Who says feminism is a dirty word?

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

I’m a FEMINIST. That’s right, I said it. I’ve found that word can get some people a little worked up. But you know what?

Because at the end of the day, Tina and Amy say it best.

And yes, I am in fact down to smash the patriarchy.

Don’t get me wrong, I love men, but let’s not forget...

powerful.jpg
30 funny #love quotes

The thing is, the patriarchy hurts us all. When society condones behavior, is it really the perpetrator’s fault for thinking it’s okay to act?


boys.jpg
Laci Green Tumblr

It’s a touchy subject. But I think everyone (men, women + nonbinary folkx) need to chime in. Real change is going to take all of us. And if you encounter a real resistor out there, just take a moment to say:



And don’t forget, you can always just close the door.


This fight isn’t going away anytime soon. So in the meanwhile:


daughters.jpg
Galaxies Vibes

Lastly, to all my feminists out there, rise up. The world needs you.

Wise Oak Media


I’m almost brand-new here, less than a week! I’ll be using steemit to share thoughts on artistic practice, arts opportunities, equity, my personal projects, and other fun things happening in my world (like hiking, check out my recent blog about my adventure to The Enchantments in WA state. I also just wrote some recent Tips on Making Radically Inclusive Art.)

To start my time on steemit right, I’m doing the #DolphinSchool Bootcamp with @markmorrisjr, and will be putting out some content every day! Check out all the writers in the bootcamp, they’re making some great content.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.

Thank you for stopping by and saying hello. :)

Thank you so much! :) Followed.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LilyRaabe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I have no problem with feminists. I treat everyone as equal and get a bit of respect back. Life's too short to make enemies. :)

And life is too short to miss out on what someone might be able to teach you because you’re prejudiced about them, you know? :)

Yeah... That's true I guess :)

Terrific post. Fully agree, though I would maybe quibble with using a graphic from Laci Green, following her recent "RedPilling."

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Interesting, I didn’t know about this, just googled it a bit. What I’m understanding is that “redpilling” is her opening up her channel to allow vastly disparate view points to have a conversations which she will moderate? In general...if the conversation remains intelligent I don’t mind debate...but I’d have to watch how she handled the talks to know how I felt about it if that makes sense...

As a man, I generally don't think it's my lane to critique how women do feminism, but some of the stuff she's written and said since the "redpilling" (her word, not mine) has been appalling, and so counter to her past work.

Also, I saw that you clicked the TGP banner. It's a really nice discord server dedicated to supporting and promoting women on Steemit.

Hey, I think its important for everyone to say “hey, that feels sticky” when something doesn’t seem right. I wrote a piece a few days back about “White Allyship” and it doesn’t involve being silent, sometimes it involves speaking up. I think it’s great that you’re asking questions. I’m interested to probe deeper into this, it’s always interesting when people change their careers really suddenly...also that Discord channel sounds great and I’ll go check ‘em out! Thanks so much. :)

It's tricky. I write a weekly Sunday feminism post here, and that's always complicated (and is, in fact, the topic of today's post), but my general feeling is we should take the lead in critiquing our own, and a backseat in critiquing those we have privilege over in the specific topic. I explored that a bit in another Feminism Sunday post, about intersectionality.

Sorry if that came off as super self-promot-y, but the posts are relevant, I swear.

No, no...it makes sense. It’s that we’re both writing about things we’re actually interested in. ha. I think it’s similar to White Allyship...as a white person I need to talk to other white people (the hardest work is closest to home!). I think men have a huge role to play in talking to other men to help us all get more organized! It takes all of us. Leave a link to your feminism post sometime, I’d love to read and don’t want to forget!

Happy to. This is the latest one, and I've included links to the previous ones at the end of it.

Take a listen to the radio lab episode on this for her take. There are always going to be those that want us to fit their mold and demand things of us, we can never, ever please everyone.

Interesting, I just watched this Youtube video on it:

I think...I have a lot of thoughts that need to settle and actually, I might write on it for a #dolphinschool post because it’s tapping into some ideas I was already having. It’s really cool that these posts are getting me inspired and getting dialogues started. One week in, and I think this place is pretty neat.

it's a great word

:) Yes it is. Thanks for stopping by!

Welcome and great post! #teamgirlpowa!

Thanks for stopping by! #Teamgirlpowa indeed, followed you! :)

Great post! Coincidentally, I just heard a great story on radio lab about how this word went really wrong for a big YouTube star. So, yeah, it's charged. I like your approach to it, you take it seriously, but in a somewhat playful way that allows us to examine our ideas, without getting slapped in the face for having an opinion. Critique, this could have been funny, but, I'm not sure that was your intent. There are ways to handle any topic with humor. You definitely showed some, but, if you're inclined, could find a way to be even more poignant while getting a chuckle. Nice post, as always! What is ocd-resteem? Guess I'll check it out. Nice job, Lilyraabe! Glad you signed up!

Thanks! Funny is not really my wheelhouse, so I went with what I knew which is more sardonic political commentary that is more engaging than normal, haha. And ya, just because you might chuckle doesn’t mean it’s funny which is kind of the point, I guess. Hm. I want to incorporate more humor into what I do in general so I’ll keep thinking about it. OCD is a curation guild for quality content by newcomers to steemit--it’s how I got that big payout on the hiking post. I’ve been using the tag because it worked once...so people must be checking it. :)

Also, is the Youtuber you’re talking about Laci Green? There’s a comment up above where we’re talking about that because I actually used one of her images--interesting conversation and it led me to a lady power discord channel that I’ve joined!

Women definitely play a role ... like a million of them
I like the way you used the memes to tell your story👍
Respect is the word people leave out of all genders and races.
@jeejee

Thank you for stopping by, reading, and commenting! :) I’ll head over to your post for #bootcamp today too!

I’ve really been learning a lot with #dolphinschool.. everyone’s posts are really amping up in content and value too

I liked the flow... was thinking of doing a similar idea earlier today... you pulled it off flawless...

Haha, great use of Queen B, pretty much says it all. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. See you back at bootcamp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53