Five minute free write - dream

in #freewrite6 years ago

clouds.jpg

Give a person a choice and they'll thank you.

Give them too many choices and they might get lost. That's what almost happened to me today with all the free write options. @mariannewest gives two options on Saturdays. The three part challenge, or pick your own prompt from a list. Trying to be time efficient I went for the choice. And it turned out to be anything but.

Lots of false starts, horrible 5 minute writes that went nowhere, and a bit of frustration later I finally decided to go with the prompt: DREAM. The inspiration came from an image I've wanted to show for a while, and my desire to disconnect from reality for a second. Life's been to real lately, and throwing myself into a place where anything was possible fit with my mood.

So, without further ado...


He could hardly breath the wind whipped passed him so fast. His heart beat an impossibly fast rythm as he sped upwards higher and higher into the clouds. The air was clean, crisp, and smelled of rain. A chill hit him, sneaking under his collar and down his back. Rain, not yet fallen, coated his face with fresh water. He spread his arms like a bird, hoping to control his haphazard path through the sky. Fingers stretching outwards his eyes looked forward. In the distance massive gray and black stacks seemed to reach up into infinity. He could hear the angry bass rumble of thunder and see little splashes of light here and the clouds. They beckoned to him. He could feel it in his heart. A calling. He swooped and crashed through some fluffy white, still looking into the distance. How could he get there began the thought that finished with them towering above him. Like guardians into another world they stood. The thunder now shook his body and the harsh flashes blinded him. What lay beyond this dangerous veil. Paradise? Hell?


I hope you enjoyed that.

Dreams have always been a special place for humans. I can't speak for other species, hehe. The idea that the mind is free to wander if it wills, where it will, and to create it's only realities, intrigues me. How exactly they work is still a bit of a mystery to science, which leaves a lot of space for people who enjoy creating to play around with.

As always, or pretty much always, I left the ending open. If the world within our mind is of our own creation, would we choose paradise or hell? You would think the choice is a simple one. But, we are not simple creatures. And our unconscious often has a will of it's own. Many times we'll go with the familiar vs the unknown. And, if your known is pain, well, you can imagine the consequences.

Which leads me to wonder

How can one change their predilection towards the negative if that is their daily reality? What could set them free in their dreams to live the wonders they so desire? It's a question I ask myself daily. Because if you can free yourself in your own mind, the real world should follow. Right? Things to think about :)

Thanks for dropping by and reading! Be sure to check out the Five minute free write if you like to write and have some spare time.

Similar posts
Five minute free write - Plaid
Five minute free write - The Attic
Five minute free write - Gardening



Sort:  

tenor (5).gif

That's so winning I want to upvote it...I think I will. Because I can't stop laughing...

lol, it's cute and super effing creepy,
behold the squad of alpacas, nobody knows what they are up to

The question is...would they make lots of noise...or be silent like ninjas?

Brilliant!! I agree. One can only actualize what one feeds. When one feeds darkness, darkness prevails, when one feeds light, there light falls. But what happens when we need the two in order to understand or even perceive where we are? Perception is a receiver but it also seems to be a projector as well. The paradox streams through my mind daily... especially because I tend to be pulled into the shadows more often lately. I’m starting to realize though that we need the shadows in order to see the next path... the next adventure... the next experience. It’s seems compassion for self and others remains the compass(shown). ❤️beautiful writing! 🙏🏻

Well written! Yes. The monster we feed is the one that grows. I remember seeing that in one of my favorite movies, Tomorrowland. I need a lot of those kinds of reminders. Also need to have more friends around that remind me of that. When you live in isolation the only voice you hear is the one in the back of your head.

And, we do need to know the dark to really understand the light. But that doesn't mean we should stay there long...like quicksand that darkness is...

Thanks for coming by and leaving those beautiful words :)

This was a powerful piece of dreaming and I frankly allowed myself to drift through it, enjoying the vivid descriptions. For whatever reason, I seldom recall my dreams, unless they are bad ones, which I prefer to let them be. I like your thoughts on dreaming. Dreams are restorative and needed to regenerate. I think our daily challenges have a lot to do with what we dream. Indeed the mind is powerful and in dreams unmasks many things! Good job sticking with your freewrite, you produced a good piece!

A beautifully written piece and some interesting questions which I may task myself to ponder having delivered today’s prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-136-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-belt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32