Elex Review - Good start to a good RPG

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

ELEX_Berserker.png

Elex is an open world Science-Fantasy RPG from developer Piranha Bytes in which you play a fallen commander of the emotional race of the Albs.

Elex

In this game you come into a post-apocalyptic world and mix you in a war for Elex. Elex is a material that allows both the machines of the Albs, and magic of magicians. You must force a new way between the normal people, who do not have it on Albs. The problem is, in the magicians, despise everything about technology. Otherwise, that is exactly the case and so there is a big conflict going on Elex.

maxresdefault (29).jpg

Sounds very cool all

The intro begins very promising, the story and the setting have a lot of potential, and that in a big open world sounds good. Unfortunately, during the introductory movie, it is clear that it's just not all round. The explanation and the intro are done well, but you will be sent on solo mission.

Even before you get the controls yourself, you are shot out of the sky and excited by an angry man. This evil man is just like our hero, an ally, only he has other plans. He says you have failed in your mission and that you should die for that. As vague as it sounds, it feels, especially because when you wake up you are emptied. Somebody stole everything and left with the north. So you need to look for weapons and protection to defend yourself.

Elex-RPG.jpg

This could all be a good start to a good RPG and you walk happily through the first door you see and look neatly looking for something of a weapon. On the way you get everything loose and fast and the first big annoyance begins. When you throw a box, where more than 1 object is in it, the game ends.

If, after all, you have found a lot of loot and an iron tube, you will come across a giant. You have to fight that way and then you just notice that the fight does not just do what you want, but you often miss the game because the focus is not working properly and the hitbox is a mystery in itself. Once you finally die the rat, you can go further and get to an exit of the building where you have spent an unnecessary amount of time. At the exit you come to the next cut scene where you see someone you are trying to figure out. This man is through and strikes your (again) knockout.

415233_scr16_a.png

Endless dialogues

When you wake up, the best man is next to you and talking to you. He explains that he is a Berserker from a village not far from where they are. There they need extra manpower and that's really something for you. The dialogue lasts for 5 minutes, for which you can not write anything and you can follow him. You walk carefully after him and after a minute he stops and begins the following too long dialogue, then following him back to another point of dialogue.

In the third dialogue, the best man tells him that he has never met the next piece without fighting monsters. You have your steel pipe and your new friend a good sword, fortunately, from the first confrontation he knows how to handle it. If the following dialogue begins too long, you can choose whether you want to go straight to the village or just look at a ruin that is by accident.

elex.jpg

The open world

I chose the ruin because I feared that the village would bring in even more dialogues. The ruin is almost a copy of the building where you found your steel pipe, only you will find a gun here. However, you can not use it because you need to get up to a level of 10 before you have enough skillpoints and upgrades to try it out.

The battle in the open world does not feel fair. The attacks you make successful certainly have an effect, but I feel that I miss my goal more often than not. Also, if you go anywhere, you'll find a crowd of enemies quickly. All enemies in the game have the power to kill you with a few clicks, so a group is soon deadly because they all attack at once.

Discovering the open world is fun, especially because you have a jetpack and can come in many places. It is true that you regularly fight enemies and even the frogs in the ditch are stronger than you. The samples you encounter are cool, it's Elex mutated animals whose design is very good.

elex-game-3.jpg

The first village

During climbing and discovery, due to the deviating controls, it is easy to commit a mistake and falling is very deadly. After being killed 5 times, I decided to follow my new friend to the village of Goliet. That would be all better and so I will get there on the guard for the fence. as a toll for entry (again!) an endless dialogue with me. He, like my first friend, tells me all important things, but through the length of the dialogues I've lost attention and do what I'm used to in RPGs, taking everything I can pick up.

The first house I encountered in Goliet was I stepped in and I picked up a mug from the table. The lady in the cottage takes her sword and starts to hit me. Due to the difficulty in combat I died with two clicks. The second time I step into the house, I look forward to the small print that appears when the mug appears and it appears that I can not steal. Nice to finally think of a game that you can not just pick up everything, but it does not help me in my quest. I just have to find people who have work for me.

There is enough to do, they said, but finding a concrete job proves to be a lot more difficult than expected. Nevertheless, everybody wants to talk to you a lot, what you still can not print and add that they can also say something important, which remains unobtrusive. I have now accepted a number of assignments, but I have no idea where to start. Then I was calm in my menu looking for quests and there was a lot of clearing, I can mark them on the map, making me finally in a direction. A short tutorial had a lot of annoyance.

elex---s18-1493943667878.png

Lots of misses

The quests are small, but not interesting enough to look along the awkward long dialogues. Furthermore, every fight is next to a challenge in itself, not just the difficulty, but also the many mistakes that are in it. I'm in trouble and still struggles are unnecessarily difficult and I'm not getting enough satisfaction. More than two enemies at once are not to be beat, maybe later in the game. In addition, the dialogues are too long and still important, which is not very crazy in an RPG, but in Elex it is disturbing and you can not speed them up. The graphics are so moderate that it could have been an Xbox360 or PS3 game.

elex (1).jpg

Conclusion

Elex has the potential to be a fantastic open world Science-Fantasy RPG, but because of the many annoying elements it's not attractive. I really have to put myself in order to play it second and third times for this review, but until some good patches are released, I leave it to the left. That's a pity, because it's very likely that in the game, if you have good weapons, it's a lot of luck. This game is for RPG fans only and then I'll wait until it's on offer and that multiple patches have been released.

Thanks for your precious time.

My Latest Posts:

Sort:  

Congratulations @lyra.roberge! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!