Horace Goes Skiing, I Go Ice Skating (5 Minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Prompt: Ski

Down the hill we go with incredible poise and speed. It is the perfect skiing performance.

Who am I kidding? I can't ski at all. I tried it once but it did not fit with me.

Maybe because just before that, I tried ice skating for the first time. I loved it. I fell on my bum more times than I can remember, but it was fun.

A year later, I was in Plymouth, Devon, UK. I had the chance to do ice skating again. Before I went on, the rink was reserved for one girl. She was amazing. She did all the things that you see on TV.

winter-2495882_1920.jpg
(Copyright free image from Pixabay)

When she finished, the normal people can skate. What was really great is that I skated for one hour and I did not fall on my bum at all. Not one time. Zero. Nil. None.

That is an achievement.

For those that think skating is not a sport, my ankles told me otherwise the next day. Do not write off the strength of figure skaters. It is most definitely a very physical sport.

The prompt was skiing. It is not for me. Apart from a computer game on my ZX Spectrum when I was young. Even then, Horace had to cross the road before he was allowed to ski.

He kept getting run over by an ambulance.

Let's find an ice rink.

HoraceGoesSkiing.jpg


If you are looking for Episode 7 of “It Is Time For The Freewrite To End,” then here it is.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mr-neil/it-is-time-for-the-freewrite-to-end-vii-who-are-you

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner. If you want to take part in the freewrite go to the timeline of @mariannewest and enjoy the fun.

Task:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-113-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-ski

The Dubai Steemit Club

A group created by @nuridin
Click here to join the discord https://discord.gg/ZTWGYP9
flag-1208881_1920.jpg

Brits

ukbritsdiscord.png

Sort:  

Wow amazing serr

Thank you for having a look. I would love to say I took the first photo, but it was taken off Pixabay.

I used to love to ice skate. It was fun. I almost forgot about the skiing video game. That was fun! Great freewrite Thanks for sharing.

I think the game came free with the computer. :-)

Lol that is funny. I have done both and I agree, skating is way more fun. Hurts like heck when you fall on the ice, but at least you won't be buried alive in snow. Figure skaters are awesome to watch too.

Yes, they are good. It is a tough sport. I wanted to do it regularly, but it was hard to find an ice rink that was close by.

Yeah don't find too many of them unless a hockey team exists in the area, or drive well over an hour to find one.

I tried ice skating once and spent more time on my ass than standing up. I never had any trouble roller-blading, though. I tried water skiing once, I was just as good at ice skating. 😂

The Crazy Train to Freewriteville is leaving for the next prompt. Would you like a single pass or a multi pass? All aboard!

Weekend Freewrite 02/10/2018 - Single Prompt Option
And/Or
Weekend Freewrite 2/10/2018- Part 1 - The First Sentence

You have to go another time to ice skate. Once you get balance you'll be ok, hopefully.

I loved to rollerblade.. ice skating this unknown thing.. what a beautiful jump in the 80 you gave me. My first game was wonderboy and I never found that hardware, the name was VG2020 (something like that). I think they produced only the one my aunt bought for me.

I was 14 and had the rubber key ZX Spectrum. My first experience of a football manager game (as in soccer). Horace Goes Skiing came with the computer.

I used to love ice skating - and roller skating! And they are sports for sure!!!

Absolutely. :-) Very physical and requires lots of balance

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49