Don't treat people as Things - Suesa rambles

in #freewrite5 years ago

By Free-Photos on pixabay.com


Most people struggled with mental health problems at one point in their life, some still do. The problems can be anything, most frequently it’s depression or anxiety. Sometimes it’s overcome with therapy, sometimes with medication, sometimes just by powering through it - sometimes never really. But in the end, everyone just wants to feel better again, wants to escape the negative feelings and continue living a happy, or at least not an unhappy life.

In most cases, the solution is to make yourself feel better. But focusing only on yourself can have negative consequences for others. As I mentioned in my last ramble, it is sometimes important to ask who's negatively affected by your actions, even if they are to improve your mental health.

You're probably confused what I mean, how can improving your own emotional state hurt others?

It's a question of how you handle it. Do you disregard everyone else's emotions, feelings, and needs to ensure you're feeling better? Or do you try to find a balance between not hurting those around you and not hurting yourself?

The first approach might feel easier and requires a little bit less energy. After all, you don't have to keep other people's welfare in mind. But where does that leave you? If you're not incredibly lucky and surrounded by people with almost angelic patience, it will likely leave you alone and without any meaningful connections.

"Good", you might say. "People suck anyway. I'm much better off alone." But is that true? Do you never crave any affection? If the answer is "yes", you might be a psychopath. Nothing wrong with that, it's usually not something that's your fault. But most people aren't psychopaths, and there will be times when they need affection and people they can trust.

So, what's an example of improving one's own mental health, while harming others?

Other people have emotions and problems too. They can help you with yours, help you figure out ways to deal with them better. And that's great! But if you discard them as soon as they've served their purpose, you're treating them like objects, not like sentient, empathetic beings.


“Treat people as an end, and never as a means to an end”

- Immanuel Kant


Say you have a friend who struggles with something like depression. That friend, let's call them Sam and stick to gender-neutral pronouns, asks for your help. Together, you try to find ways for Sam to find a way out of the depression. You help set up therapist appointments and pick up their antidepressants when Sam is unable to go to the pharmacy themselves. Things improve for Sam, they begin to be more outgoing, meet new people, and don't call you anymore in the middle of the night.

You're happy for Sam.

One day, you're meeting with Sam in a bar to have a few drinks together. You haven't been feeling so good lately, it's been a rough few months and you really need a friend to talk. You think Sam would be the friend to turn to, after all, you've helped them through their worst times. But the moment you start telling Sam about how you feel, they stop you.

"I can't have your negativity around me", Sam says. "I don't really want to talk about your problems."

You're hurt, but drop the topic for now. Maybe Sam will want to discuss it with you another time. But over and over again, they brush you off and refuse to acknowledge that you're in pain too. Over the next few weeks, you drift apart, as Sam keeps canceling plans you made together.

When you confront them about it, they tell you that they just don't want to deal with your problems. Sure, you helped them with theirs, and they're happy about it and feeling better now, but they see no reason why they should help you with yours. You're responsible for yourself! Why do you expect them to be your crutch? That's not healthy. You should see a therapist and take strong medication, like, immediately!

This is just one example, there are others. People who tell you they love you, and then drop you the next day because suddenly the need that you fulfilled stopped being there. Friends that keep you around only for the times they want your support, never offering empathy themselves.

And I'm pretty sure you've done it too. I certainly have.

But no matter what is going on in your life, no matter why you don't feel so well, focusing only on yourself without considering the impact of your actions on those around you is not an ideal option.

What could Sam have done differently?

Of course, they don't need to be there 100% of the time, that's too much to ask. But showing a little empathy, even if it risks your own perfect day, ensures that your friends are doing well too.

None of us can go through this world alone, and it's important we're there for each other, and hold ourselves accountable for our actions.

"That's how it is, I can't change what happened, and I honestly don't have any specific feelings toward you that would justify putting energy into fixing my mistake" is not an acceptable statement. Nobody can change the past, but it's in our hands to create a better future.

If you hurt someone along the way of your journey to a better mental health, make sure to at least try and fix what happened. Don't discard those that care for you.

You might end up without anyone who gives a shit.

Rule number one: Don't treat people as things.

