Fluffy and Buffy - Freewrite Day 112

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

prompt by @the.artist-98 2.png

by @the.artist-98

This is a freewrite to this prompt

Freewrites can be wonderful and sometimes, they are not.

Fluffy and Buffy

I wished the dogs wouldn't be barking like crazy. They are so loud that I can't hear anything. I came out here because I certainly had heard something.
It sounded like someone was screaming. Loud. Loud enough to wake up the dogs.
Just wished they were big dogs. Not the little yuppy dogs they are. Why, oh why did my girlfriend need to have those little dogs. All fluff. Well, the one, she is a bit more feisty. But right now, I hate to say it, I wished I had a Shepherd with me. Something big, something which could defend me.
Something is wrong, can't shake that feeling. My skin is crawling. What is this?
Oh, rats. Running away from the light I am shining on them. What? What else do I hear?
Scream? Was that a scream?
Shut up! I call the dogs. I call louder. It makes me feel good to be loud.
But they aren't coming.
Why did they stop barking? What happened?
Come, come here. Fluffy and Buffy. Come. Come here.
I am calling and shining my light in front of me. I want to see where they are.
Nothing. Silence now.
Nothing but the wind in the trees beyond the wall.
There is a door in the wall. Maybe it was open and they ran out?
Shining my light all around me, I make my way toward the wall when my foot hits something soft. I knew, even before the stream of light hit them, that it was Fluffy and Buffy.
Now, I wished that they would bark again.

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Day 100 Results

Haturday Must Go On

100 Days Freewriting!

Hiking Cowles Mountain

Senior Buffet

To a True Friend

Home Remedies for a Cold

Freewriter Challenge

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Very well written - especially for just 5 minutes 😄 I love the open interpretation of the ending...

Thank you so much!

Ah shoot! What a gripping tale! I think this is the first freewrite I've read from you. I must say, I am quite impressed. You had me at the edge of my seat there! Reminds me of that story "Humans can lick like dogs, too". Wonderfully paced, perfectly executed. All in under five minutes!

Thank you for the compliment. It is funny (or sad). I started the whole freewrite thing because I wanted to write every day - and have been so busy with reading and responding to all the freewriters that often - I don't get to my own. But it is all good. :)

The pitfalls of being a community leader haha!

For sure. I do that all the time and try to stop myself. But I feel that community is so important and strong connections are our hope for the future...

Can't argue there. I fully agree with your sentiment!

😀 . And I am glad that you are part of the community!

Wow I didn't expect the ending! Great freewrite. Thanks for sharing.

😘 . Thank you!!

Poor Fluffy & Buffy. Did you survive? Nice story!

I didn't survive 😳 . Sadly. Look for me behind the wall

That made me very sad. Well-written!

they had a happy life up to this point 😉

Boom! That was really good, I was literally on the edge of my seat, wondering what was back there... Poor little Buffy and Fluffy! Really well written

I know! Poor little things!! at least they had a good bark before they had to go 😜

Dayyym what happened to little fluffy and buffy?! I wanna know!

Excellent story, love so much how differently everybody interprets the same prompts and images. I find it fascinating. Really nice to read a freewrite from you... had no doubt it would be of top quality material :D

I need to try a fiction piece soon and see where it takes me!

Thanks always for this amazing community.

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Thank you for being part of it!! So, I think your profile said spoken work, right? I think you need to perform some of your poems on DTube. Just use your private key to sign in there. Often, the payout there is surprisingly good and it might help you with your bandwidth problem.

Oh, and I was wondering is JR still mentoring you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62205.45
ETH 2999.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79