NOTE: New information changes everything. Do not vote on the other post.Announcing the Steem-based IPO of Calibrae. UPDATE: see new post that uses vote countssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #calibrae7 years ago (edited)

I have realised through a new idea that I have, that there is no need to filter user signups, one way or another.

There is another, more difficult puzzle now to solve. How to stop an explosion of new accounts.

The simplest way is freemium method. Given enough time, a user can earn enough stake to lift the limits. The primary limit has to be they can't have stake delegated. In fact, this may really mean, that stake delegation should not exist.

I am thinking through this, and I will have a definitive answer in the next day. I will be posting as @calibrae about Calibrae from now on, and I will not be posting, or voting, as l0k1 or elfspice anymore.


Please click here to go to the new calls for expression of interest post, where you just vote to indicate interest.


I

 

am announcing the Initial Public Offering for the Genesis Blocks of Calibrae. Comment in this thread to have your Steem Balance copied and converted to it's equivalent as JUICE and Stake on the new chain, which will be under your control, via your current password, when it goes live.

Make sure, if you comment and want to be added (and if you are a known preminer, or look like you might be, based on your balance, you will be deleted from the list) that you put aside your username and password as valid last night, somewhere safe, for when the network goes live.

Note that simply opting in by saying so in a comment here is no guarantee you get your account copied into the new chain.

Every opt-in account will be verified to make sure it cannot be easily connected to a preminer account. If you have a big balance, basically, you will be investigated.

If you want in, you can also help get the initial membership grow faster by resteeming this post


To explain how your initial balance will be calculated, it goes like this:

  1. All Steem tokens are based on a primary token called VESTS. Steem and SBD have a momentary exchange rate to VESTS, that can be determined based on the current state of Witness price feed configurations related to the current Steem exchange rate. This will be frozen as of some time last night, at the point my node has synced to. Later on, I will make this snapshot available along with the script I will be using to extract all the user logins and account balances, so anyone can also verify that the calculations are faithful and correct.

  2. All Steem in accounts that will go across to the new chain, will be converted to their underlying VESTS, at the block that this snapshot has encoded in it, and the new version of VESTS is called JUICE.

  3. All SBD in accounts that will go across to the new chain, will likewise be converted to their underlying VESTS, and this balance will be added to you account balance of Juice.

  4. All Steem Power in your account, will be also converted to its underlying VESTS balance, and this will become your Stake balance in the new system, and this balance you will be able to draw down by the new Stake withdrawal rule of 1% of remaining balance per day, paid out at the time you set the draw-down.

  5. To repeat, make sure you save your password that was current as of last night, as you will need this to access your new account, when it goes live.

  6. Your reputation score will also be migrated to the new chain, as will all other accessory data. Your original account signup date will also be added. (note that I will be merging my accounts l0k1 and elfspice together in their totals into a new account loki, and the largest reputation of the two will be my total, even though I have earned some amount more as elfspice). Note also that reputation scores, in Calibrae, will be scaled based on the highest reputation account, and their proportion of this will limit your stake in its voting power. If your reputation has been abused by preminer accounts, we can discuss resetting it to the default initial value, or what it was before the attack.

I have got a bit sick of the people who seem to think that it is a productive use of my time, to listen to nonsense about how we can "work within the system". If that was gonna work, don't you think after a year of people fighting this, that if that was an effective strategy, we'd still be here lamenting what an injustice this all is?

So, if you want in, make it known in the comments.


Your balance as at last night will be migrated to in the genesis blocks, and your login will be the same as it was last night.

I don't see any reason why to continue trying to fight against an incredibly corrupt, and corrupted system, nor, to have this system weakened by people who come in, at the beginning, with their asses spiked on the fence. You are in, or you are out.

We can at least then have better discussions without these wishy-washy people, about what we want to do.

I know there is gonna be more than enough people to run the network, as per the specs it runs with now, with the consensus rule changes I have proposed.

It does not matter if we are not legion. We just need to be tight, and strong. If we are right, then the people who come to sign up after we get this running, will be probably worth having onboard.

Why not an ICO?


Because until it's live, it would be illegal to do this without registering Calibrae Stake as a Security with the Securities Exchange Commission for users in the USA. I am not based in the USA and I do not represent any legal entity in the USA, and I am not going to put this into their juridiction. If someone else wants to do this, that's their business. Even if the ICO was primarily Juice tokens, to create the account, there has to be the minimum account fee, which creates a Security asset called Stake.

