Mr X Parts 1-5, Story About A Man Redeeming His Life Somewhere Nice

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

A short while ago, whilst taking part in the 5 minute freewrite storytelling campaign, run by @mariannewest, I wrote a story about a man who was staying in the middle of nowhere. When I started, I ddn't know where or why. However, the story ran for 5 parts and it could have run for longer. Therefore I will be bringing back my character, Mr X, and will hopefully complete his story over the coming week.

dartmoor-200587_1920.jpg

The other thing that was interesting about this story, is that I started it off by writing it on some A4 paper. I took pictures of the original handwritten draft and put it alongside the more polished version.

Part 1 Woke Up With Wood

"6am and there is a knock at the door. I’m living in the middle of nowhere but I still get disturbed. I’d better go and answer," thought Mr X.

“Wood, for your log fire,” said the man at the door.

“I didn’t order any wood."

“This is for you, it will soon be winter. You will need it,” said the man.

Mr X took the logs and stored them.

"Winter is still 3 months away but it will be nice to have some here."

1 month later

“It is cold. Very cold. I think my balls are going to drop to the ground. I’m glad I’ve got that wood stored up.”

1.jpg

Mr X organised all of the log wood and made himself a beautiful warm fire. All that was missing was some red wine and good music. It would have been nice if he had his old vinyl collection with him, but present circumstances do not allow for this today.

He at least has access to some digital music. Mr X also decided to look around the house for something to drink. Fortunately, there is some brandy in the pantry.

“This will do.”

Perfect

2.jpg

Peace

It was like a haven. Music, brandy and a log fire. For the first time in a long time, Mr X felt a sense of peace and comfort.

Then……

He could see a light flashing through the window.

The window smashes and there is gun fire.

"Oh no. Who is here? Have they found me?"

Mr X wakes up. Thankfully back to peace. Thank you Lord.

The witness protection program seems to be working just fine.

3.jpg


Part 2: You Don't Know Me

There is far too much discord for one evening. A man arguing with bus driver that he did not receive his change.

Another person in the restaurant claiming that the order she received was wrong. However, her claims were met with anger from the cashier. Fortunately, there is a manager around to calm the situation.

Maybe it is the heat.

Whatever it is, “the customer is always right” philosophy doesn't seem to apply today.

Compare this to Mr X, who has one of most notorious criminal gangs after him. He lives in a world of peace. He is on the witness protection program. He has a beautiful house in the middle of nowhere.

dartmoor-200587_1920.jpg

The longer he stays, the more sense of peace he gains. He still thinks about why he is here, but it is becoming more and more of a distant memory.

He has settled into this peaceful lifestyle. This witness protection program is so good, even I, @mr-neil, the writer of this story, does not know his real name.

Today, Mr X will take a gentle stroll to the town. He will walk through the green hills. Such beautiful scenery. Such a wonderful world.

He will meet very friendly people, whilst picking up some fresh food supplies. Wonderful.

This is the life, I'm not sure if Mr X would like it any other way.

…….and that is what worries him sometimes.


Part 3: The Core Values Of Mr X

Mr X has a completely new set of core values, all for good reason. Whilst you wouldn’t necessarily describe him as a bad guy, he had not always made the best life choices. That has now changed. Three years on the witness protection program, surrounded by beauty has had a profound effect. The pace of life, so much slower.

Will this lifestyle last forever?

4.jpg

Mr X believes that it would be nice if it did. In fact, the only thing he fears more about the retribution from the criminal gang, is the call to say that this is all finished. That he can go back to his previous lifestyle.

A knock on the door at 6am. Why always 6am?

There are three men in black suits.

“Good morning Sir.”

“Are you here to take me back home?” asked Mr X. He is looking sad. “I have been here for 3 years. I have forgotten my past life. I no longer experience nightmares of being caught by the gang. I live in peace and harmony. I am a new person now. Please, let me stay.”

“Please excuse us,” said one of the men.

The 3 men take a short walk to discuss the situation. They then return.

Two of them come into the house, whilst the other one is still outside on his phone.