Sort:  

We as human beings must always correspond with the love we receive from others, that is the fairest and the healthiest for all. Also, as you said in the end, we could lose all the people who love us and stay alone due to our lack of gratitude.

Speaking of gratitude.

Thank you very much for the support you give us all in the platform and for contributing with each job you do. And for giving me the opportunity to return to the platform everything that he has done for me with the delegation.

I'm working hard as I said, and I'm fine-tuning the interaction plans for next week, to take the first step to do a personal project, but on the platform, and that will help many people.

These experiences that I have lived have emphasized to me exactly everything you wrote in your publication, and they have given me the reason that working for our dreams and including people in them is a good way.

Regards!!!

I can't actually remember any time I've done that to anyone...other than when I had to actually cut people completely out of my life because of whatever reason. I would still be there for them often times if they needed me though.

There have been many people that I've been there for that just aren't ever there for me. People that I always seem to be the first to contact. Then one day I just stop...and then they're just gone from my life. Until one day months later they ask what happened and why I never talk to them anymore.

It's depressing. But I'd rather be someone that's there for someone rather than someone that just uses people. Unless it's for beer. You can totally buy me beer.

I don't think I ever met anyone who actually gave a shit anyway, except my parents and brothers. I've gotten more help from random strangers than from the people I used to call "friends". That's why I don't have friends anymore, everyone I meet is just cold-hearted users and abusers, and I feel like I've already given them more than they deserve. If that's what it's like to have friends, then I think I'd rather take the loneliness and lack of affection. Robin Williams has a great quote about this: "I used to think that the worst thing in life was to end up alone. It's not. The worst thing in life is to end up with people who make you feel alone."

Sounds like you've been surrounded by extremely shitty people, I'm sorry about that. In a world where we're conditioned to strive for our own success, people tend to forget that we're social creatures and need to support each other to thrive.

My approach is to be as warm as possible, with the hope to inspire that in others too. Often fails, sometimes it doesn't. Not saying it's something you should do, because it requires a lot of energy and often ends in pain. But it's an option.

I find a great deal of fulfillment in showing compassion for others. I know this is not something that everyone feels, so I rarely expect it to be returned. I try not to consider the emotional labour I have given as an entitlement to receive it later from that person, at least not publicly.

It does not stop it from hurting, though, when someone you have poured so much of your energy into has no interest in doing the same for you. But in these cases I just try to remember: I don't have compassion for people only as a service to them; I do it for me too, because it is a fulfilling experience and makes me happy. That happiness and fulfillment are my "reward" for my efforts. Not an entitlement to reciprocation down the line.

That said, it is hard to describe the feeling that results when you recognise that someone you once supported is now offering you support. I love feeling like that and I am lucky to have people in my life that I can experience that feeling with.

I didn't want to suggest that giving emotional labor entitles you to receiving it. It's more about being aware that you shouldn't discard people just because they stopped being useful. But aside from that, I wholeheartedly agree with you!

What a reat post and this is somethig Im definitely going to have to teach my kids to live by. Ive always been taught to treat others as you would want to be treated, but framing it this way really brings the message home at least for me.

I think "don't treat people as things" is different from "treat people how you want to be treated" in the way that it doesn't carry the expectation that the other people will treat you the way you want to be treated.

"Don't treat people as things" applies no matter how they behave.

I was about to comment your post with a stupid joe (when I click on the title). Then I read... Now I am less sure I will do the joke... I actually do not know what to say, as this looks quite personal. Anyways, good luck! (I assume this is connected to some real situation.)

I'd still like to hear the joke tho

The joke! The joke! The joke!

I was about: I am fine not to treat people as things if I am allowed to consider my particles as guys and gals. I know... it is a bad one... but I am a physicist (and I am actually calling my particles guys and gals when I describe something on the board) ;)

PS: disclaimer: I thought about this only after having read the post title.

Always call your particles guys and gals, they love it :)

Of course! They repeat this to me every single day ^^

Are there non-binary particles tho?
Also, I call my mice "Babies", we're all a bit weird.

I guess this is a natural behavior until those we like :)

Sadly some people are just users. They never take the second to consider someone else.

But I do suppose it just makes those who do that much more special.

A friend in need is a friend indeed ?

Posted using Partiko Android

Something like that

Congratulations @suesa-random! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43