David, the Duck - a Five Minute Freewrite (Day 76)

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

duck-1969647_1280.jpg

David The Duck

It wasn’t the softness of the babies, the sort you could almost feel from a distance, that made her beg Mother to please pull over. It was the little one at the very back of the small line. The way his tiny head hung down low as if he were afraid to look at all the brightness.

Mother duck did not stop. Maybe that’s what made Sam want to. Mother slammed the door loudly enough to spook the dozen or so ducks, all but the last one. He looked too lost to pay attention to the loud humans gaining on him.

She crouched low behind him, just watching but he did not stop, didn’t look at her, his tufty soft head still down. She closed her eyes and inhaled the smell of it, the too early Spring, then looked about at all the too bright flowers. The little baby duck had turned and was staring at her, his eyes shiny black buttons in a pale face.

“Don’t you touch it!” Her mother’s voice held a hard edge, the way she knew would get her in trouble if she’d said anything. But she so badly wanted to touch him. She’d somehow assumed it was a him when she first saw the way he looked down all the time, the reluctance at just going along with everybody. The way her father seemed to. Silent and still on all the days her mother used that voice on him. Until she couldn’t reach him anymore.

David. She’d decided then. She’d call him David, like her father.

And so she did.

img credit pixabay

This is a five minute freewrite thingie started (and generously run by) @mariannewest. The prompt for today was Ducks (obviously). Here is a link to that post: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-76-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-ducks

Interested in a relaxed place to kick back and chill with other writers and creative types? Check out The Isle of Write by clicking below!

DQmf7W8qUt87tJE5aFxHcej63JzNwU3gwFWLweReVCfpufg_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Oh as usual this was beautiful and agonizing at the same time. I think you may be my sister from another mister, only you got the romance gene. Everything miserable and unhappy that I would splatter with gore, you splatter with my tears :)

Beautifully done :)

Hubby keeps telling me I ought to try for gore and such if only for diversity’s sake :-)
Thank you, love. For reading me, tears and all.

Eh, sometimes that's overrated. You write your heart and it's clear on the page. You have a truly beautiful and evocative narrative voice.

If it ain't broke and all that ;)

Two pieces in one day! And a lovely story this one.
Oh, and welcome to freewrite!

Thank you for reading! Much appreciated :-)

Hauntingly beautiful. You did a fantastic thing with so few words. Beautiful.

Thank you so much....

What a cute story, great job. Congrats on your first 5 minute story. I never thought I would enjoy writing but this 5 minute thing is kinda fun.

your stories are captivating. I'm in awe of how you can create characters that the reader can so deeply connect to (especially in a simple 5min #freewrite). Thank you for sharing and I'm excited to read more of your work.


I'd love if you checked out my "Ducks" #freewrite and let me know what you think =)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/freewritechallenge-day-76-ducks

Thanks @mkkenny13 and will do :-)

This is beautiful!!! wow! You can do that in a freewrite! So glad you are writing with us!

Thank you! Glad to be writing again....

Loved your writing keep it up you made me go into different state ....keep steeming !!

Wel, that makes me happy. Thank you!

nice post. I like story this one
please follow me back and vote my post

I don't really do follows for follows, just not a thing with me.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @authorofthings to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45