#FreeWriteChallenge (Day 76 - Ducks)

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

It's raining
storming
the trees are blowing
the current is rising
there isn't an animal in sight
except for three lowly ducks
pacing themselves through the storm
lighting striking
ambulance sirens blaring
wading through the pond
unfazed by the storm
calm
peaceful
serene
amongst utter terror
three lowly ducks brazing the elements
the wind subsides
the water stills
and still the ducks wade onward
unfazed by the change in scenery
why can't i be like those ducks
why cant i just wade through the turmoil
im thinking again
this is a challenge where you're not supposed to think
so instead i write
i write and continue to do so like those ducks wading across the water
unfazed by the elements
unfazed by my thoughts
letting my fingers do the thinking for my mind
leaving the baggage behind
unencumbered by the weight of thoughts clouding my judgement
letting myself just write
or type
im thinking again
my time is almost up so what else will i say
what else will i do
where will i go
what will happen next
im not sure
but ill be like those three lowly ducks
wading through the storm
calm
peaceful
serene
it's easier now
i can feel the flow rising up within me
im thinking again
im thinking again
just write matt come on just write
it's almost over
the storm has almost passed
i can see the sun peaking from behind the clouds


ducks.jpg
(Photo by Roksolana Zasiadko on Unsplash)


This post is in response to the daily #freewrite challenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's prompt is "Ducks". If you're curious about the #freewrite challenge, check out the introduction post here.

Sort:  

This trip within your mind was interesting Matt.. If only we could be in peace with the world like those ducks in certain moments of our life! You respected the true meaning of a freewrite, well done!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mkkenny13 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I will for sure check out the #freewrite I like the concept. Also great free write my friend.

Thanks @mylittleblurbs! I'll be on the lookout for your #freewrite posts!

Just did it earlier today, it was very enjoyable.

Very freewrite much glad

Thanks for checking it out @improv! I just posted my latest #freewrite (Day 77 - "Thoughts"). Let me know what you think =)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/freewritechallenge-day-77-thoughts

I will! Gotta write my own for today, still, too!

I'll be on the lookout for it!

I know right, it seems like for every situation those fuzzy little creatures know just what to do, they simply continue to duck.

Whooo! This was awesome. So different, such a nice flow of words and thoughts, but always relating to the prompt. Amazing job!

Thanks so much @byn for reading! I'm challenging myself to post a new #freewrite everyday! It forces me outside of my creative comfort zone and it's a lot of fun to see what my mind will come up with! I definitely encourage you to try a #freewrite of your own =)


I just posted my latest #freewrite (Day 77 - "Thoughts") and would love if you gave it a read. Let me know what you think!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/freewritechallenge-day-77-thoughts

So the thoughts are the tempest, the stormy waters, something to brave through? Interesting, Matt. Nice juxtaposition here....

Yes at times they can be! Thanks for the comment @authorofthings =)

I love it!! so glad you decided to write with us. duck on :)

Thanks @mariannewest! I'm glad to be a part of the #freewrite community =)

I am glad you are too. And a community it is!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46