Gg Kk 5: the smell withinsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

After the sound died down and I assumed the Flingellans had left, I waited two days in that pitcher plant. I don't know why I waited so long. I guess I just had bookkeeping things to do yesterday, and didn't get around to getting out.

My friends, I do not recommend staying two days in a pitcher plant. Pitcher plants are uncomfortable at the best of times, but after a few days the enzymes that line the walls are bound to get onto your skin, at least partially. The enzymes usually digest insects and small hapless rodents that fall into the bottom, but they are indiscriminate. Eventually they will digest you.

I had to get out. The pain wasn't so bad; mostly I think I was anæsthetised. But the smell. I could smell something rotting. I had to get out.

I stood up and took a step. It was quite a bit easier to get out of a pitcher plant than I expected. I suppose I am demonstrably taller than the usual prey, which helped. I walked over to the pitcher plant that Gg Kk had been in, and checked on it.

"Hullo," I knocked on the exterior wall.

"Oh, hello Mm Bap. How are you feeling?"

"Fine. Can you walk?"

"I hope so. Let's try."


This is a five-minute freewrite based on the prompt the smell from within.
It is a continuation; previous instalments can be found at part 1, part 2, part 3 and part 4.


In other news, I have just started a choose-your-own adventure where the character's actions are chosen by you, the readers and commenters. If you think this is an interesting idea, please check it out at A Computer-based Interactive Fiction For You and Your Friends.

Sort:  

Nice post. Thanks if you want to visit back my blog. @auliasiddiq

Ooh, I can't wait to read more. :-) Hopefully the story will continue soon!

That was fun! I'm unable to read all parts now, but I'm going to follow so I can read them later!

makes perfect sense that he had accounting to do in the pitcher plant. That happens to me every time and I can attest that it gets slimy in there.

You should see some of the angry emails he sent from inside the pitcher plant to his old employer who are trying to fleece money from him…

We all know that the perfect place for bookkeeping is a pitcher plant!

This is one of a kind, surreal and original.. continue it please!

I was sleeping in my cosy and red velvet upholstered coffin, down in the basement of the Old Steemian Home, when Marianne West knocked on the lacquered cover and whispered to me today’s prompt delicacies!
Option 1 Single prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-3-2018-single-prompt-option
Option 2, weekend freewrite in three parts:
https://steemit.com/weekendfreewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-3-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-3-2018-prompt-2-the-interference
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/the-weekend-freewrite-2-3-2018-part-3-the-dramatic-twist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77