Gathering of the Magic players on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)

Magic: the Gathering is my favorite game and I'm excited for the upcoming Kaladesh prerelease this weekend.

Image from Wikipedia

I'm pretty sure there are MtG players on Steemit even though the game isn't discussed much. So let this post be the Gathering of Magic players. If you like the game, feel free to write a little bit about it in the comments. What format do you usually play? Are you a tournament or a casual player? Are you going to the Kaladesh prerelease?

I'm rather a casual player and I haven't played for a while, but I've already registered for Saturday and Sunday prerelease tournaments. For those who need a little encouragement I gathered some useful links here:

Image from Art of Magic: the Gathering

Kaladesh has an interesting flavor inspired by India and steampunk (not to be confused with steempunk, which should mean something on Steemit, but I don't know what yet). In my opinion the most interesting new mechanic is the new artifact subtype Vehicle. I don't want too many of them in my deck, but I will probably put 2-4 of the most powerful.

I'd be happy to hear from MtG players on Steemit. After the prerelease you can write in the comments about your results and the most exciting cards you opened.

Update: My weekend with Kaladesh prerelease tournaments

Follow me here and leave a word about yourself so we can build a MtG community on Steemit.

My other posts you may be interested in:
Sort:  

Let me think, Alpha Black Lotus, Mox jet, another Mox Jet, and ways you get the idea, Ancestral Recall, Chaos Orb, Shivan Dragon, Birds Of Paradise, and lots of other Alphas. Of course they are all graded by psa or bgs at mint or better : )

Recently I had someone fly to my location and buy three cards for 9,000 dollars, he declined to my my Alpha Mox Sapphire psa 9. But he did pay well over five thousand for a beta volcanic island psa 10.

I declined to sell my Black Lotus for 12,000 cash... And I am annoyed someone bought my Alpha Starter Deck for US$ 9,000 ! ! !

People who are collectors like myself always laugh when I find out I am the guy who sold a PSA10 Underground Sea for US$ 3,500. In my defense I WAS ORDERED by my lady to sell it, but Alpha collectors still laugh and hurt my feelings ; I am ashamed . . .

But what can you do ; )

I'm still kicking myself for selling a relatively mint set of beta power 9 20+ years ago for a few thousand dollars.

I could buy a house with that now.

Which is why I never sold anything till some female got her nails into my wallet . . .

The reason people collect BETA is there were 3 times as many beta as Alpha cards, so people simply could almost never manage an Alpha set.

I just bought all the major cards in super high quality, at one stage I owned 3 of the top seven Mox Jet in the world ; but could never afford to corner the marketplace ! ! !

Today she who never has enough of my money wants me to sell out the rest of my super high grade Alphas : )

But what to do , if unsure ; then do nothing ; )

I played back when 4th edition was approaching end of cycle, I played until Zendicar came out, then I lost all of my friends I was playing with due to a job change taking to Texas from another state...

I continued to collect until Mirrodin then I moved again and quit collecting too, but I did sell off some cards for a while. Then I got busy with life and what was left of my collection was boxed up.

I started playing again when 10th edition was ending it's cycle, played for about a year, then life got in the way again. I got married, and didn't get interested in MtG again until I found out my stepson who was just out of college had played, and wanted to get back into playing, but life has been in our way to make time for it...

I was magic player when I was young ;) now I play hearthstone
Nice post! Resteem ;)

Man I haven't played M:tG in years. Years. We're talking back in Alpha/Revised days. The last major expansion I remember is Ice Age, if that answers any questions.

Magic is responsible for most of my shenanigans while in high school. I knew I had to stop when I was shoplifting booster packs from my local bookstore. Seriously, I can't touch the stuff today - it's like being a recovering alcoholic walking past a liquor store.

there are sixty expansions MTG today : )

I spend most of my friday nights during high school playing MTG. I started playing when beta was released, quit sometime recently after Meridian block. Used to play competitively in tournaments too.

By far my favorite deck I ever made was an academy rector based deck right after oath of druids was banned in extended. It was amazingly fun and I threw it together the night before the tournament. It did really well!

Some days I miss playing, then I look at what it costs these days to build a decent competitive deck and I don't miss it anymore!

There are ways to make the game less expensive, but I'm speaking as a limited player. I stopped playing constructed (extended) after the Onslaught block. As for official tournaments, now I only play prereleases and sometimes drafts. I try to sell the most expensive cards and keep the rest in my collection. I use my collection to play drafts with my friends and that's my main way of playing MtG - it doesn't cost any more money and I take the most value from my cards. :)

If you price out the top 5-6 decks from the world tour, the average price is well over a grand

there's not many 'budget' decks anymore that are competitive at a tournament level. Used to be able to get away with a deck full of common/uncommon zombies/goblins and do relatively well. We had a person play 8 total rares in a goblin deck and go 5-3 at a regional tournament. I think his deck had maybe $100 worth of cards in it.

Definitely can't do that anymore, the metagame doesn't allow for it.

Drafting is relatively inexpensive, but I was never a real big fan of it. Too unpredictable for my liking.

Constructed is quite expensive - I won't argue with that. :)
Pauper (commons only) is a cheap constructed format, but it isn't well supported by Wizards of the Coast. There's also Standard - the average price of the deck that won 2016 World Championship in the format is $257.93, as you can see here:
http://magic.tcgplayer.com/db/deck.asp?deck_id=1269660

The average price of the most expensive deck from the top 8 is $399.96:
http://magic.tcgplayer.com/db/deck.asp?deck_id=1269658

I hope I haven't caused you any trouble with my post. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66195.81
ETH 3505.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18