@maninayton Visits The Harrogate Spring Flower Show - Part 1 of 2

A couple of weeks ago my wife and I visited the annual Harrogate Spring Flower Show. This show is the biggest of its kind in Northern England and covers all things relating to gardening from plants to mowers, bonsai to greenhouses and everything in between. It is a gardener's mecca.

We arrived early to a sky heavy with threatening rain clouds. The car park was already starting to fill. By the end of the day, a couple of fields would be covered with vehicles.

Car

Main
The main thoroughfare was starting to become crowded not long after the show opened.

We decided to visit the main plant hall before it became too full.

MainHall

This large airy space extends into two halls and both are filled with colour. Each show exhibiter brings along some of the stars from their collection and produces a magnificent display. Prestigious prizes are awarded for the best stands and standards are very high.

Some of my favourite stands are those showing bonsai. The skill and patience that is required to produce these beautiful creations is astounding.

Bonsai1

Bonsai2
An Azalea bonsai in full bloom

Bonsai3
Miniature landscapes are created with bonsai.

I tend to go for the more unusual plants so the cacti and pitcher plants are a draw as well.

Cacti

Pitcher

One of the more bizarre exhibits was term 'Hort Couture' and featured dresses designed as flowers.

HortCouture1

HortCouture2

HortCouture2

In part 2 we continue on with the tour of the show.

Divider

I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me (I will reciprocate). Some of my posts are about mental health issues while others cover a wide range of subjects. For a taster of my musings please follow these links:-

Birds in my garden

My descent into depression - Part 1 of 2

Descent into depression - Part 2 of 2

Wild Orchids

I wage biological warfare in my greenhouse

A local landmark created by a giant....well maybe.

Space Debris - Part 1 - The Problem

More about Space Debris - Part 2 - The Effects

Why you shouldn't blow up a satellite. Space debris Part 3

A Dome For All Seasons - Part 1

A Dome For All Seasons - Part 2 - The saga continues.....

Early flyers on Filey beach.

How too much news may not be good for us

How dogs can help us

Another one on how dogs can help us

Divider

Until next time - take care of yourselves....

Sort:  

Brilliant, you are so lucky. All those beautiful plants and flowers.....heaven!

It was a great day out but very tiring. I just hope all the plants we brought survive!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89