Fruits & Veggies Monday {Food for--and from--the Mountains}

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you all had a fantastic weekend and are ready to start out the new week on a high note! Of course @lenasveganliving always helps kick things off with her wonderful contest. There are already lots of yummy entries, and it is still early in the day here so plenty of time for more to pop up and get us excited to eat our fruits and veggies!

This week I was a little bummed to not be able to make it to my favorite farmers market, but I really wasn't too upset as it was because @dksart and I were able to take the weekend off to head up to the mountains in North Georgia! It had been quite a while since the two of us were able to get away, even for just a few days, so I had been looking forward to it for quite a while. The trip held the perfect mix of getting active and exploring some of the scenery while hiking, but then also just chilling out and reading a book on the back porch of the cabin with the sounds of nature all around. My only small disappointment from the weekend was that most of the local orchards up there were done with u-pick, but we still made it home with a bushel of yummy fresh apples.

IMG_20181007_144242961.jpg

Before I share a little more about the visit to the orchard, I'll show you what we packed in the cooler for the weekend. As I am sure many of you have encountered, when you have certain dietary needs sometimes it is just a whole lot easier to make food to bring for a road trip than trying to find a place to eat out. As vegan and health-conscious eater, knowing we had a full kitchen at the cabin meant I prepared most of our meals to bring with us.

IMG_20181005_122737055.jpgIMG_20181005_122402416.jpg

I also knew we were going to be out hiking on a few of the days, so I kept in mind easy portable lunches in addition to our meals in the cabin. Though the cabin had a fully stocked kitchen, I knew I didn't want to spend the whole weekend cooking so a little prepping made sure that wasn't the case. @dksart whipped up some fresh baked potato fries both nights, but the rest of the meals we just warmed back up what I had already prepared at home.

IMG_20181004_162256373_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

To go along with the taters I made a tofu scramble. I know, it is normally served as breakfast, but it actually tastes just as good for dinner. 😉 When I was looking through the refrigerator before we left that was one of the best things I could come up with to use up the last of the veggies from the week. It is also a great way to refuel after hiking and make sure to get in plenty of nutrients. This one had onion, pepper, mushrooms, kale, tomatoes and broccoli sprouts.

IMG_20181004_151513014_HDR.jpg

I snuck in some more fruits and veggies at breakfast with pumpkin pear overnight oats. Such a simple yet filling meal to start out the day before we headed out on our adventures. These had rolled oats, almond milk, chia seeds, pumpkin puree, chopped pear, pumpkin pie spice, and walnuts. I packed some bananas to go along with in case we needed an extra boost before going hiking.

For lunch and snacks I went with a classic--peanut butter and jelly sandwiches! Haha, I just can't seem to pack a road trip cooler without a few of those. I find that the Food for Life sprouted grain bread actually holds up really well, even after a few days in the refrigerator, and of course my nut butter and jelly is all natural with no junk added. To go with I also packed grapes, carrots and hummus. Since we were a little light on leafy greens in our meals, I also grabbed green juice on the way up there just for good measure. We may not have consumed as many vegetables as we usually do when eating at home, but we definitely ate much healthier than most Americans do on vacation!

IMG_20181007_111157808_HDR.jpg

To stock up on our apples we stopped at a different orchard this year than we went to previously. It was one of the only ones still doing u-pick, but the lines were so long even at 10:30 in the morning that we just decided to purchase from the market. I love getting out and picking my own, but at least we were still able to get ones right from the source. They actually had a lot more varieties available in the market than for picking, as well.

IMG_20181007_110652442.jpg

They also had fresh produce, so I grabbed a few things since I missed my own Saturday market visit.

IMG_20181007_110642482_HDR.jpg

They had a whole bunch of pumpkins for sale outside of the market. Some of them were massive!!

IMG_20181007_110757995.jpgIMG_20181007_110705291.jpg

We didn't have any room for pumpkins, though, since I insisted on purchasing about 40 pounds of apples (and some sweet taters, too). 😊 I opted for Honey Crisp, Arkansas Black and September Wonder varieties. You know where I'll be for the next few days...

IMG_20181007_134914310_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

Have a fantastic week everyone!



Sort:  

That's some serious meal prepping, but it's true that sometimes you just have to prep your meals in order to have nutritious food, looks good!

40 pounds of apples sounds perfect, I'd be more than happy if that was my kitchen countertop! 😋 But oh my goodness, how big are those pumpkins! How can you even lift them from the ground? And, what would you do with all that pumpkin? Haha, so many questions but this is just something new to me, I'm really amazed!

Haha, I have no idea how they move those pumpkins! Maybe with a forklift? I can imagine it is a pumpkin carving dream, though that is definitely not one of my skills.

