You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't treat people as Things - Suesa rambles

in #freewrite5 years ago

I don't think I ever met anyone who actually gave a shit anyway, except my parents and brothers. I've gotten more help from random strangers than from the people I used to call "friends". That's why I don't have friends anymore, everyone I meet is just cold-hearted users and abusers, and I feel like I've already given them more than they deserve. If that's what it's like to have friends, then I think I'd rather take the loneliness and lack of affection. Robin Williams has a great quote about this: "I used to think that the worst thing in life was to end up alone. It's not. The worst thing in life is to end up with people who make you feel alone."

Sort:  

Sounds like you've been surrounded by extremely shitty people, I'm sorry about that. In a world where we're conditioned to strive for our own success, people tend to forget that we're social creatures and need to support each other to thrive.

My approach is to be as warm as possible, with the hope to inspire that in others too. Often fails, sometimes it doesn't. Not saying it's something you should do, because it requires a lot of energy and often ends in pain. But it's an option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44