Fruits & Veggies Monday: Greens, Beautiful Greens {Purple Kale & Potato Salad}

Happy Monday everyone! I had a fun weekend spent enjoying time with friends, so I was a bit quiet on here. My heart is full, and so were my shopping bags as I left the farmers market after my Saturday morning visit. If you recall (after I probably lamented about it 3 or 4 times last week) the market was closed the previous Saturday due to nasty weather. This past week and next week are the last two markets before it shuts down for a few weeks over the holidays, so I am making my visits count! I knew all of my #fruitsandveggiesmonday folks would enjoy my picks. @lenasveganliving might have seen a peek at some of what I got on Instagram, but I don't think she'll mind a second viewing for my entry into her contest this week.

This time of year is perfect for a lot of the hearty leafy greens! Did you know a lot of items (like kale) actually taste sweeter if the temperature drops down around freezing? I don't know the exact mechanism, but I can attest to the stunning purple kale that I snagged this week being absolutely delicious. I could definitely tell it was less bitter than the kale I had gotten before the weather shifted. I don't mind bitter greens, but I also don't mind enjoying the nuances in flavor at different points in the year. The purple kale was truly stunning, but I also couldn't help but grab my favorite arugula and red oak lettuce from the hydroponic stand, and some mixed greens from an organic farmer who is newer to the market. They were so pretty I couldn't help but practice my photography skills...

IMG_20181215_122202319.jpg

They definitely make a lovely centerpiece, though I would much rather eat them quickly while they are still so fresh and nutritious!

IMG_20181215_122055722.jpg

And you know you want to see how delectable these babies are up close...

Can you blame me for buying so many options? Of course I loaded up on all kinds of other goodies, as well. Nothing but healthy holidays happening in our household. 😉

IMG_20181215_120908212.jpg

I got to work yesterday getting the first portion of meal prep started for the week. I kicked it off with a delicious salad with roasted red potatoes, Brussels sprouts, and red onion. The dressing was a bit of a green goddess variation that I used most of the arugula in for a vibrant way to bring it all together with that wonderful kale. It turned out quite delicious!

IMG_20181216_110158975_HDR.jpg

Purple Kale & Potato Salad

  • 2 pounds small red potatoes, cut into bite-sized chunks
  • 1 pound Brussels sprouts, trimmed & halved or quartered if they are especially large
  • 1/4 large red onion, peeled & chopped
  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 2 small bunches purple kale, trimmed & roughly chopped
  • 4 cups arugula (rocket), roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 3 tablespoons tahini
  • 4 cloves fresh garlic, peeled
  • 1 lemon, juice & zest
  • 1 tablespoon white miso

Heat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Place your potatoes in a baking dish with a thin layer of water at the bottom and cover. Your Brussels and onion will go on another pan to be cooked at the same time. Cook each dish for about 30 minutes, stirring at least once halfway. Test for doneness and leave either of the vegetables in the oven until cooked through. You want the potatoes cooked but not falling apart. Once done, take both out of the oven to cool.

Meanwhile, prep your kale and arugula. Place all of the kale and a handful of the arugula in a large bowl with the chickpeas. The remainder of the arugula will go into the dressing.

Add the remaining arugula and the rest of the ingredients to a food processor. Pulse together until combined. Taste and adjust to your liking.

IMG_20181216_105247549.jpg

Mix the cooked vegetables in with the kale and chickpeas, then stir together with your dressing for a wonderful salad! This one hits all the marks for me.

IMG_20181216_110231245_HDR.jpg

I am on salad duty for Christmas dinner with my family. At least I know I've got a great source for my base no matter what combination I use for the holiday! Now I'm off to put together a version of Lena's delicious daikon salad for another meal this week...

SB_new.png



Banners by @jaynie, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Sooo greeen! Summer back, at least for a minute :) thanks for sharing!

Glad I have been able to brighten everyone's day with my vibrant veggies! 🌈 Luckily it hasn't gotten so cold here that everything has been killed off, but I'm sure that will happen soon enough. Until then it is salad time! 😊

You know how to put smile on my face Katie, All this freshness reminds me of summer and the recipe is delicious. The photo looks amazing and I wish I could just reach with my work and eat it, lol. Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Always happy to share the rainbow! I was like a little kid returning to the market on Saturday. My goodness there were so many bunches of beautiful greens it was hard to pick just these! I know if I had tried to grab too much more they might have gone to waste, especially with all the other goodies I got. It may be a little quiet on the #fruitsandveggiesmonday front at the moment, but you know you can always count on me to bring something to the table to share! :)

I can only imagine Katie! Even though our supermarkets are full of produce, it is not the same. But you know what I mean. And thank you for always being my rock 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

That looks really delicious.
Makes me so hungry now.
:D

Definitely good fuel for dancing. :)

I've never had kale before- I know, right? Can you believe that! But this purple kale may change my mind.

What??!! I'm about to hunt you down and bring you some... 🤣 To be perfectly honest, it really isn't my favorite leafy vegetable, but I try to eat all the leafy stuff and this purple version is super healthy with its rich dark color. It really probably is the best tasting bunch of kale I've ever had.

You surprise me again and again with your great creations dear @plantstoplanks!

That's what Mondays are for, right? A week doesn't go by where I am not inspired by all of the amazing creations. :)

yes you are 100% right :)

Gorgeous photography of vibrant veggies and a delicious salad @plantstoplanks, looks so full of goodness!

Packed with nutrition and flavor! 😊 Thanks @lizelle!

Delicious! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much for the support!

This salad is right up my street girl! Love it. Vibrant, flavoursome and so healthy. What a great market haul too. Those leafy greens are beautiful!

I couldn't help but take some extra photos. It's a good thing I make most of my meals at home since I've definitely become "that person" who photographs most of her food. I'm forever grateful for my fabulous farmers for putting the best food on the table I could ever ask for!

It looks like summer is coming back :) Well, except of this delicious kale :)

Your salad looks yummy! And I also like the dressing. It's kind of my meal as there are potatoes in it :)

Yay to healthy Christmas! Not going to happen for me but I'll do my best anyway ;)

We are pretty lucky with the climate here. It does make for a really solid growing year. There will definitely be a few months coming up that will be slim pickings, so I'm stocking up on all the fresh stuff now! The only bad thing is I'm spoiled for the grocery store now, haha!

I'm sure I'll get a few treats in the mix, but it feels good to stick to my usual healthy eating in between. 😉

We usually use a lot of hearty food for Christmas that I love so I can't skip it :)

But I'll keep going to the gym to compensate and clear my consciousness :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43