Ragtag Garden and Revved Up Ragtag, Update

in #gardening7 years ago

For the past week, Chicagoland has been baking in 90+ degree temps and has had little to no rain.

Add in no breezes, plus humidity levels above 60% and you had some really miserable-to-be-outside conditions.

The Ragtag Garden has been holding it's own in the heat, but no rain has had me manually watering the containers every day. At least that task got me out there to do a brief check on how everything is faring.

The best part of the week was picking these two surprise peapods! Sorry for the dim lighting, however this was the best shot of the batch:

Plans for tackling the next stages for Revved Up Ragtag have been rattling around in my head, but implementing them is on hold for two reasons.

First, is that it's taking me longer than I thought to recover from the extended daily mid-day dog walks. Keeping hydrated was a real challenge. Seasonal temps returned yesterday, so that's a tremendous help. Honestly, though, that heat wave kicked my behind and I don't bounce back as fast as I used to.

I did use my 'downtime' to ponder what approach will work best on tackling the overgrown raised beds and the corner jungle. Which ultimately led to the second, albeit, nominal reason to delay. In going through some of my YouTube subscriptions, I noticed that the Farmer's Almanac calendars featured on Off Grid with Doug & Stacy a while back had arrived.

I'm just waiting for the one I ordered to appear in my mailbox.

The idea is to give this time-tested knowledge a trial run. I'll use it as a guideline for not only actual gardening, but also the recommendations on best days to do (or not do) certain tasks. If I'm going to focus so much energy on the projects I have in mind, I'll definitely take all the help I can get!

Has anyone else used this or similar methods successfully in their homestead or garden projects?

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!

Latest episodes in the Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

I wish I could send you some of our wetness from Florida. I know you moved up North to escape the dreadful humidity and heat. There is do much standing water left over from the ol hag Irma and a very wet summer. More rain is coming this weekend.
BTW- We love fresh peas and those sure look tasty!🐓

I'll take it! ;~D

The peas were sure a surprise, considering I thought I'd killed the plants. That made them extra sweet. Lol!

Never have used a Farmer’s Almanac calendar.

Your weather sounds like Florida. In fact I been noticing on some days we have been cooler then more northern parts of the country and that is just crazy for this time of the year.

Glad you got to extend your growing season a tad longer. We not been getting much rain down here either. I need to go out today and water some flowers myself they looking a bit wilted.

It felt a lot like Florida. I moved north to escape that stuff! ;~D

The lack of rain isn't so uncommon this time of year, but coupled with extreme heat - yuck...

Here's hoping thing normalize a bit for both of us!

Same here in Michigan with the recent high temps and humidity. It has wreaked havoc on my garden, especially the tomatoes. But I have been hearing many people on here (steemit) have been having difficulties with harvesting tomatoes.

I love your 'rag-tag' gardening posts!!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aunt-deb to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

You, too...? Dang, it's nuts trying to predict which way to jump with these wacky out of the ordinary weather patterns. Fingers crossed the Almanac will provide a slight advantage...

Thanks, too, for the support! They're fun to do & I'm so glad to know folks enjoy them!

Ha!

I watched Doug and Stacy just after their channel started!

For most of the last 14 days we have had a heat wave here too, I think I talked with you about it a day or 3 after it started.

You will be so pleased with my bucket post when I get it up some day Eddie, nite friend.

I caught up on all your posts days ago vote wise too.

I've got about a dozen DIY, homestead, tiny home channels I follow on YT that aren't on here yet. You never know what you're going to learn next on there!

I'm looking forward to the bucket post. It should be a humdinger! ;~D

Thanks for the UVs, bud! I try to keep up with yours, too. You definitely keep me hoppin'!

SteemitBoard only recognizes 4 posts a day.

I have asked them in replies.....

Why not my 5, 7 or 10 a day?

LOL

My outlook has changed on here towards a lot of things and people but I am just powering on.

I never forget where I came from and those who have stood with me.

That post trying to help Dian and doing the same thing I always do, or most others do with donation posts, really taught me a lot about most of the power brokers and related "followers" here and how nearly nobody said anything in defense of my character or my consistency and my explanations.

The power brokers here are the reason I'm beefing up my VIVA wallet. They'll never relinquish their overwhelming majority to help out the little guys. Same as in the 'real world'. I learned that lesson when I tried to do that fundraiser for you way back - then smooth and abit started their little 'experiment' and fucked everything up. berniesanders (and crew) is just as much of an egotistical asshole as the other two.

What can I say... it's hard to fix power-drunk stupidity.

I must admit, I've never really paid much attention to the farmer's almanac in the past. I've generally based my gardening on the trending weather patterns, although those have been more difficult to predict in the last few years.

I've perused it now and then over the years. I do remember my great-uncle always had a well-worn copy around. I hadn't thought about it in ages until I saw that video. The Amish folklore aspect was a new twist, though. Hadn't heard of that before and I'm not that far from large Amish communities. It was just enough of an interesting bit of info that trying it for myself seemed like a fun experiment.

Edit to add: These crazy weather patterns played into my decision to order the calendar. It probably can't be any more wrong than me with the way things are going.

I can't argue with that. :-)

Oh this weather has just about dried up our LAKE!!!!

I don't normally hope for excess snow in winter, but I think this year would be especially helpful if it works out that way.

I've never thought to use the farmers almanac before. It'll be interesting to see if it is a good guide to use. The temps here aren't higher than the 70s which is nice. A lot of the forest foliage is dying off and ready for fall. My gardening is over for the season.

It's got all sorts of interesting info in it. My great-uncle used it for gardening, but I don't know if he was aware of the Amish angle. He was a contractor in and near Amish communities, so it wouldn't surprise me if he knew.

The gardening season sure sped by quick this year. Even though a few things are still going, the colorful trees are a sure sign the days are getting shorter. We'll be in planning/day-dreaming mode sooner rather than later. ;~D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48