@maninayton And The Birds In His Garden.

in #nature7 years ago

Just thought I would post some pictures I took a while ago of Starlings at a feeder in our garden. I was trying out our new Canon. I had it set up on a tripod with a remote to the laptop that allowed for remote focusing and taking of the picture.

The adults are very sociable and will often sit close by when I'm working in the garden and will then swoop down to grab a juicy worm when I move away. On the negative side, they can also be vandals and will happily dig up newly planted young plants in search of food.

Hope you like the photos.

Bird1
Young Starling

Bird2
Young Starling coming in for a landing!

Bird3
And taking off again.

Bird4
Another landing by an adult bird this time.

Bird5
Adult Starling looking pensive. "Where's that pesky youngster gone?"

Divider

If you have enjoyed this post please consider following me (I will reciprocate). Some of my posts are about mental health issues but I try to cover a wide range of other subjects. For a taster of my musings please follow these links:-

My descent into depression - Part 1 of 2

Descent into depression - Part 2 of 2

I wage biological warfare in my greenhouse

Space Debris - Part 1 - The Problem

More about Space Debris - Part 2 - The Effects

Why you shouldn't blow up a satellite. Space debris Part 3

A Dome For All Seasons - Part 1

A Dome For All Seasons - Part 2 - The saga continues.....

Early flyers on Filey beach.

How too much news may not be good for us

How dogs can help us

Another one on how dogs can help us

Divider

Until next time - take care of yourselves....

Sort:  

So long since I have seen starlings...they are quite rare around here in Ireland as are sparrows. When I lived in UK sparrows were common, but here they are a treat to see. I wonder what has happened to them?

Hi @katdvine, nice to hear from you again. We have a large permanent flock on our estate but they are a species in decline. According to the RSPB, their numbers have dropped by 66% since the mid-1970's. Despite their vandalism, they are a beautiful bird to have in the garden with their glossy iridescent plumage.

I like them too when they are still adolescents... Spotty and colourful.
We have all the very pretty colourful birds here in abundance, but strangely the two that were once prevalent are as you say in decline. Shame.
It's probably humanity's fault. 🙁

Most things like that are :-(

Great shots. The first one is outstanding. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @shaka. I'm glad you liked them.

Thanks for the resteem as well! :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36