My Top 5 GBA (Game Boy Advance) Games

in #gaming7 years ago

Here I'll be going through my favorite GBA titles that saved me from countless hours of boredom as a child. Road trip? No problem, I've got my Game Boy.

Metroid Fusion
fusion.jpg

Fusion has always been given lots of flak for being a linear Metroid title. Most Metroid games focus on exploration and the 100 different ways you can complete the game, but Fusion is more of on rails straight path with cutscenes. Personally I don't find issue with this, but I can see how some fans of the series would. I think Fusion is a great first title for people new to the Metroid series, as it helps players get used to the core gameplay mechanics of Metroid without them having to worry about getting lost or overwhelmed.

sa-x.png
Being stalked by SA-X made Fusion feel like a horror game

Golden Sun
gsunn.jpg

Golden Sun is easily one of the best looking games in the entire GBA catalog. It's a simple fantasy RPG, but the crisp visuals along with the engaging story line and puzzles keep you entertained. This game packs an easy 25+ hours of gameplay, which is quite impressive for a game of its age. I don't want to spoil the story, so this is definitely a game you need to play for yourself!

GoldenSunBattle.png
Isaac casting Titan Blade

Pokemon FireRed/LeafGreen
250px-FireRed_EN_US_boxart.png

A stellar remake of the original Pokemon Red & Blue games. It adds in multiple features and updates from Gen III, and also gives you the opportunity to catch Gen II Pokemon! Pokemon has always been my favorite handheld series, and holds a dear place in my heart.

Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga
250px-MarioAndLuigiSuperstarS*agaGBACoverArtUS.jpg

This game knows how to make turn based combat fun and interactive. You are able to dodge and parry incoming attacks, as well as perform special Bros. attacks with require pinpoint timing to maximize your damage. The humor and dialogue throughout the story line is top notch, so there is no need to be spamming A to skip through all of it. Superstar Saga easily rivals Paper Mario 2: TTYD as the best Mario RPG.


DANCE DANCE DANCE

Megaman Zero 2
Mmzero2box.jpg

This is my favorite Megaman Zero out of the 4, and the most difficult, cruel game I have ever beaten. The original Megaman and Megaman X series are cakewalks compared to these. I spent countless hours practicing and memorizing the bosses patterns to beat them. I feel as if using a GBA controller adds to the games difficulty, I'd much prefer using a SNES or GC controller to play these games.


This boss took me soooooo long to finally beat

Well, there's my Top 5. Looking forward to doing a GC Top 5 in the next few days. Cya then!

Sort:  

This really was a brilliant system and you've highlighted a few of its best. Golden Sun was such a rich and enjoyable RPG when it came out - I have fond memories of sinking so many hours into it.

I've still got a GBA SP with a bunch of cartridges, and have a GBA emulator on my PSP. Fire Emblem and Advance Wars were another two that really grabbed me, as well as the GBA's version of Street Fighter Alpha 3. Crawfish did such a spectacular job cramming so much game onto that tiny little handheld.

Nice little nostalgia piece here - thanks @ushinaitakunai :)

I loved Golden Sun and Advance Wars as a kid.

I think I was 20 years old when I got Golden Sun and Advance Wars... played so much of those two games, as well as the Zelda titles, Castlevania and Metroid.

I often wished that the later versions of the Nintendo DS had full GBA support, or that there were more titles available on the eShop for download... I was bummed to be miss out on being an early adopter of the 3DS and thus getting those exclusive GBA games that were never put up for sale afterwards.

But thankfully, like I mentioned in my other comment, the GBA emulation on the PSP is really good and that's now my main means of playing on the GBA when I want to (I even prefer it over the actual GBA SP I have).

Till this day I still play fire red. Good collection here. Very nice. Have you ever played medal of honour

Great choices!

Ah you're bringing back the good ol gameboy days. Thanks for the nostalgia! For me, Advance Wars used to save me from countless hours of boredom ;)

I really enjoy the whole Pokemon series. Way too nostalgiac.

I lent Golden Sun to my cousin before I beat it, and never got it back. Awesome game - really wish I went through it first! Guess I'll have to rely on YouTube videos to tell me how it ended.

Ever play Boktai? I think you'd dig it.

Waw! Now, I know what to play on my anddroid phone. For those who want to have a top 3 gba emulator for android come to my blog I will post that this night! And I'm a fan of pokemon. Ps I can do a publicity for you but upvote my posts! 😉😊😂

Congratulations @ushinaitakunai! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ushinaitakunai! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73