Five minute free write: the smell from within

in #freewrite6 years ago

My flower 18.jpg

Gonna be honest, this Five minute free write challenge was a bit of a challenge this morning.

I had to sit for several minutes thinking of what kind of theme would fit. It seemed to me conceptual vs concrete, which meant I had to stretch a bit, as I love to bring things into the physical with my writing. And, I gotta say, what I wrote ended nowhere near where I thought it would. Which is kinda of cool, and I guess the point of an exercise like this. You've got a plan, and it falls to pieces the minute it makes contact with the real world :)

This is my Five Minute Free Write for the daily Challenge hosted by @mariannewest and funded by countless amazing Steemians :) And, once again, written in The worlds most dangerous writing app with only minor corrections for spelling and tense afterwards.


I'm standing in this room and I don't know how I got here. It's sparse.

Not much in around me. Bare floor, wooden, the browns stained dark from years of use. The walls, peeling dark blue wallpaper. A chair, metal, cold, like one you'd see in an old doctors office. A table.

Yes, a table. Hard, dark, metal. Almost black, but not quite. Still, it sucks in light. And, on top of that table, a box.

Small, brown, wrapped in paper. Tied at the top with a string.

How did I get here again?

I can't seem to find an answer. Or a door. There is nothing but the table, a chair, and the box.

I step forward, hands cautiously at my sides. I have no idea what I'm supposed to do. But, I take another step forward.

I push the chair out of my way. It serves no purpose. I'm wondering what's in that small brown box. I move closer.

My hands rest at the edge of the table, wondering, should they reach out?

I do, because I want to know what's in the box. How I got there, why I'm there, I have no idea, but, this force inside tells me to look.

I pull the string, and the paper falls aside. Another, smaller box, partially open. My hands take the delicate sides and lift the top fully.

Inside, a flower, a rose. Instinctively my head tilts forward to smell it. A rose, so simple, yet so complex. We pass by them everyday, but so rarely take a moment to appreciate them.


Thank you for reading and I hope you have an awesome day! I always love to hear what people have to think, so don't be scared of commenting ;)
Michael

Similar posts
Five minute free write: Elephant
My first 5 minute free write.

Sort:  

Super engaging. It's almost peaceful too.. to read your writing.

You are like seriously my inspiration to be a better writer. Haha.

Thanks so much for sharing

Your words are rocking my world :) This free writing thing has been an interesting experience. You can't think too much about what you're writing otherwise it gets deleted, so you really have to flow. Keep writing, improvement comes with time (and unfortunately a lot of frustration). :)

Want me to resteem and give a 100% upvote just send me 0.01 steem our you post in the bio.

Awesome writing i wanted it to keep going and led us on even further

Hehe, me too. It was really hard to stop when the timer dinged. I'll be writing more stuff today if you want to stop by ;)

I will swing by 😎

Very smooth and captivating piece. You've got a talent @mikesthoughts ... well done my friend.

Thanks! Only had to write hundreds of thousands of words to discover that talent, hehe :) Glad you liked it.

Wow... you could publish several books by now... Go for it my friend :) let the world read good quality free writing.

Hehe, when I did my trip around Asia for 5 months, I blogged like every day. I think the total word count was close to 120,000. I'm using Steemit as a way to go through and organize a lot of the moments and memories I have of that time. And from other trips. Maybe someday I'll publish an anthology of posts. Not sure if I have the chops for just writing a whole book...yet :)

Very nice. I like your style of writing, it keeps me on my toes as the story gradually unfolds. It's thrilling and sharp, lovely, and the ending with a rose... So simple and yet it ended on a cliffhanger, I want to know what comes next :)

Lol, a couple people have said that. And I was wondering where it was going as well. I think when the buzzer dinged it was a good thing. To let people take the story from here wherever they might want to :) Thanks for reading!

I really enjoyed this especially the last section of the complexity of simplicity
looking forward to reading more of your work...
thealliance_battleaxe.png

Thanks for reading! I checked out some of your words, very beautiful. I look forward to more of your writing :)

thank you kindly

How very ironic, you managed to put into verse my entire experience of Steemit! Your rose like posts on Steemit, we pass them by every day but for rarely take a moment to appreciate them.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Awww, thanks :)

what a deep writing you got , but got the message like to learn to appreciate even little things 👍👏

So glad that you are writing with us.

Glad to be here :)

I really love where you went with this. And how wonderful that there is a rose in the Box. I felt the atmosphere of the man in the room all alone with a metal chair and a table. The contents of box was a total surprise! Great work!

Woohoo! I love it when people enjoy my words and are able to create meaning with them :) Thanks for stopping by and reading :)

I fully enjoyed the imagery of the story. Sorry about the typos. I use Google Voice so that my eyes can get a break from typing LOL I see my error as I come back to reply. :)

That's a super smart idea. Wish Google had an app to do all my photo editing so I could rest my eyes too. Grammar, spelling....errors happen. You still get a gold star for your comment :)

Thank you for understanding! And yes I wish there was a little more for the eyes of the old LOL!

:) I used to teach English in Japan. It's all about the message you're trying to get across, everything else is just details.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43