I already made some apple sauce, but it's time to tackle another round of apple goodies. :)

I can only imagine how hard it is to carve a pumpkin, I've never tried and think it's some thing nearly impossible! However, some people make it look super easy!

Yay, apple goodies already on the way! But even applesauce on it's own is really delicious! 😋

Here in the US we have carving kits with different patterns for Halloween, so it does make carving a bit easier. My boyfriend is artsy enough that he can carve one without a pattern, but not me, haha!

I think I'd be a lot worse than you, my pattern would probably be a circle if I tried, haha!

great prepping @plantstoplanks and those pumpkins sure look huge

Thanks! They were massive! I should have squatted down next to one for a picture so you could tell just how big they were!

Great picnic for the road @plantstoplanks! I also love my own picking. We took my little one to a strawberry farm last week. But didn't get to pick

Thanks @buckaroo!! I am always happy any time I can go straight to the farm! I think we just need to go a little bit earlier next year to be able to pick the apples, but the ones we got are just as delicious. I'm sure those strawberries were, too!

Awesome prepping and I LOVE YOUR PHOTOS 😍😍😍

I think prepping is just in my blood now. ;) I can't seem to go anywhere without packing at least some snacks, haha! Not a bad habit to be in I suppose.

And thank you for the compliment on the photos! I am glad I was able to get a replacement phone before the weekend because my last one was cutting off every time I tried to take a picture! I've got plenty more photos to share this week of our hiking adventures, too.

I look forward to the hiking adventures photos 😍🍀🦋🌈💛🌴

when you have certain dietary needs sometimes it is just a whole lot easier to make food to bring for a road trip than trying to find a place to eat out.

Very relatable even though this is getting better with more available options each year. Enjoy the apples !

It is definitely getting better, though some places it is taking a little bit longer. ;) Some of it is just such a habit now that I feel lost if I don't do it, haha!

That is some impressive meal prepping. I bow to you!! Gorgeous apples and pumpkins. Honey crisp are my favorites. I've never heard of or tried Arkansaw Black or September Wonder--I'll have to look for those.

Honey crisp really are tough to beat because they are so delicious! This was my first experience with Arkansas Black. They are very firm and mixture of sweet and tart. I think my boyfriend likes the September Wonder the best because they are a little bit softer (without being mealy) and have a nice traditional apple flavor. It's fun to have all three to experiment with in the kitchen!

Tofu scramble is my best friend too, when I need to make something fast to go, lol. Well, you definitely had more then that, with your cooler packed fully with all the goodies. And speaking of most Americans not to forget Canadians, we can only dream that someday majority of them will eat like this.

You also got yourselves some delicious apples so now you are all set. Enjoy the fresh air in the serenity of the beautiful mountains. We will be waiting here to hear all about it 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

That cooler has seen us through quite a few road trips now. :) Tofu scramble really is such a versatile meal, and it traveled very well!

It was a fantastic couple of days away that we very much enjoyed, thank you! I should have a post lined up for tomorrow with some more pictures of the first day. Makes me realize how much more often I need to get out and explore!

Ohhhhhhhhhhhh, I better check, it may be up already!

Oh this is fantastic @plantstoplanks… 1) I totally love love love pumpkins and am always being held back from buying the entire display every time we go to the grocery store. 2) pumpkin pear overnight oats? Now that’s just frikken brilliant. Definitely putting that one on my to do list. Overnights oats are the perfect breakfast before a good hike… nailed it. 3) I wish we lived somewhere that we could go apple picking. That sounds like truly an amazing memory to make. Plus think of all the Apple goodies one could make from their score… I’m certainly going to keep my eye out for your Apple goodies 😋. Fantastic entry !

Thanks @puravidaville! Those pumpkins were so cool I couldn't help but snap a few pictures. I liked not only the sizes but all the different colors and textures. And I love pumpkin in oatmeal! Overnight oats, slow cooker steel cut oats, rolled oats cooked in the pan--doesn't matter, I'll scoop some pureed pumpkin in them all. I hope one day you can get a chance to go apple picking. It is a really fun experience, and much easier than berry picking because you don't have to bend over, haha! I'm still mulling over what else I want to do with all these beauties--so many choices!

Everything about fall is my fave. The pumpkins are my drug though… poor @dandays hates them. Well doesn’t hate them but would prefer not to live in a pumpkin patch. The warty ones are cool and we have flat white ones too. Love it! Thank you for inspiring a pumpkin spice O.N. (Overnight) oat for this house. It’s a great idea :)

Apple picking is on the list now. The list of Apple things I’d bake is endless. We’d probably enjoy a few lone rangers too. I can’t wait to see what you come up with :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57050.09
ETH 3060.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32