Where Did My Mango? Combined Freewrite And Comedy Open Mic (Week No. 24)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Deaf Or Deft?

Hey! Where's my mango?

Oh, honey. Did your husband desert you again?

No, grandma. I said mango, as in the fruit.

I know he's a brute. That's why I keep saying you should divorce him.

I'm not talking about Clem, grandma. I'm talking about my mango.

Well, all I know is, if I see that two-bit, two-timing husband of yours, I'll...

Two-timing? What do you mean?

Oh, dearie. Don't you know? Clem's been seeing Art's little sister, Mabel.

What? That's impossible!

I'm afraid so, darling. Now, if you want that man to stop, you better confront him now!

Oh, just wait until I give him a piece of my mind!

He's probably going to act surprised. Don't let him off the hook.

Oh, don't worry. He's going to get what's coming to him!

Don't be too hard on him. Okay, bye-bye. Now, let me see. Where did I put her mango?

mango-759217_1280.png
Image source—Pixabay

divider_victorian_thinned.png

About This Post

This Post Combines Today's Freewrite Prompt—mango—with an entry for the Comedy Open Mic Week No. 24 Contest.

Sort:  

Are you sure you didn't just come from reading my mango freewrite? Oh well you are smarter than me and made an open mic entry out of yours. Wish I would have thought of that idea.

Considering I just read it three minutes ago, no, but I can see why now you would say that! Great minds think a like.

It's been interesting where the mind goes (mindgo?) when you're coming up with an idea that you can than write in five minutes. I definitely need to improve my typing, because it's bad normally, but it seems to get worse on a timer. :)
I'd been meaning to do a comedy open mic post, too, and I figured, as long as I wasn't breaking another rule by doing it, that I might as well try for a twofer. It's always nice when content can be used for more than one purpose.

However, the problem becomes making something funny. It should just be funny, so there's some forcing going on, in my opinion. Anyway, I've just recently started doing the comedy open mic, too, but they're at the end of their 24 weeks they promised, so I'm not sure what's happening after this.

Yeah I knew I liked you for some reason.

Great minds think a like

I think the timer is there to add pressure, sure to make the fingers fumble.
Wish I would have thought of that twofer thing.
I bet the comedy will go on it seems to be a big success. I saw someone in their discord saying they just got another sponsorship from curie. They would be nuts to stop now, but then they are nuts.

Well, that's good. Things that get participation and drive engagement should continue.

Aside from some sexual innuendo stuff I don't need to read, it seems to be fairly humorous. Straight up comedy writing is the hardest for me, though. Plus, my humor doesn't always line up with others, so what I think is funny, most won't. It's an eye of the beholder thing.

For sure. I have already accused them of trying to corrupt all the participants. I guess humor is pretty subjective. You are pretty funny sometimes. That is probably why I started lurking about to start with.

Well, the humor generally comes out throughout the course of a conversation, rather than intentionally happening. Spontaneous over planned. And in the moment kind of thing. The way that works, though, it's basically only good for that moment. It won't have a shelf-life.

I suppose it's like anything. The more you set your mind off in that direction, the more likely you'll start seeing and thinking about things in that light.

re: corrupt

I know, we have to have our 'freedom of speech' or our 'uncensored' speech here. Funny how it's usually F-bombs and sex related, rather than saying things that people don't like or agree with. Those get flagged. :)

That is one of the few things I dislike here is the bully aspect. If you look at it closely those with the highest rep/sp really do control the platform.
I just avoid swimming in that side of the pond. Try to not interact much in those circles.
But in all reality it is not freedom of speech at all. It is he with the most $ to buy stake rules the ocean.

rather than saying things that people don't like or agree with. Those get flagged

yeah, and so the most common reply to that is, it's still on the blockchain, so it's not censorship. And generally, the posts are greyed out, so you know they're there, which actually tends to make me more curious what happened, so I end up reading them anyway. The problem becomes, though, doing anything with them, because you end up guilty by association.

This whole deal where you can post and it will only come up greyed out automatically because your Rep is negative is okay for the true spammers, but when it happens to people who got on the wrong side of a higher rep account, for whatever reasons, it's absolutely a misuse of the flag.

It is true. Might makes right on this platform. For something that's suppose to elevate us, it basically runs the same as the outside world. I try to avoid it too, but sometimes it comes looking for me. And really, there is some higher SP out there that you do want to associate with. It's just navigating through the mine-filled waters to get to them that can be a royal pain.

Hi glenalbrethsen,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating, this will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied.

Judges:

If you have any questions or quieries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Well, alright. Thank you kindly for any consideration. It's a fun thing to do here and there, so I hope this contest can continue on.

