OST of the Day #46: Stardew Valley - Buttercup Melody 🌼

in #game4 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

If you're unfamiliar with this series, basically I share a soundtrack and my thoughts about it, and I highly recommend listening to the song while reading! 😊

Since Valentine's Day is next week, and in celebration of my recent nuptials, I thought writing about a wedding/love song would be quite relevant. I actually thought of a more fitting song to that category from Maplestory but since the last post was just from that game (yea poor planning on my part), I'll save it for later. I guess this month's OSTs will all be love-related in that case! That should be quite challenging, since you wouldn't normally think of OSTs as romantic, but what the heck, I'll give it a shot.

Stardew was my second choice since I love this game so much, and I actually painted a piece for our "wedding" in the vein of Stardew!

So I've already written about Stardew songs previously, but just to refresh, Stardew Valley is an indie farming simulation RPG developed by Eric "ConcernedApe" Barone and originally published by Chucklefish. The game was initially released for Microsoft Windows in February 2016, with later ports being for OS X, Linux, PS4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation Vita, iOS, and Android.
In Stardew Valley, the player takes the role of a character who, to get away from the hustle of an office job, takes over their deceased grandfather's dilapidated farm in a place known as Stardew Valley.

Image result for stardew valley wallpaper
Source: wallpapercave.com

It's a simple premise, but there's so much in-game content like planting crops, raising animals, mining, and making friends with the other villagers, which trigger unique cutscenes for each person! The concept is similar to games like Harvest Moon and Animal Crossing, but the gameplay in Stardew is pretty different.
I find Stardew so much more addictive because there's always stuff to do! And now that there's a multiplayer mode, you can even play with friends! It's definitely a good game to just chill, even though you're always racing against the clock, trying to get everything done within the day.

Image result for stardew valley wallpaper
Source: pcgamer.com

I've started watching this Youtuber called SpaceHamster stream Stardew Valley on Twitch since the new update came out and it's making me want to start a whole new farm again! I'm not sure if anyone will want to play with me so it might have to be another solo farm, but we'll see. Just listening to the music is making me nostalgic. 😌

Anyway, in Stardew Valley, you can make friends with the villagers and there are bachelors and bachelorettes that you can even date and marry! If you're playing multiplayer, you can also date and marry one of the other players as well. And during the wedding ceremony, this song will play:

I think the wedding ceremony is not the only instance this song plays because I've heard it in other cutscenes before. It's definitely one of my favourites but it's not one of the songs you'll really remember until you listen to it again, since it doesn't pop up much.

It's definitely a tranquil, charming song. The flute in the beginning with the double bass gives it that country feel for sure. The light piano after that first melody is peaceful and soft (in feels and volume). The bass gives that good contrast to the higher pitched piano as well. The galactic-sounding piano/guitar with the harmony at the end really makes the piano sound like stars twinkling (if that makes any sense).

Image result for stardew valley wedding
Source: reddit.com

I think the flute (with the slight minor key) in the first 20 seconds of the song represent the villagers' initial hesitation to a new farmer joining the town. But they soon open up and accept you into the community, and everyone is happy and peaceful, as represented by the soft piano sequence.

It's a simple and short song, but I feel like I could listen to this for hours. It definitely fits the feel of Stardew Valley for sure. Now I kinda wished we played it at our ceremony irl. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Image result for stardew valley wedding
Source: wordpress.com
I also love how accepting Stardew is!

To be honest, I haven't gotten married in the game yet, even though I technically have maximum hearts with almost all the villagers. I wanted to see all the special 10-heart cutscenes so I was kinda dating everyone at once, which kinda blew up in my face (with the girls at least), but no spoilers.

Maybe I will finally get married in-game when I start a new farm, or maybe I'll just play with Sean and we'll get married again! We'll see. 😄

Image result for stardew valley wedding
Source: reddit.com

This song (together with the entire soundtrack and game) was made by one man, Eric "ConcernedApe" Barone, and he is amazingly talented and hardworking! He's so accepting of the fanbase he's created, and is constantly working to put out updates for us (for free btw)! From the posts I've read and from this game I can definitely tell he's a really nice guy and he's deserved all the success he has gotten. Thank you ConcernedApe, for this phenomenal game.

If you haven't already, do check out Stardew Valley! And thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.steemblogs.club/2020/02/06/ost-of-the-day-46-stardew-valley-buttercup-melody-%f0%9f%8c%bc/

Check out my previous post in this series!

OST of the Day #45: Maplestory - Feeling

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hey thanks so much for the upvote and resteem @c-squared! Really appreciate it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I like Stardew Valley, it’s a nice relaxing game to play

Yes! It's definitely one of my all-time favourites! And the music is soo good ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s not the otherrrr buttercup hehe

Hehehe silly

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83