The Sims 4 (PS4) Review - The same game with less control

in #gaming7 years ago

the-sims-4-game.jpg

The life of a single chap in Brabant is not about roses. Day in, day out I work the leplazarus to pay for my beautifully designed house. My spare time I spend on sports to get a decent for the day (although some less soda and fast food would probably go more smoothly) and I try to meet women and invite them at home, in the hope that they are still a bit impressed by that house. Of course I am not rich, but perhaps my living situation creates that impression. Fake it till you make it.

The-Sims-4-PS4.jpg

But whatever I do, the women do not seem interested in what I have to offer. I try to inject new hobbies into my life. I recently started playing guitar and even though the average Carnival cracker sounds even clearer, you would think that I would quickly conquer someone's heart when I play my crazy version of Wonderwall. I have even created a swimming pool in my garden that is gratefully used during the many parties I give, but a friend does not give me up.

Of course it does not help that my house here and there is not exactly as I had imagined. The living room is beautiful, but the rest of my house is a bit rattled because the building did not go smoothly. I also have to do it with fewer possibilities than I am used to. In a 'previous life' I had a lot more building possibilities, furniture and other activities to give my life meaning. If my life were a game, it would be a bit like after the best version of a game, now suddenly play a little unnecessary port.

the-sims-4-console-release-excitment-characters.jpg

Less control

All craziness: my life is also just a game, at least when I play The Sims 4. The situation described above does not paint my real life, but my not unkind yet frustrating experience with The Sims 4 on PlayStation 4.

Although I prefer to play all my games on console, I can not deny that games like The Sims are simply the most suitable for the PC (and Mac). The control with mouse and keyboard is much more precise, which makes building houses and your own Sims so much easier. In one way or another, I have a bit of a feeling with this kind of games on consoles that I do not have complete control over what I play. The DualShock 4 controller in this case simply can not replace a comfortable mouse and keyboard.

427484_scr2_a.png

The controls are hardly adjusted for the PS4 version. With the analog sticks you control a cursor to click on the different menus and options or build your house on a grid. Where this feels very natural on PC, because you just need to point the right option or place with your mouse, it takes a bit more time on the console. In that respect, EA had done well to better use the Touchpad of the DualShock 4 controller. Although you can build Sims and houses exactly the same way as in the PC version, the slower control makes you lose your patience more quickly. After a lot of fuss I had finally built a nice living room, but in the rest of the house I did not really feel like it anymore, so I got rid of it.

In addition, you also start with the basic game in terms of content. The PC version now has dozens of extensions that add all kinds of cool objects, buildings and situations to the game, but they are not here yet. There are already a number of expansion packages that can be purchased (including one that adds vampires) and there will be more in the coming months. If you already have the PC version, you will of course not spend your hard-earned money on it, but newcomers have a decent flow of new content in prospect. As far as we're concerned, it would have been fairer if you could have linked your Origin account to the game to check which extensions you had already purchased for the PC version, to make it available for free here, but it should not be.

sims-4-screen-02-ps4-us-18july2017.jpg

Solid

However, it is not all negative. Certain elements that have only been added to the PC version later via free patches, such as swimming pools, basements and toddlers, are simply present here. The PC version was a well-worn version of the Sims games that we know, and although EA has corrected over time, it's nice that the PS4 version already contains this kind of elements.

Technically, PS4 gamers have nothing to complain about. The game runs like a charm, with no noticeable problems with the frame rate or bugs. Of course, Sims do not always behave completely naturally and sometimes do something that can not stand the light, but that is part of the charm of the game.

sims-4-screen-04-ps4-us-18july2017.jpg

However, we can not imagine that someone who has a PC will buy The Sims 4 on PlayStation 4. The PC experience is simply much more pleasant due to the more precise and faster control. In the PlayStation version, it feels like you suddenly have to walk on stilts for the rest of your life, out of nowhere. Of course, it is possible, but it is so much easier to stand on the ground with both of you. For people with a PS4 only, this is a properly functioning version of The Sims 4, which is more extensive than the original PC version and after a while also receives all (paid) expansion packs.

Conclusion

The Sims 4 on consoles is essentially a good game in which you can simulate the life of your Sims to your heart's content. That several later additions to the PC version are already in the console version, including the popular swimming pools, is praiseworthy. But nothing goes with this type of games above a mouse and keyboard, so you have a functional PC at home: buy the Sims!

The plus and minus points

✔ More extensive than original PC version
✔ Technically in order
✖ Control with controller is cumbersome and slow
✖ All extensions must be bought again

Thanks for reading, I hope you liked it!

Steem's Popularity Is Incredible!

Share the joy by inviting others!

111.png
Image Source

Get More Exposure On The Chats!

It is a best way to get more exposure through private messages and in the chat rooms. These are some of the best places to get more exposure & makes Steem friends.

For new & best authors to move forward!

http://curiesteem.com @curie
https://steemvoter.com @steemvoter @thecryptodrive @cryptomancer

My Latest Posts:

Sort:  

I was wondering if your account would carry over and about using a controller to play the game.

Thank you for your review!! it answered a ton of questions!
I'm very happy with my PC version and now will not look any further loll

@ering has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I used to love this game as a kid, but right now, the only reason I play video games is to get my head away from real life and into an imaginary magical world so I prefer any game where I dont repeat what I do everyday in reality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69