Swimming with Dolphins - FreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite7 years ago

Imgur

A freewrite is a timed writing exercise with no editing besides correcting spelling errors. A freewrite can be great - or not.

Find the prompt here

Swimming with the dolphins is something so many people are dreaming off. But I don't think the dolphins are so happy about it. Or at least, if it is a dream, it is probably a nightmare.
I lear met my first Dolphin via the television. Yup. Flipper. And flipper was super smart. Our TV watching was very restricted since we didn't have one in our house. To be able to watch a show, you first had to make friends with a kid who had a TV in the house and preferably with a parent who was not in the house.
When I grew up, most families were single income families and by default, an adult was at home.
Usually, we kids were not at home. School was out by 1. We all went home and had lunch which is the main meal of the day. Then, we had to do homework. Or if we were good in persuading the parental unit and promised to high heaven to do the homework right after coming home, we got to go out to play.
In the summer that meant often going to the pool and hanging out all day. Or playing in our garden or just on the street or sidewalk.
Not that many cars on the streets then.
In the winter that meant taking the sled and walking up to the castle and riding down all the way. So much fun.
Somehow, kids don't know cold. Now, I get cold right away. All the time.
And the ocean is cold. That is another reason that I don't want to swim with Dolphins - besides respecting their wishes to be left alone by all the silly tourists!!

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited. This is a graphic made in canva using a free image offered there.

Imgur

My recent posts

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

Weekend Free Write November 25, 2017

Bittersweet

Protect Nature

SteemUSA Potential

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

I too agree that the dolphins would be happier among themselves

I enjoyed the Flipper series too. I don't know how dolphins feel about us. I guess they tolerate us. I'm glad they aren't kept in captivity so much now. I like your freewrite.

I hope to swim with dolphins one day. Who knows maybe I'll be able to pay with Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53