much luck so far...

Will do! I know you like these especially.

Love then. Gutted there finished for the year :(

What type of radishes are you growing? We've had good luck w Easter egg and french breakfast

These expired a while ago. I had no idea if they were even still viable.

Got my answer. LOL!

Yay! Peas! Glad to see a few made it. You're garden really produced well. Glad to see it still going.

Yeah, this one just kept hanging on... I didn't have the heart to rip it out. Demented, but oh well.

The best thing the whole project has produced is all the great new friends popping up all over the place!

I’ve been needing to look into a few ways of growing some food around here. Our land is not that great for that and endless amount of things already eat the flowers in the area as it is. Not to mention everything covered in poisons spiders makes me question if I am sane in wanting to grow a few things.

I’ve noticed some people use buckets to create a hydroponics systems outside for growing things in.

How have your yields been for growing things out of buckets outside of the beans?

The tomatoes have been steady, but slow all summer. One ripens, I pick it, then the next one starts to turn red. Has followed that pattern all season - up until this heat wave, where I've got 2 going ripe at once. These two with be numbers 6 and 7. It doesn't sound like much, but the soil was virtually dead when I started. They took off after a few feedings. I've got at least a eight more green ones coming on strong.

Same with the sweet banana peppers, although they tolerated the weak soil better. I expect a dozen or so peppers total when the season is done.

I'll have time to plan and prep this winter to remedy the soil situation. All of the buckets will be re-built with fresh, nutrient rich dirt. I'm hoping that will ramp up future production. Fun stuff!!


Edited to add: You can absolutely do this! It's also great to keep weeding to a minimum and uses less water. Plus, they're portable if you need to move them for any reason.

I had 1 tomato plant this year it did nothing. Next spring I’m hoping to do way better hehe.

Bummer! I'm sure you'll have better luck next time.

I would say the Ragtag garden ended up a Blue Ribbon Garden!

Awww... Thanks for the support!

It sure qualifies for the most-improved category! LOL!

Yeah for the peas! Pure Determination! Not going to be shown up by those other veges. I sure am curious about what is coming up next. 🐓🐓

Exactly! Finally had to pick them today. The heat was zapping them fast.

I'm antsy about what's next, too. Dang sweltering temps and rainforest humidity is kicking my behind. This is just nuts for late September. You'd swear it's July, except for the trees leaves starting to turn colors. Supposedly relief is on the way soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48