Testing my humanity in Prey - Well-developed alternative histories and technology from science fiction

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Warriors_Monsters_Men_Prey_2017_Two_516335_1600x900.jpg

If no demo of Prey had appeared, I might have missed this wonderful game. The moment at the beginning of the game that you step through that window (whoever played the game, I know what I mean), fascinated me so much, that I immediately purchased the full game. I wanted to know what was going on and I did not regret it for a moment. Prey fascinated me from start to finish - an end that I also delayed for as long as possible to explore every nook and cranny on Talos I.

Delicious combi

Prey is really a game for me. I am fascinated by (well-developed) alternative histories and technology from science fiction, and I also love Metroidvanias. Prey combines that exactly. Prey offers us a universe in which the Cold War has gone differently than in our history, as a result of which space travel has undergone a gigantic development in the second half of the twentieth century. The result is that there is now a hypermodern research station around the Earth - Talos I - filled with technological progress and where, of course, there is a danger everywhere.

2878284-prey_phantoms_qc16_1470345789.jpg

Although I came for the intriguing world in which President Kennedy propelled space into a new era and was honored with a gigantic portrait in the hall of Talos I, I stayed for the small stories and challenges in this Metroidvania. In the tens of hours that I spent in Talos I, the space station really became my home. A home infested with an extraterrestrial plague, but a home nonetheless. I learned more and more about the environment, I knew exactly where to return with a new skill in my arsenal and I followed the countless stories of the murdered, missing or mutated inhabitants of Talos I. Defeating enemies became an afterthought, becoming part of the world, and experiencing adventure as a priority.

prey-2-victims.jpg

Personal misery

I made spacewalks to locate a lost space shuttle, went to great lengths to find out where someone had ended her lost partner, and took very selective revenge on only those who really deserved it. Those few rare moments that I met a survivor who still had a good heart, I cherished and I did everything possible to help these people with their personal misery. Not because it was necessary, but because I felt that responsibility. And secretly also just wondering about their stories.

Prey_16.jpg

The end of Prey could certainly please me without spoiling it. As the end drew nearer, I began to get more and more suspicions, without Prey becoming really predictable. It was therefore exciting to the end for me and I was pleasantly surprised in what way I did or did not do the thirty previous hours, and how my predominantly good and careful behavior was rewarded.

I am therefore very curious if there is a sequel to Prey. There was no gigantic commercial plan behind the game with downloadable content, season passes or microtransactions. That is sometimes a nice (and very rare) change, but the question is of course whether Prey was commercially enough to make a sequel. Luckily Arkane Studios already showed that with Dishonored.

it can not only make very good single-player adventures without commercial tramalant, but also very well follow them up. On the one hand I would not be surprised if Prey stays here and in that feeling I just cherish this part, but if Arkane continues the story of Morgan Yu over time, I will not wait for the demo this time!

Thanks for reading, I hope you liked it!

Steem's Popularity Is Incredible!

Share the joy by inviting others!

alexa.png
Image Source

Get More Exposure On The Chats!

It is a best way to get more exposure through private messages and in the chat rooms. These are some of the best places to get more exposure & makes Steem friends.

For new & best authors to move forward!

http://curiesteem.com @curie
https://steemvoter.com @steemvoter @thecryptodrive @cryptomancer

My Latest Posts:

Sort:  

Thanks for this post! I had a lot of fun with this game too. The world and it's gameplay was amazing. But for some reason the end ruinded my experience with this masterpiece a bit...
But I already descriped it here. So have a look if you like ;-)
https://steemit.com/prey/@sn0w-fox/ending-of-prey-game-spoiler-ahead

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50