OST of the Day #45: Maplestory - Feeling 🍃

in #game5 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

OSTs are really underrated but they're so good, so I thought I'd share a song a day and my thoughts about it! I highly recommend listening while reading! 😊

Happy Lunar New Year! If you celebrate Chinese New Year, I hope you had a wonderful time eating all the yummy goodies and spending time with friends and family, even amidst the Wuhan virus scare.

Anyway, to celebrate Chinese New Year, I thought we'd do a throwback to a very nostalgic game, Maplestory!

Related image
Source: pugglets.wordpress.com

I've already written about 4 different songs from Maplestory already, but this game has such an extensive soundtrack, and there are soo many good songs in this gem of a game that I'm not even close to finished with it.

Just to recap if you're unfamiliar with this game, Maplestory is a free-to-play, 2D side-scrolling MMORPG, developed by Wizet. There were actually many different versions for specific countries and regions with their own publishers. I played the MapleSEA version which was published by Nexon and was released in 2005. Specifically I played the pre-Big Bang version so I'm not too familiar with all the newer jobs and areas.

Image result for maplestory

I remember spending countless hours training and grinding trying to level up my character, because I was too cheap to buy EXP boosts with real cash. And when I got bored of training I would go exploring with my brother sometimes. That was fun. 😌

Maplestory had very unique regions, some of which were copies of real life locations, such as Singapore's CBD area, Malaysia's Kuala Lumpur, Taiwan's Taipei 101, etc. Today, I chose a song from the Japan area, called Zipangu!

Image result for maplestory zipangu
Source: youtube.com

I remember the first time I stepped into Zipangu (via an NPC called Spinel who could teleport you to these special locations if you paid her), thinking it was the prettiest place I'd ever seen in-game. I wasn't a big anime fan at the time and I knew next to nothing about Japan so this was pretty much the first time I saw anything remotely resembling Japan.

Related image
Source: forums.maplestory.nexon.net

I think the version that I played only had Showa and Mushroom Shrine, but it already felt like a lot. And I absolutely loved the song that plays in Mushroom Shrine! Have a listen:

It's such a chill and relaxing tune, even with the constant beats and light tapping of the güiro and the shaking of maracas. I think the xylophone and electric piano carrying the harmony, and the flute with the melody really give it that peaceful, tranquil tone. It's just so relaxing but slightly upbeat at the same time. You can't help but feel a little cheerful every time you listen to this song.

Image result for maplestory zipangu fox
Source: gamekiller

I remember doing the quests here the first time and even though the enemies were laughably easy because I was overleveled, I didn't mind. The music, together with the sakura trees in the background, and the cute Cloud Foxes were all I needed to enjoy my time here.

Until, I reached the spooky cemetery area with ghosts and stuff, and the happy music was gone. I think I died immediately to a small wraith-like monster even though I was a Priest (my Heal could damage ghosts without me taking damage).

Related image

I believe Studio EIM composed most of the music in the version that I played, and they nailed it! Each song fits the map and atmosphere so well, and many people who played the game back in those days still reminisce over the music to this day. I know I sure do. There are so many tracks I love in this game and I can't wait to share more next time!

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.steemblogs.club/2020/01/28/ost-of-the-day-45-maplestory-feeling-%f0%9f%8d%83/

Check out my previous post in this series!

OST of the Day #44: Nintendo Land - Main Theme

Sort:  

Thanks so much for curating @culgin! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @taco.cat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62