A Nemesis for JitteryMan - Freewrite Day 505 Entry - Weekend Single Prompt: Warrior

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

JitteryMan flew out of his secret cave, following a tunnel so full of twists and turns it could be considered a gordian knot. However, he had flow this tunnel so many times that he could do it in his sleep. He remembered when he carved it through the mountain, sure that the winding maze would deter all enemies. The first time he had tried to go out, he was lost for 4 hours, and deeply regretted that decision. Eh, live and learn.

As he burst from the hidden exit, he took a deep breath, filling his lungs with clean, pre-dawn air. His wristwatch beeped at him, indicating the direction he should fly, and he took off through the air. In this sparsely populated region, he felt fairly ok breaking the sound barrier, so quickly climbed up to a few thousand feet and accelerated forward. The big, damp clouds exploded as he punched a hole in them. No matter how many times he did it, flying through a cloud was an exhilarating, and cold, experience.

In practically no time, he made it to the city, and slowed down to avoid bursting eardrums and windows. He flew to the Starday Hospital, which was where the report had come from, and landed gently. He had touched down in a puddle, and looked down to see the ripples spreading out from his vibrations. He ran into the hospital, his super speed making everything seem as though it was moving through molasses. There was no one in the main lobby, but that made sense if the place was under attack.

He ran through the building, checking every room. He came across many people cowering in fear, and a lot of signs of destruction, but no enemy. Concerned, he found a doctor, and slowed down to a speed that he could communicate with him.

“Where is the person that caused this?” he asked, urgently. The doctor could only shake, fear having taken his voice. A nearby nurse had overheard his question though, and shouted out, “The thing is upstairs, on the roof. Waiting for you.” While that was certainly worrying, JitteryMan had no time to waste. In half a moment, he was on the roof, facing his new adversary.

This humanoid figure was dressed in all black. If this was indeed a person, there was nothing showing but this shadowy, almost gaseous covering that surrounded the giant. Easily 7 foot tall, and massive in the chest, this was something that looked dangerous. Then, almost faster than even JitteryMan could move, it pulled a sword out from seemingly nowhere. The being raised the sword until it was aimed directly at him, and then, in a voice that struck fear deep into his core, it said:

“I am The Shadow Warrior. I have been sent to destroy you.”

The voice was somehow slimy, feeling like it oozed into his ear drums and made him unclean. Before he could react, it charged impossibly fast towards JitteryMan, and he knew that he was going to be fighting for his life.


Hello everyone. I hope you had a good weekend :)

I decided to make this a continuation of my previous freewrite. I liked the character, and am going to stick with them for awhile. If you want to read my first story, which I recommend, you can find it here.

I’m sorry for the cliffhanger. I know that’s a little mean of me to do, but I promise I will be continuing the story soon. I was already a decent amount over the 5 minutes, but the writing was flowing well.

Source

This character is fairly close to what I had in mind for The Shadow Warrior, but I spent way too long looking for something closer. If anyone would like to help me with some artwork, or knows of anyone who would, I would gladly split the reward from my post with you.

Until next time,

Namaste


This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-single-prompt-option

Prompt: “Warrior”


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oh, oh - superheroes and supervillains. That will be interesting!! Are you on twitter? going to tweet this and if you are there, I am nominating you for the #seven77 challenge. 7 pushups for 77 days posted to Twitter with the hashtags #steem #actifit #seven77 👍

I am indeed on twitter. If you check my other posts, you'll see my videos for that challenge. I'll be doing day 6 today :)

Https://twitter.com/nathaneilmcd

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @nmcdougal94! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

🏆 Hi @nmcdougal94! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @nmcdougal94 :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36