“Mr X, it appears that we have come to the wrong house. We were looking for someone called Mr Jones.”

“Yes, I know him,” said Mr X. “You can see his house from here.”

“Thank you, Mr X. As for your own situation, I have my man working on that right now. We have contacts in high places. You will be able to continue with this life of yours as long as you wish.”

Mr X is relieved and happy.

“What is your real name, Mr X?”

“That is classified, but you can call me Xavier.”

“Good answer. For that reason, we may have a job opportunity for you.”

“What do you do?” asked Mr X.

“That is also very classified information.”


Part 4: Mr X And The Grand Piano

“You cannot tell me that a synthesiser is better than a grand piano,” said Mr Jones.

“I have to agree with you,” said Mr X. “But you also have to agree that music sounds better on records than on digital.”

“Oh yes, I'm glad I still have my record collection,” said Mr Jones.

“Oh, I miss mine so much,” replied Mr X.

dawlish-843592_1920.jpg

The purpose of Mr Jones visit is to buy some sweets for his boy. He has lots of A’s on his report card. That means a nice treat and there is no better to go than Mr X’s Sweet Store.

“Why don't you come and have a look at my record collection?”

“Thank you Mr Jones, I would love to. Shall I bring anything?”

“Just bring yourself. Maybe you can come for Sunday lunch.”

“Thank you,” said Mr X. “I will be there.”

Mr X remembers that three men in suits were looking for Mr Jones.

“Did you get a visit from three men in black suits?”

“No,” replied Mr Jones.

“That is strange,” said Mr X. “They were a bit mysterious but had good intentions, I feel.”

Mr Jones purchased sweets for his son and they said their goodbyes. As Mr Jones was about to leave, he saw something that he couldn't quite believe.

He looked to Mr X.

“You are not going to believe this,” said an excited Mr Jones. “There is a truck and it is carrying a beautiful grand piano. I wonder where it is going.”

Mr X comes to the door. He is amazed too.

“Wow, someone up there must be listening to us.”

The next moment, a boy in a bicycle arrives at the shop and hands them a leaflet.

"Amazing," said Mr Jones. "There's a record fare in the city next month."


Part 5: Mr X Goes To The Theatre

Mr X had never been to the theatre before. Never. Cinema, yes. But never the theatre. He probably thought that he was not missing much, but now he realises how wrong he was.

Having a free ticket helped. This was part of the deal for displaying details about the show in his shop window.

For Mr X, this also means going to a city for the first time in years.

He arrived early. Very early. He wanted to see the theatre when it was empty. He had arranged a tour by the theatre manager, Mrs Wallace.

5.jpg

“Wow, this is so amazing. It is so out of time yet so very clean. Look at the ornate surroundings.”

“It really is special,” said Mrs Wallace. “I can't believe you have never been to the theatre before. There's nothing like a live show.”

Mr X realised that Mrs Wallace was right. An adaptation of an Alfred Hitchcock murder mystery. Actors in front of him. An audience gasping through the show. Then finishing to a rapturous applause. So special.

Mr X is about to leave to go home. He sees Mrs Wallace at the entrance.

“Did you enjoy yourself?”

“It was amazing,” replied Mr X. “I would love to see more.”

“I will come back to the shop this week to tell you about more shows. When would be the best time?”

*I'm there most times,” replied Mr X.

“I’ll be there,” said Mrs Wallace. “I never did catch your proper name. What shall I call you?”

Mr X Will Return

You can read Part 6 here:
Mr X And The Gift From The Men In Black

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg
Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

I hope you have enjoyed the story so far. It is much more of a challenge to write a series. You have to keep each episode interesting for someone just popping by whilst also tying up plot strands for those that are following. However, it is important to take on challenges. Therefore, I will run continue to run this story until it comes to a natural conclusion.

I also have another series about the Atlas which could see the light of day.

Thank you very much to everyone who comments on the stories. It really does help. I've even used some comments as suggestions.

Have a great rest of the day.

Images copyright free from Pixabay except Part 1 which is my own,

Sort:  

Congratulations @mr-neil! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19