My Father the Antique Dealer | 5 Minute Freewrite, Day 109

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I grew up at a yard sale.

YardSale.jpg
source

As far back as I can remember, my father was an 'antique dealer.' That was the profession I knew. He had a seemingly infinite inventory of trinkets, old artifacts, junk, and all manners of items in-between. On Friday and Saturday mornings he'd awake before the sun, grab his newspaper that he'd circled excessively the night before, and begin his hunt.

He'd visit yard sales, garage sales, estate sales, sidewalk sales, and occasionally the weekend flea market if he could arrive early enough. Then, on Monday morning, he'd drive hours to the largest morning flea market in Florida so he could buy and sell before the sun came up.

Sometimes, I'd go with him. These are the brightest memories of my childhood with my father.

my dad was featured on this board game. he is the man in the top right corner photo source

My father was the man that rolled into the flea market, his truck piled-high with stacks of beer flats (flat boxes that house beer deliveries) full of trinkets. Some boxes had names on them for certain other dealers. People would follow my father's car to his purchased space. He'd set-up cheap card tables and arrange the boxes out like a street-peddler. It would be a free-for-all for a half hour, maybe a whole hour if it were a busy morning.

Always cash, always fast. Watches, statues, dishes, jewelry, coins, weapons, cultural tchotchkes, tools, paper. Paper was my father's favorite. Old postcards, postage, love letters from the civil war. He may not have been much of a reader but he adored old mail.

hotels.jpg
he loved to collect old florida postcards especially source

When I grew up, I learned that my father had lived his dream. So many wait until the end of their lives to retire and pursue their hobbies but my father made a living - an inconsistent wealth - from his passion for history for most of my life. He inspired me to become an entrepreneur and to never put my dreams on hold for security.

He taught me that if I could dream it, I could do it.

286949_10150265675399886_3186705_o.jpg
My father at his antique store, McNeal Antiques, which he purchased from his best friend and ran until he passed away in 2015. This was his dream and he lived it to the fullest.


FREEWRITE-banner.jpg




Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png

Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

teamgirlpowa.jpg

DQmf7Q3iNuSZaRMS3fM865RiF75fQH8xYqbHfVRpNq5sDDg_1680x8400.png
banner by @bearone

ladies-of-steemit-banner-rounded.png

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this #freewrite! This was a lovely post commemorating your father's passion. I'm sure that he is very proud of your for following your own dreams


I decided to take a crack at today's prompt using The Most Dangerous Writing App. It was a bit terrifying to think I could lose my work at any moment but it really kept me in the spirit of the #freewrite! Anyways, here's my post! Let me know in the comments what you think =)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-109-yard-sale

It's incredible to live your dream. Good for him. Yard Sales & thirft shops was how I started my first online business as an ebay super seller in 2002. I was 22 and I've never looked back. I've only worked for other people for 1 year since then.

That’s awesome! My dad was on eBay the year it came online. He made a living for a very long time selling on eBay and I ended up running more than one eBay store for him through his history. You and @brandyb have such an independent and inspiring life!

I still love those little flea markets and garage sales. What nice memories you have of the two of you! Thanks for sharing

I miss my dad too but it is memories like these that one looks back at, to rekindle the happiness of those times.

I love postcards too, though I never collected them - on hindsight, I should have kept some of them.

@maxhabit there are still so many out there to find and enjoy. I love thumbing through them at antique stores. They are unique windows into the past.

Awww. Lovely post about your father. Love how you brought it around into an inspiration for us all to follow our dreams. I imagine you picked up some amazing knowledge from him as he sold and collected :)

@mikesthoughts you’re spot on! I learned so much about history, tools, textiles, design, art. I’ll often find I’m able to still identify obscure historical facts and eta-specific pieces years after I’ve done anything with antiques.

I can also say confidently that historical fiction + nonfiction are still my favorite reads!

Hehe, it's fun to know people like that. Those who are deep into history. Never been my thing, but some of my family is. More of a philosophy/art kinda guy. Y'all always have something interesting to say about stuff :)

You really had a fun filled childhood @ameliabarlett. Lots of childhood memory.

Quite unfortunate he is no longer with you. He must have been a great dad.

@emjoe thank you for the kind words. While he was a flawed man and a flawed Dad, he was full of love and taught me a great deal about life and street smarts that’s helped me become the independent woman I am today!

We all are flawed dear, I am happy you remember him for his good.
I will love to see more antique from you

What a lovely, lovely tribute to your dad. Glad I stumbled on this today. Thank you for sharing a slice of your life. And your love for him shines so beautifully through this.

Thank you, @authorofthings. I have struggled with his death and our tumultuous relationship but I have learned to love all of him, the good parts and the not-so-good, equally.

Lovely memories of your father, sorry to hear he has passed - he was obviously an amazing person and a loving dad.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

It's nice to meet you Amelia! We're so glad that you joined to write with us. Your dad sounds like an amazing person, and so do you! I could just picture him going from garage sale the garage sale and collecting all the items that he did. I'm so glad he got to do the things that he enjoyed before he passed. I am sorry for your loss. ;(

thank you so much for sharing this memory of your dad with us!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36