You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To The Talented New Writers - Don't Write for The Money! - 'The Game' and my Final Advice

in #freedom7 years ago

Exactly. That's exactly what happened to me. I put my all effort into writing well. My intro pops for over 40 bucks. Then I have a travel report pop for like 60, then another for like 40. Then nothing since then. I've been banging my head against a wall. Getting whacked out and even jealous of you and others like I admitted recently. Now I don't give two shits.

I'm not wasting my time or effort into writing on here anymore. Hours promoting myself, looking and commenting on other peoples writings I don't even care about, in my hotel room in Thailand when I should be out having fun. No wonder I was getting depressed and frustrated over this thing.

Thank god I'm financially secure it doesn't even matter. I'm going to stay on here but with a whole new give-a-shit attitude. I'm only going to do what I enjoy on here, nothing more. Besides a little socializing with people like you. I enjoy writing my travel tips, answering travel questions via video, and walking around taking photos and putting them up for people to see. Suddenly that looks like it's going to pay me better and take one tenth the time. Did you see my street art post?

To think I'm going to stay in my room all day write, promote, and do SEO when I have a life to live. No thank you! Maybe for 60 dollars a post, like I was led to believe was in the bag two month's ago. Take a look at my last month's of earning. That's like 20 cents an hour I worked for last month. F that!

Nice post by the way.

-Dan

Sort:  

I'm sorry that I was not pretty clear to you last time. I wanted to wait for a moment to write all about this, but I guess I cannot keep the new writers and the rest completely delusional. We earned some money but guess what, it was friendless and unreal. Thank you very much, we couldn't complain more. But here we are, abandoned now...But thanks to those who remained, and who keep supporting and reading my content!

You can read @wakeupsheeps comment above, he's from last year's batch. It is true when he said, there's a watchtower. Or maybe even worst- who knows? You'll never know what people can do with all that money

So just write and enjoy, I have 10 cents for your posts sometimes, but not all the time. I have followers I have been supporting back as well. But just keep sharing your travel experiences because some of your readers really enjoy it.

I have a decent background in finance. The problem on this platform is that it's just like a third world country. There is very little middle class. You have very few whales worth 100's of thousands of dollars in steem, even millions I've seen a couple people. Then you have proportionately to all the steemit accounts a small amount of dolphins (your middle/upper middle class). This is the class the separates a first world country from a third-world country.

The bigger the middle class the healthier the country, economically speaking. This is the reason the US became the world's first super power, besides other reasons it had the worlds first large middle class. Where everyone got a piece of the pie. Here on steemit. It's way off kilter. Compared to all the pond scum and minnows, the middle and up class of dolphins and whales is like like the 2% of Cambodians that have money. Everyone else is barely scraping by. I'd do a post about it. But I don't feel like wasting my time. Feel free to run with that on your own post if you'd like.

I don't wanna ramble further or people will mute me haha. I hope this will be my last post about steemit. The talented new writers will not get to read this, but they will continue living up to the illusion fed to them. Yeah this is the same economy. Now I have my own wealth here - my content and a little bit of money. I'll keep writing and just engage with my followers, I don't care anymore about the other issues here on steemit. :)

Perfect analysis and the minnows here are from the third-world anyway, spamming, begging, asking to be followed, looking for ways to quick-rich. Now people from the first-world get to feel how the economy in the third-world is like lol.

Like always. Well put. I was thinking you may be the right person to organize a pond scum and minnow revolution. Imagine all the thousands of non dolphin or whale steemit members just start selling their steem and not be active on here for a full week. That would shake things up and hit the whales in the pocket book in a hurry. Was pondering that over a bowl of Pork fri rice! lol

That's why there's now all this 2SBD for resteem, sending 0.001 for comment, voting bots, all made up to sustain the economy and to keep us down here haha. Some people will keep us down here actually.

Minnow revolution lol. They don't like negative people, it's like holy grail here lol. Some kind of cult here or something.

