[The Enchantments, USA] An adventure 7500’ feet in the sky!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6825.jpg

In September 2017, 6 friends, my boyfriend and I climbed 7500’ up into the Cascade mountains to a remote region in Washington known as The Enchantments: an alpine wonderland of granite, larch, and stunning natural architecture.

(I took the group shot below, hence why I’m not in the picture.)

IMG_6721.jpg

The Enchantments are the stuff of legends. The area is protected, and overnight camping (which is basically a necessity on the 18-mile, grueling adventure) is permitted only by a strict lottery system. There are 5 “zones” that make up The Enchantments, with the most prized permits being those that allow overnight camping in the “Core” zone.

What are your favorite hikes? For the next week I’ll post a link to one of my favorite local hikes every day in the comments so please stop back by!


IMG_6943.jpg

IMG_6732.jpg

Some folks I know have applied to the lottery for over 5 years and never received a permit. My friend Pete and I lucked out on our first try (crazy!), and I can honestly say this particular hike will stay with me the rest of my life.

IMG_6805.jpg

IMG_6848.jpg

IMG_6815.jpg

One of the best parts of the trail are the mountain goats. Yep, goats. You hear tales of them being attracted to the salt in hikers urine and becoming too friendly with through-hikers in the hopes of snagging a lick. A goat is a muscly few-hundred pounds of mischief and can be quite dangerous if provoked to charge (especially when hiking narrow ridge lines, and precarious cliffs).

IMG_6798.jpg

Our camp ground was goat paradise. Specifically baby goat paradise (cute!). We chose a secluded, circular area filled with grass, which in retrospect must have been their pasture. It didn’t help that Pete chose to ignore all the advice we heard, and peed on a nearby rock. Goat antics ensued. This is actually really bad trail etiquette and I do not condone this behavior, and now Pete doesn’t either. We woke up to 4-6 goats in the camp every morning, but had only peaceful (and charming) encounters with them.

IMG_6795.jpg

We opted for a 4 day trip that basically broke down like this:

Day One: Hike 5+ miles and 5,000’ elevation. Day one was brutal, especially with a 50-lb pack in late summer! Thank goodness for that legalized (and very lightweight!) mary jane to ease my muscles at camp!

Day Two: Hike another 5+ miles and 2,500’ elevation. Establish a basecamp at the foot of the Core.

Day Three: Explore the Core and spend time enjoying camp!

Day Four: Hike all the way out! To be clear that’s over 10 miles and over 7,500’ of elevation to drop in 1 day. We did it because a huge rain storm was coming in and we wanted to sleep in our warm dry beds. Ultimately worth it, but physically tough!

IMG_6831.jpg

IMG_6833.jpg

IMG_6850.jpg

IMG_6861.jpg

None of these photos are touched up. I don’t claim to be a photographer. I took the photos on my iPhone and that’s all there is to it. No filters, no photoshop. The Enchantments are just naturally beautiful!

IMG_6880.jpg

You’ll notice that there’s a certain kind of haze in a lot of these pictures. That’s because when we hiked into the Core wildfires were raging in the forests around us. In fact, we had to adapt our hiking route at the last minute to avoid zones that had been closed due to fires!

IMG_6888.jpg

Last but not least, I can’t close this series without a post of me and my love on this adventure. This man makes my heart swoon (a lot) and he’s the only one I’d want to talk me through climbing down the side of a rock cliff with nothing to hold onto. (A good friend sent me this pic, and I do think she edited it a bit. But I love it, so I had to include it.)

onarock.jpg

Hope you enjoyed hearing about this adventure. If you ever have the chance to do this hike don’t think about it just say YES. It’s a once in a lifetime kind of thing.

What are your favorite hikes? Leave links below! For the next week I’ll post a link to one of my favorite local hikes every day in the comments so please stop back by!


I’m new here and intend to use steemit to share thoughts on artistic practice, arts opportunities, my personal projects, and other fun things happening in my world--like hiking!

The last few days I wrote some heavier articles on Theatre of the Oppressed and Equity in Art Making, so I decided to switch it up today and share some of the things I do for self-care to decompress! For me, there is nothing like being out in nature.

To start my time on steemit right, I’m doing the #DolphinSchool Bootcamp with @markmorris, and will be putting out some content every day!

*L

Sort:  

Oh so cool. Way to go on the successful hike. Never myself done such a long hike. Pictures are amazing and goats too. Wonder how close you got to those? Thanks.

They were very close. There are some videos my boyfriend took of one right outside the tent door when he woke up...just like 5 feet away!

That place is absolutely stunning! Thank you for sharing. I have to admit, I did laugh when you said you woke up to goat friends everyday. I'm glad they were nice to you lol I gave you a shout in today's assignment. Here it is if you want to check it out Is Addiction A Disease?

Thank you so much for the shoutout--so cool, thank you! Ya, the goats were trouble and they blended in perfectly with those rocks so you didn’t always see them right away. I was off looking for the privy one morning and almost walked right into one!

No problem! I love helping every one gain exposure. I can't stop laughing about those goats! I can tell by the pictures how easily they could blend it. I could only imagine how much better they made that incredible trip.

Hello lilyraabe!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LilyRaabe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

For someone who is five days old in steemit, this is really great, you are indeed going far.

Thanks for the kind words and for stopping by.

Those pictures are really amazing, looks like my dream hike
My favorite hike must be Humboldt peak, and Pan de Azucar. I also love a lot the road to Piedras Blancas, but I don't have enough material now to make a blog

Really good post, i really enjoy it, kind of remind me of The Revenant

Thanks for saying so! I visited those posts of yours, such beautiful pictures! The trail dogs are pretty cute to! :)

Nice post buddy

Thank you so much! Followed you! :)

Some super amazing shot there, I would have loved to have completed that. It looks like it a huge effort but well worth it! Goats are awesome, did your man's pee upset the goats?

It was so much effort! The night we got home my boyfriend and I were so sore. We were too tired to cook so we went to the pub and after our meal our legs were so stiff that we just had to hobble to the car. Haha.

This post is amazing @lilyraabe! I like how you included the love story part too. It's so good to have someone to go on adventures with.

I love the pictures, you have great eye for awesome shots! I'm sharing this beautiful view from Mérida, Venezuela. I took it on the way back from a hike-and-thermal-water-bath day (:

20161230_142457.jpg

Wow oh wow that view/picture is amazing! I would love to go there someday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64622.42
ETH 3518.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46