5 min Writing Prompt "cigarettes" #freewrite serial Chapter Seventeen

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

cigarettesA.jpg

If he thinks that the Polly the parrot's response to him is harsh, that's nothing compared to Captain Jerry.

The man stares him in the eye with all the murderous intent of a starving wolf. "Let me tell you something mister. If you ever insult my parrot like that again, I'll break both of your arms and throw you overboard to drown. You got me?"

This statement almost makes him reel. He steps back and brings up his hands in a supplicating gesture. "Hey, I'm sorry. It's just an expression that came out."

"An expression?" Polly squawks, flapping his wings against the Captain's shoulder. "Are you telling me you don't have a fucking cracker for me?"

They both stare at him expectantly. He shrugs his shoulders.

"Sorry. I don't."

With a sound of disgust the captain turns away from him and begins to tramp up the gangway stairs.

"Come on. Lets get this fool situated so we can be underway."

He follows hesitantly. As they walk the parrot glares back at him.

"Do you at least have some fucking cigarettes for me, shit for brains?"

"No."

The parrot laughs with disdain.

They lead him to the upper seating section, a large cold room covered with long benches. The captain points at a bench and without another word stalks out of the room.

He sits down on the bench, alone in the darkness.




Seventeenth chapter in an ongoing serial based on @mariannewest's daily #freewrite writing prompts. Here are the previous chapters listed below:

Chapter One>Chapter Two
Chapter Three>Chapter Four
Chapter Five>Chapter Six
Chapter Seven>Chapter Eight
Chapter Nine>Chapter Ten
Chapter Eleven>Chapter Twelve
Chapter Thirteen>Chapter Fourteen
Chapter Fifteen>Chapter Sixteen



And here is Chapter Eighteen.


Written in five minutes from the writing prompt, "cigarettes" as part of the #freewrite exercise. Image is also by me. You can view the prompt here and check out the other entries; each one with a smooth taste and gentle pull that leaves you feeling energized. Thanks to @mariannewest for creating and running this pack a day writing challenge.

CONTEST ANNOUNCEMENT

I've just began a Writing Contest here on Steemit, called Write FROM my Music. There's SBD to be won, and I'll think you'll find the concept to be a lot of fun. Please check it out and give it a try! I'd love to read what you come up with.

Sort:  

That dang chainsmoking parrot!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65