The Story Of Mr X Has Only Just Begun. (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: eagle scout provided by @mariannewest

5 Minute Freewrite Task

This is the story about a man forced into a new life. He is a good man but has not always made the best choices. Three years on the witness protection program has changed him and he is enjoying his new lifestyle, a lot.

Previously:

Parts 1-5: Mr X Parts 1-5

Part 6: Mr X And The Gift From The Men In Black

Part 7: Mr X And The Day Mrs Wallace Turned Up

IMG_20170716_211628.jpg

Part 8: The Story Of Mr X Has Only Just Begun

“What is an eagle scout? I thought it was someone who tries to spot eagles. However, after a bit of research, I find out the it is the highest prize of a boy scout in America. That wouldn't be me then. I was never even a scout in the first place. What I have found out, is that there were more people looking out of me than I thought.”

Mr X is digesting the letter that was given to him today. It was from his good friend, Mr Jones.

Dear friend

I am very glad that you have found this life for yourself.

Sadly, my path lies in another direction. You are not the only person on the witness protection program. However, unlike you, I do have another life to go back to.

I shall miss you.

You now have this opportunity to continue this life. What I do know is this; you are now here by choice. You are free and you have these beautiful surroundings to make this wonderful life.

Take care, my friend. I too have a choice, but my life is not here.

You had more people looking out for you than you thought, including Mrs Wallace. I hope you enjoy getting to know her more.

My story lies elsewhere. However, this is not the end of your story. It is just the beginning. I shall drink to that. I hope you do to.

Take care

A friend

The letter has filled Mr X with a mixture of happiness and sadness. A realisation and an opportunity. The only thing to do is to make the most of this opportunity.

“Thank you, my friend,” said Mr X as he raises his glass in the air. “I'll drink to that.”


You can read Part 9
Who Is Mr X And Who Is Mrs Wallace?

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

5 Minute Freewrite task conceived by @mariannewest and @improv

Banner created by @ameliabartlett

The picture used today is mine, taken last year in Devon, UK.

Sort:  

OMG! I sure wasn't expecting this! : )

It is very strange to do a freewrite series, because you can't help thinking ahead. But stories can still take a different direction.

They sure can change at the blink of any eye. That is the beauty of freewriting. : )

I hope that you will find time for this
We know that you love the We-Write 😀 The new challenge is up. Remember, besides the prices, each entry gets a 100 % upvote from the Freewrite House. Hope that you will join the contest.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/we-write-partner-up

I have put out the call for a freewrite partner. Let's see what happens. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18