A Hero is Brewed - Freewrite Day 504 Entry - Prompt: Jittery

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

The day started out as almost all did. He woke from his sleep to a blaring alarm, groggily opening his eyes as he sat up in bed. Outside the window, the still dark morning made it look as though it was the middle of the night. Man, he hated waking up before the sun. But with his line of work, it was necessary.

He rolled out of bed, and stood up with a deep stretch, reaching up to the ceiling and then down to touch his toes. He did this a few times, taking deep, rhythmic breathes. This always helped him get his mornings going.

Feeling a little more awake, he headed out into his living room, and flipped on the news. To his dismay, there was yet again breaking news that some heinous crime was in the middle of happening. With a short sigh, he turned away from the news, and walked into his closet.

He reached up, and grabbed a hidden pulley. The floor dropped out, and he slid down into his secret underground cave. With a glance around, he realized why he hadn’t been notified sooner. His computer was doing a system update at the moment. He put his face in his hands, giving a heavy sigh. “Stupid technology always breaking when you need it,” he muttered to himself. He could have sworn that he set it to not update manually, but you never know with computers these days.

He walked over to the closet in his cave, and quickly got changed in to his hero costume. There wasn’t much to his costume, it was basically a skintight bodysuit that was dark brown. The color of coffee.

Feeling a tad bit nervous, as he always did, he came to his coffee maker. Taking off the protective glass dome, he poured himself a cup from the always ready pot. He gulped it down, and felt the change happening. This was what gave him his powers. This magical coffee plant that he had found deep in the jungles of Colombia. He felt the power course through him, his nerves tingling as he started to vibrate. For while this brew granted him super strength, super speed, invulnerability, and the ability to fly, it also had a downside that gave him his name.

For he was, JitteryMan.


Hello friends. I hope that you're doing well :)

I decided to change up the format of my posts, thanks to @kaelci ‘s freewrites. I hope this will make it a little easier/ more convenient for people who are reading my posts.

I’m not sure if I’m going to continue with this superhero story or not. I thought this made for a fun sort of introduction, I wanted to create a more human superhero. Given the huge following of coffee, I figured this would make a fun spin on things. I hope you enjoy it.

Source

Until next time,

Namaste


This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-504-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-jittery

Prompt: “Jittery”


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Given the huge following of coffee, I figured this would make a fun spin on things. I hope you enjoy it.

As a loyal follower of the Coffee Bean, I applaud our new hero! May JitteryMan save the day and not jitter toooooo much! Haha. :)

🏆 Hi @nmcdougal94! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @nmcdougal94 :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36