You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gathering of the Magic players on Steemit

in #gaming8 years ago

Man I haven't played M:tG in years. Years. We're talking back in Alpha/Revised days. The last major expansion I remember is Ice Age, if that answers any questions.

Magic is responsible for most of my shenanigans while in high school. I knew I had to stop when I was shoplifting booster packs from my local bookstore. Seriously, I can't touch the stuff today - it's like being a recovering alcoholic walking past a liquor store.

Sort:  

there are sixty expansions MTG today : )

I spend most of my friday nights during high school playing MTG. I started playing when beta was released, quit sometime recently after Meridian block. Used to play competitively in tournaments too.

By far my favorite deck I ever made was an academy rector based deck right after oath of druids was banned in extended. It was amazingly fun and I threw it together the night before the tournament. It did really well!

Some days I miss playing, then I look at what it costs these days to build a decent competitive deck and I don't miss it anymore!

There are ways to make the game less expensive, but I'm speaking as a limited player. I stopped playing constructed (extended) after the Onslaught block. As for official tournaments, now I only play prereleases and sometimes drafts. I try to sell the most expensive cards and keep the rest in my collection. I use my collection to play drafts with my friends and that's my main way of playing MtG - it doesn't cost any more money and I take the most value from my cards. :)

If you price out the top 5-6 decks from the world tour, the average price is well over a grand

there's not many 'budget' decks anymore that are competitive at a tournament level. Used to be able to get away with a deck full of common/uncommon zombies/goblins and do relatively well. We had a person play 8 total rares in a goblin deck and go 5-3 at a regional tournament. I think his deck had maybe $100 worth of cards in it.

Definitely can't do that anymore, the metagame doesn't allow for it.

Drafting is relatively inexpensive, but I was never a real big fan of it. Too unpredictable for my liking.

Constructed is quite expensive - I won't argue with that. :)
Pauper (commons only) is a cheap constructed format, but it isn't well supported by Wizards of the Coast. There's also Standard - the average price of the deck that won 2016 World Championship in the format is $257.93, as you can see here:
http://magic.tcgplayer.com/db/deck.asp?deck_id=1269660

The average price of the most expensive deck from the top 8 is $399.96:
http://magic.tcgplayer.com/db/deck.asp?deck_id=1269658

I hope I haven't caused you any trouble with my post. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38