Five minute free write - Solitude

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

summer07trip 114.jpg

Now this one left me hesitating for a lot of reasons.

The moment I saw the prompt, like a thousand ideas sprung to mind. I've been writing a lot of fiction lately for these lovely Five minute free writes brought together by @mariannewest so today I decided to take a different tack. I know I also write a lot about my memories, but usually not under the gun of a timer, so I wanted to try that.

I lived in Japan for a bit over 6 years. I can't even tell you how many random places I visited, crazy things I did, people I met. Thanks to Steemit I finally have a chance to talk about them, get them out, let others see some of the wonder I had the opportunity to witness. You'd be surprised how little people want to hear about amazing. Some see it as bragging, others get jealous, most just don't know what to say and how to identify. Maybe it's just the people I'm around, hehe.

Before I ramble on too much, without further ado...


The heavy gusts of wind had finially died down to the occasional breeze.

The sound of thunder was in the distance, but not too far. The clouds, heavy with rain, were dropping their loads across the valley.

From where he sat, perched upon a lonely rock, everything was visible. Atop a mountain, somewhere in the middle of Kyushu island in Japan, the sun was setting. Cold, tired, his heart beat a strong rythm.

The hike had been arduous, unexpectadly long. It was just supposed to be a quick hike, but somehow it had turned into so much more. No real direction, he had just started walking, following the trail, just looking for the next cool overlook.

As the hours had worn on the path had got more severe, but the way forward more enticing than a the trip back. What was around the next bend? Was he almost at the top?

Somewhere along the line it had started to storm.

Alone, hiking on the mountain he refused to give up. His only companion the heavy breathes as he labored upwards.

Sitting at the top, it had all been worth it. It wasn't just the view. It was the accomplishment of having pushed himself further than he thought he could have gone. Having gone through a storm and trusted the weather to turn to something better.

All he had was his pack. In it, a tent, a bit of food, a sleeping bag. Tonight he would be alone, between the twin peaks of this mountain.

Time to think. Time for nature. Time to just be.


Why I chose third person I don't know.

Perhaps I wanted you to try and imagine yourself in that place. When you use 'I' I feel it can be off-putting, especially when talking about memories that you want others to experience with you. I know it sounds kind of strange, but it's just a gut feeling I have.

I think I was like 23 or 24 when I hiked up the mountain in Yufuin.

No idea why I did it. Probably just because it was there. I was on a random trip to Kyushu on summer vacation from teaching English. I was in search of hot springs and there were a ton in this area. I believe this place was just around the corner from Beppu, a town famous for just that. The day after I shot this I almost got lost on my way down the mountain, that was a crazy story in itself. And the day after the I ended up walking like 50 or 60 kilometers into the next town...gave me some horrible blisters, but I did it. So many stories to tell, hehe.

Ugh, rambling again. I hope you enjoyed my free write this morning. Travel is the spice of life :)

Similar posts
Five minute free write - wasps
Five minute free write - Fingernail
Five minute free write - scream



Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this amazing memory of the past. It is a once in the lifetime experience and to do it alone (in solitude) takes true guts!! I applaud you!!

Thanks for dropping by! I think anyone can experience moments like these. It just take a moment to forget about all the rules we set for ourselves and suddenly there we are, having the most amazing experience. Might write a post about that now...got me inspired, lol.

Follow up to my response to your comment ;) Thanks for the inspiration!

https://steemit.com/life/@mikesthoughts/forget-the-rules-live-a-little

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=five-minute-free-write-solitude


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I lived in Japan as well, Mike. Near Hiroshima. Not to fear. I would love to hear more of your tales from Nipon:)

Hiroshima! I visited there several times. My Nippon stories will slowly come out as I find the pics in my archives, hehe. I think I've got a bunch up already. Just ran across Kurama Fire Festival pics...might be tonights travel post :)

That was great @mikesthoughts I know exactly what you mean about writing about yourself, and using I.. I struggle with this too... You don't describe things as well I think, as you don't want to come across as cocky. That was a nice way to do it by using the 3rd person... As for the mountain, what a view man! There is something special about mountain tops... I get a great sense of power, calm, beauty and nobility when I reach the summit... Great freewrite

Great job friend! I love hearing your stories and experiences. So cool to live through your memories like that! Per usual, bravo!

Glad to hear you enjoy them! Got a few more to go, hehe.

beautiful photo and memories to carry you on always. Not many can say they have seen so much at your age. hugs

Not so young anymore, hehe. But, yeah, I've seen a bit. A lot more left to see as well :)

That’s a wonderful memory beautifully related.
It’s your Wednesday free write encourager here with your prompt for today:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-132-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-gardening

Already on it! Thanks :) And thanks for stopping by.

This was a surprisingly intimate piece, you really drew us into the protagonist's experience. Great read :)

I have an intimate relationship with the protagonist so it was pretty easy to write about the experience, hehe. Thanks for stopping by! :)

I used to hike all the time - just getting back into it.

Such a good thing to get back in to :) Tempted to go today, hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.54
ETH 3514.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53