Nice poem @glenalbrethsen . If you love mangoes as in the fruits than You must visit south Asia, Pakistan or India specifically. Best mangoes in the whole wide world :D

I do like mangoes. I've had some pretty good ones in Mexico, too. I'm far more likely to get down there, since that's where my wife is from, but if I somehow do end up in any one of those places, I will definitely eat some, along with whatever other great food I can get my hands on. :)

Food in south asia is very good and famous. And I told you about mangoes because those are world famous. Mexico could be good with mangoes but I haven't tried yet. Here in the UAE we get to have famous fruits and vegetables from all around the world, may be I have missed the Mexican mangoes

It could be they just don't import them because they can bring them in from somewhere closer. That's generally how things work, based on logistics and price. At any rate, I think the mango is native to the southern asia area anyway. A lot of what will grow elsewhere ends up there at some point, but the soil and cultivation practices can be different enough to provide different variations of flavor, size, juiciness, etc.

That's right, this is why we see kiwi of Newzealand or apples of US in the markets of UAE. Mangoes and oranges are mostly imported from Pakistan or India.
We call mango the king of all fruits, is it called the same in your part of the world?

No, not really. I've heard the term before, though, and I understand why. It's definitely among the tastiest fruits in my opinion.

It certainly is , sad about the fact that it's only available in summer unlike some of other fruits which are available 365

What was that you were saying about tango?

do the fandango

Hey, @profanereviews. I'm not sure what you mean about tango. Funny thing, though, for a while, it was part of a heading I had at the top of the post, but I changed it because the post content changed. I did that before publishing so it's kind of creepy you're even asking. :)

Yeah, so I was afraid of that. I definitely know yours is going over mine. But that's pretty normal. :)

Lol. I was just making a hard of hearing joke using mango. I have a lot of trouble with having to explain my jokes which may mean I have to work on them.

In my head I was laughing though.

Oh, wow! Okay. Whew. That really should have been obvious. :) My only excuse is I had, "Two To Tango, One To Mango" as the heading, and then dropped it when the content went another way. So, you asked the question and I thought, "Hunh? How did they know?!" :)

Your joke deserves far better than what I gave it. :)

What was that you were saying about tango?

What's in my mango? Nothing's in my mango.

What? I don't even like the movie Rango.

Better than Django.

Oh, come on. You don't play the banjo.

That's what I said. Where did your man go?

Yayyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the mango is look like an apple :-| why! i have a problem in my eyes? or my mind changes the shape of it ! :|

Hey @aarif! Sorry the image is bending your brain. :) I know it looks more like a mango than an apple to me. There is that extra piece cut out in front of it that might distort the picture a little. Might not heart to get your eyes checked, though. :) Just kidding. It's got to be some kind of optical illusion.

Good job brother! Pretty funny!

Hey, @johndoer123! What's up?

Thanks for saying so. Trying to be funny, which is what I did here, seems to be different than being funny, which is what I should be. At any rate, I appreciate the kind words. :)

I just posted one for COM. It was actually my son's idea really. I hope everyone likes it. 😁

Sucks to be Clem right now.

The picture painted in this poem on Mango
Would make proud - the famous painter Van Gogh.

Boom I win.
Psst make 2 nominations

Hey, @sharanaithal.

How absolutely necessary is it to nominate two people to be a part of this contest? I know there are folks who don't mind participating in things like this, and others that do. I, unfortunately, don't know who is who. Rather than mentioning them and thus pinging them needlessly, can I just open it up for whoever wants to do it? That's what I normally do with any contest. I'm mentioning your fellow judge, @anouk.nox, to loop them in because they told me the same thing. :)

Feel free to use my name anytime. I may not always do it will make your entry qualify. I'm off to see what you did with pitiful. That word didn't inspire me at all.

I struggle with that kind of a prerequisite. Obviously, they want more people to know about them and the contest, and we each know people who might not even be aware of it. It's okay when people put my name in—I'll do it if I can—it's just not my favorite thing in the world. I feel like I fair better when I'm doing it completely on my own rather than being nominated for something. There's a pressure to produce or something. So, I'd rather not do it to others, especially if contests are something they dislike doing.

I appreciate your volunteering. I'll think about it. I haven't checked the few other replies I have but I haven't seen their answer yet.

I think I have one more of your replies to go look at so maybe that's the one where you react to what I did. That one was actually a little less forced, and probably should be the comedy open mic entry. :)

I kind of agree with you on the whole nomination thing. I actually found it very hard to be funny when doing it deliberately. For some reason funny either comes or doesn't. For me at least I never know I am going to be joking till the words decide where they want to go.

I never promised I would do it. Just you can throw my name in if you need one to qualify for a win.

hahaha - where did the mango? too funny 😂

So nice to see you among the Freewriters!!

Well, I'm giving it a try. Not sure if trying to kill two birds with one stone was the best of ideas, but anyway. I'm gaining a quick appreciation for what all of you writers have been doing with this five minute limit. Mostly what I've learned is I'm incredibly slow. :)

Haha, go Gran...
Peace.

Oh, good old grandma. They can be sneaky people, if you're not watching. Especially, it seems, when something delicious to eat is at stake. They'll play all kinds of mind games with you. :)

Yes, they let you think what you want to think, while they do what they do :P
Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55