Yeah I get negative and wonder why I'm on here. But I must admit I do enjoy it on some strange level. I just need to walk away from this thing, when I start feeling like I'm wasting my time and not enjoying myself.

Extremely salient analysis!

I don't post for money, I seek the real wealth of good company, and the criticism necessary to gain an ever keener insight.

I don't even think I am writing better, but I am not enjoying it less =p

I believe that your new strategy will be far more rewarding to you than mere lucre. YMMV, but, since I didn't come here for the money, I am not all that disappointed about my personal earnings.

I am, however, concerned about exactly your comment: how the financial manipulation is affecting the community I came for.

Fortunately, Steemit is in beta, and open source, MIT license. There will be forks. Indeed, Calibrae is being undertaken at this moment. Now that the ketchup packet has been stomped on, the ketchup cannot be stuffed back in the packet.

Well said. And I came for the money but I'm staying for the community! they got me! lol

Here's a much better written post of my third world steemit analogy you may get a kick out of.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@world-travel-pro/is-steemit-run-like-a-third-world-country

Holy crap that comment was awesome: 3rd world, no middle class. That sums up this place exactly. I'm hoping that communities like the Minnow Support Project help minnows become dolphins and the middle class grows.

Yeah that was hitting the nail on the head wasn't it. In fact I couldn't get my own concept out of my head. So I did a much better written post on it. If you want a chuckle here it is.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@world-travel-pro/is-steemit-run-like-a-third-world-country

I didn't realise how top-heavy this place is. Take a look at the distribution graph on SteemWales.com. It looks like a lot of work needed to grow the green minnow and yellow dolphin slices of that pie.
For now, the only thing keeping minnows here is that either their local economies are so cheap tiny rewards are decent, or they stay for the community. And, steemit's community features are not brilliant.

Wow that's worse than I even thought. The top 50 whales or what have you should really put like a couple million dollars into hiring a huge curating team, that actually rewards good content consistently.

The key word is 'consistently' hehe.

So we post consistently but the earnings are not. Gooooo Steemit! lol

I just put up a bunch of photo posts. One popped for a whole 1.80 cause a small dolphin gave me a vote. haha all others have more up-votes but are like 15 cents earnings. What happened with you? That whale @liberanthe or whatever his name is stopped resteeming your stuff?

@world-travel-pro

Yeah maybe because my posts become too boring lol. My life is too uninteresting. I'm gonna check out your posts soon!

BTW I came across this interesting project, 'everyone' seems to be opting in lol.

The Alternative?

Maybe this is a better world? The world we currently live in is only for some people? lol. If they continue acting like this, they'll lose their writers, investors etc. I don't know really know. I'm just here sharing my travel stories, up to all of you if it's worth some cents lol.

The big guys were powering down and transferring big money to their account, for what? Maybe to help the staff/ developers/ to solve the ever growing database of steemit. Who knows??? The believers are the only ones not powering down. Interesting!

But let's wait and see. :)

There are so many hungry minnow mouths on here. I'm thinking straight talk socializing on here and taking the time to do it is the only option if you want to earn, and taking the extra time to do so.

I was told before I even started blogging. Is that if you build it they will come. We'll I'm building and they are coming. I have 99% minnows feeding me penny up-votes. I get it they are people, but I want to earn.

Maybe I should have anticipated that and not even started. I'm not one to kiss ass and beg for attention. But I'm feeling you kind of have to if you want to actually earn on this platform. I feel very strange about it. Thanks for your insights and kind words. I'll have a peak at that link you sent me.

On a further note. I see people like @magicmonk earning on average $30-50 a post no matter what quality work he puts up. But he's basically with the in crowd that's worth like 50k or more in steem. He'll get like 15 up-votes and it will be like 40 bucks. I'm sure he's not the only one like that.

All my voters can barely rub two steemit nickles together! Waaaaaa lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66709.93
ETH 3505.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71