Day 59: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: a red scarf

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Hello!

This is my Day 59: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: a red scarf for today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The red scarf try #2

Kathryn had worn the same warm red scarf for the last 50 years. Her Aunt given it to her for Christmas along with the lecture to never leave it unattended as it was an expensive present. Kathryn was getting old enough to start taking responsibility for something so dear.

That speech had stayed with Kathryn these last 50 years. Every time she looked at that warm red scarf, she went right back to her childhood and the lecture she had gotten upon opening her gift.

It never really bothered her the lecture per se, she was getting the warmest scarf ever for the trouble of a few words spoken in haste. As she got older, she started to wonder, how she couldn't have lost it in 50 years.

Her life was not spent, all in the same house, quite the contrary she had moved a lot in her 20's trying to find herself.

But the warm red scarf, with its lecture attached, always made it back to her pocket at the end of each year.

If you look at the possibilities of someone having that same scarf year after year, it's a Christmas Miracle beyond once a year.


source

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The red scarf try #1

I was seated that day on an old bench in the park, it had turned warm late in the day. My bright red scarf had been a waste to bring and now just got in the way.

I made me wonder about life and all the things we had. How whole rooms, for some, were used to just house their clothes unlike years ago where a person had 3 sets of clothes to make it through their life.

Did we as a society get too much too fast? When will nature balance itself out and we will lose all we have?

Most make fun of the people that store for a doomsday but will those few be the lucky ones when the world rights itself again?

Should we not embrace natures call and live without more? It's a question some have answered and were happy in the doing. It makes you wonder if people could live without again.

How many would make it? How many would fail?

Insert your own conclusion as my red scarf floats away..................

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Happy Writing!
Snook

Sort:  

Love #1 for the very real questions it is posing. And I truly believe that if we all cut back some - we wouldn't need to get to the disaster stage. But we shall see. We all might have to move to your son's coffee plantation..... And work the land...

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-60-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-twins

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

I think that I can confidently answer that last question. If the clock were turned back to pre- 1900's type life and struggle then most of the Western Civilization would fail. Our Bodies would not be tough enough for the rigors of that time, and few would have the knowledge or the tools for survival in a wild country. There would be a massive struggle for all of the available resources, without modern machines, available energy, and delivery systems in place there would certainly not be enough for everyone, and only the prepared and ready would make it through the first winter. Personally, I would probably not make it through the first month or two, maybe not even the first week. I could if not molested in any way, but I could not adequately defend myself, and I wouldn't let my friends and neighbors starve while I ate anyway. It would be a very bleak and sad time if it ever happened.

I agree with you there. Did you ever read Stephen King's The Stand? It's one of my favorite books and is set around just this subject and I think he did a great take on what would happen.......scary monsters aside loll

We would live for a while where we are because we are close to the country. My Hubby hunts so we have that going for us too. I would not make it tho if we had to keep moving....and I think you would have to just to be safe in the beginning.
Thank you!

The #1 write presents a lot of questions and it speaks to me about minimalism versus materialism. I'm not one to amass things, I would much prefer time. Because time is the most valuable commodity that we have. We spoke the other day, Jeff and I, about this. It's a provoking topic. I want to know more about the aunt's motives on not losing the scarf :) nice work!

I think in the USA because families, most of them, have split to live their own lives and not in a bad way, we might have a bit more trouble here than say in Europe where a lot of families still live very close to one another. I think trust would be a huge issue and at least with family, you would know what you are getting. loll

Replace red scarf with blue mittens and that IS my true story LOLL My Aunt must have been very scary giving me that lecture as I still have BOTH mittens and use them still today tho they have been many places and seen a lot 😁hugs

Aww I love the true story, toó!

Agreed. I am pretty sure that most of us wouldn't make it. and like you, not being able to defend ourselves. that said, we all live close together as a family and some are hunters and gun owners. But in southern California - water would be the biggest problem....

yeah I'm pretty lucky water-wise we are close enough to Lake Michigan and Wisconsin has tons of lakes, ponds, and rivers. Tho you will freeze to death in the Winter. lol

hahaha - we would build igloos!!

Congratulations @snook! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like them both. I can see that scarf being important in both of the stories. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41