ADSactly Fun - Solar Warrior

in #fun6 years ago

solarwarrior.jpg

source

I popped into the sandwich shop near my work to get something to eat for my lunch. There was a bit of a queue and I dutifully joined it and waited to be served. As I stood there waiting my eye was drawn to the fellow in front of me.

He was decked out head to toe in yellow and black lycra. He had the oddest lumpy soled shoes on and the tightest most shame-inducing lycra shorts it was possible for a man to wear without becoming a woman.

The fact that he looked like a deranged bee wasn't what caught my attention, however. Oh no. Not in the least. What actually caught my eye was the fact that he was covered in solar panels.

Dconsp_20180522234243518.jpg

source

I had never seen the like before. He had panels on his arms, legs, back and shoulders. As I peered closely at him I noticed he even had smaller ones attached to his helmet.

What the heck are you meant to be?

I couldn't help but whisper in a strange kind of awe tinged with disbelief. I mean, didn't the guy realise this was Glasgow? Here in Glasgow, we are an unforgiving bunch. Although over the years people have mellowed slightly it is still quite a daring thing to dress like a cut-rate superhero in broad daylight.

If it was night time, then of course, it would be perfectly acceptable. After all, that's what night time is for...

I wondered then, if he was a superhero, who or what would he be?

It was then that it came to me.

Surely he would be...

Dconsp_20180522234849713.jpg

source

SOLAR WARRIOR! Conserver of energy and charger of phones? Yes that would be it. I smiled and let out a little chuckle.

My chuckle quickly choked off as he began to turn.

Oh my flippety banjango.

I thought desperately. Did I say any of that out loud? Is the guy actually a superhero and his amazing psychic powers have heard my thoughts?

I stepped back slightly from the popinjay in lycra as he kept turning.

Finally, he faced me, his bike helmet resembling a bag of hastily painted sausages that had landed haphazardly on his head.

Dconsp_20180522235348984.jpg

source

Oh my god, please don't kill me with your lycra death punch.

I almost sobbed out loud.

Fortunately, I managed to keep my errant tongue from spouting such nonsense out of my mouth.

The Solar Warrior paused and looked me square in the eye.

It's quite some queue this isn't it.

Take my first born!!

I almost yelled in a vain attempt to save my own pitiful sandwich-loving life.

Instead, I squeaked. As if something was caught in my throat.

He looked puzzled.

What was that mate?

I cleared my throat. Perhaps he wasn't a superhero and he wasn't looking to revenge himself upon me via the medium of his fist.

Dconsp_20180522235642612.jpg

source

Oh, the queue, yes, it is a little long.

I remarked calmly, safe now in the knowledge that my life was no longer forfeit.

Moments later the woman called out and took our orders. We waited for a few minutes. My sandwich was ready first and I collected it and started to head out of the shop. As I drew level with the Solar Warrior he nodded companionably.

I nodded back.

Hey, what are all the solar panels for anyway?

I asked.

Oh.

He self consciously fingered a small bullet shaped thing attached to his lapel.

For my MP3 player!

He said, waggling the little thing on his lapel proudly.

I laughed.

MP3 player? Excellent. I hope you get plenty of sunshine... IN THE EIGHTIES!

I sauntered out of the shop into the grey murk that passes for Spring in Scotland only pausing once to look over my shoulder to make sure he wasn't following me with murder in his heart.

It was a fine day for mocking pretend superheroes.

------------------------------------

What about you? Have you ever been baffled by someones clothing to the point where you do not actually know if they are being serious or are in fancy dress?

Are they to be congratulated... or feared?

Tell us your best tales in the comments. I will be there to listen!

Authored by: @meesterboom

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

That's an interesting character encounter for sure, not someone you'd see every day... Haha, that's a funny description you gave for the dude - SOLAR WARRIOR. "Conserver of energy and charger of phones!" It has a catchy ring to it for sure, even though he's not going to save anyone from Thanos anytime soon...

I can't help but wonder if his little solar panel suit even works though, I was under the impression that solar panels needed to be fairly large, somewhat expensive, and of course needs reliable access to sunlight which he can't get if he's walking around especially inside buildings. How bad is the battery on his mp3 player, anyway? For the money that he spent on a solar panel suit, you'd think he could buy a better mp3 player although it's almost certainly just a cheap suit that doesn't do anything.

Every once in a while (very rare but happens), I see guys wearing dresses or other feminine clothing (sometimes with makeup), and well, it's a free world I guess, do what you feel you gotta do... Can't say I understand the appeal or whatnot, but I just look the other way and don't think too much about it, in general other people's fashion choices don't affect me. But there's still a point where something is just so weird you just have to ask - why?

Lol, yes, fashion or lifestyle choices don't phase me at all. It has to be something special, something a bit out there.

They were very odd. I have a small one that I can take camping for the light, it was like lots of them all over him. Madness!

I actually do a lot of Cosplay (when I am not pregnant that is lol) I like to dress as Harley Quinn (I have 3 different versions and a separate Harleen Quinzel outfit as well) Poison ivy, and I have a few woodland elf costumes too. My current problem is finding a photographer willing to work probono!

I go to a lot of Anime conventions sometimes and see crazy half assed cardboard costumes a lot of the time lol. Dome are pretty extravagant though!

Haha @meesterboom, all the crazy things that can happen in the daylight. Seems like thosecthings are the funniest one.

As I was reading, I was so laughing when you said that he has solar panels. I couldn't even imagine how he looked like haha

There are lota of crazy people out there and they're so funny. One of my town's finest is the man that dress like bruce lee and then he stands in the middle of the biggest crossroad in my city, and he does his bruce lee moves haha no police can stop that xD

My town is fulk of crazy people, believe me. It's like a circus town :)) Anyway, thanks for the great story, as always. Have a great Glasgow day!!!

Not bad, not bad at all...:)...

Solar penals are very useful. Specially countries like our Bangladesh.We have enough sun rays to use solar penals.Anyway, very good writing sir.

Magnificent, however please don't steal all the sun's rays

I am creating a picture of how that encounter was like, and I can't help but chuckle! I would feel quite the same - a bit terrified but amazed, though I can't decipher if it's more of amazed in a good way than otherwise. 😂

Each person has the right to be unique, you know. I hope he got his mp3 fully charged by now. Is there a chance you can meet him again? If there is, that would be one great moment!

P.S. I love how you made a superhero name for him 😂

Hehe, I fervently hope to never see him again and if I do I still pretend not to be me ;0)

Lol! But you might say out of impulse “Oh, it’s the SOLAR WARRIOR!!!” 😂

I would hardly be able to stop myself!

I haven't seen any really outrageous dressing except on real mad persons. "Solar warrior" that was funny.

Solar panels are very important for our life It maintains the natural qualities and keeps everything well. Solar panels for the development of life is very important thanks to this good post.

Hmm, not so convinced they are good on a person

Hhaaa awesome story nice life experience you are sharing with us fantastic i habe read your stories continuously every time have new topic new energy new information new lesson its too new stylish story of SOLAR warrior what a great name you choose for your post its also tricky nice genious mind mankind

Now you are talking my language. Never thought of myself has a solar vampire, but I like it. I have been cultivating electrons for three years now and will never go back to another form of gathering energy.
I love this story, well said my friend. By the way, I made you a witness. Keep up the keeping it up. Go Go Go.
Lastly, I do not lease the sun-it provides duty free
https://steemit.com/travel/@white-lie-living/r4tyn1mx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95