Because you will pay nothing but a little of your time and attention for your stake, it is not a true public offering of a security, and thus, it is none of the SEC's business. Only juice can be traded, and Stake is not being offered for sale, it can only be bought with juice. I believe, but I can't be certain, that means that it is not a security. Also, this may be the loophole that the preminers will get get out of jail free cards for. But the morality of their premine is highly questionable, even if it skirts the law. It makes me realise that probably there is no scope for SEC prosecution of Steemit, but I don't answer to human law, only the law of this universe, anyway.

So if I profit out of this project, I'm free and clear, because of the value I have provided in doing it, to those who participate.

Update

As at 21:37 Bulgarian summer time, August 7 2017, we have 73 :) All names in the list have been added to a spreadsheet and will be updated as more shows of interest are made, and this will continue until Day Zero.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1QUC8GhJRsbkZzgfX2VNgfEiGS-LAFT14vu5UByQt9x4/edit?usp=sharing

Note: the flag on this post is from @sneak
Sort:  

opt in......thank you.

@elfspice, I've sent you some Steem to help you build. If everything you do attempts to put the community first and communicate any difficulties you encounter, even if they are terminal, you will gain my trust for what it's worth. I agree that a forking was inevitable. Steemit.inc's comms and handling, the abuse of premine stake, the technical issues, the pace of development have created the perfect storm.

I intend to do a post to highlight your attempt and explain my position...I feel I owe it to my followers, the minnows and you.

I know it feels good to stick it to those that mocked and shunned you, I would feel the same. I sense in your updates that your jubilation is being tempered by the hard work you are doing and gravity of the situation...I'm grateful for that....it comes across better.

This is all about utility and trust....can we use it as we need to be able to? Can we trust it and the token?

Steemit.inc have squandered some of the trust...at this point, they've blown it for me. Whatever the cause, incompetence, greed, whatever, they had no competition to galvanise their approach, now they do. Clearly it remains to be seen if that will help Steem, I hope so.

However, some issues are so big, if you can make a stable alternative, I think there is a chance calibrae could do very well. I think you understand very well that the value of a token is in the distribution. So I wanted to clarify the ipo....is it only those who comment here (other than premine) that will receive their stake at genesis? If so we need to makes sure as many people as possible have the opportunity to make that choice.

Best of luck with your work, I hope you are getting sincere offers to help. Later.

Big thanks for the donation, it will make it so I can easily pay my next 3 months rent (€450). On wednesday I finally will have a Net1 55mbit connection hooked up, so I will have less hassles with dealing with upping and downing necessary large files. I have the snapshot I will be drawing data from and later today I will have a steemd instance running on my computer and start adding the list of usernames the migration script will use.

I don't regret being somewhat inflammatory in the terminal phase of my discontent at the situation with Steemit, Inc, I had been raising these issues since November last year, when I started dealing with steemd and its problems were obvious to me back then. I had been, since almost the beginning, making posts with improvement suggestions, and almost none of them have been adopted. So I had reason to be angry.

But I have now moved on from this. The sense of ownership I got when I finally made the fork repository, was like a chilled carafe of the sweetest springwater after two days in a desert at 40 degrees. I am feeling very upbeat and happy about what is happening now, and as I work through and refine my management and PR strategies, it is moving from palateable to delicious very quickly, and everyone is giving me so much joy with their enthusiasm for the project.

Note that the fork, and the consensus rule changes and token changes, are just the beginning.

Once Calibrae goes live, I will be shifting from managing the rollout of the fork, towards building go-calibrae, which is going to be a full reimplementation based on SporeDB, which throws out most of the outdated, and inefficient canon of block log format replication, and will use far more efficient, low latency validation and replication algorithms. In theory, go-calibrae will have a sub 1 second transaction clearance time, for one thing.

The other thing that is a central to go-calibrae is that the codebase itself will become a vote-monetising scheme for funding development. It will operate like github or gitlab, but with a decentralised architecture, and this is where I developed first the idea of making reputation scores, specific, in this case, to the code repository, as a coefficient to mitigate abusive voting, and this concept will also have a massive effect on shutting down the explosion of bots on this platform, that is part of how the chain has grown so goddamned fast in the last two months.

I hope that this serious threat to their userbase does drive Steemit towards upping their game, but they are so far behind the 8-ball that it's not gonna be fun for them, for quite some time. I don't have a huge amount of stake in Steem, but for what it can do for my day to day existence, it is very big, especially if Steemit was managing the platform well. I might be a little minnow again, in terms of my Steem Power, but in Bulgaria, this small stake is enough to cover 6 months rent and utilities bills, even at today's price. So it's not a small thing to me, and that's why I make such a big deal about it. Their mismanagement is threatening to lead me back onto the street, a place I do not want to return to, especially not with autumn just around the corner. Last winter was brutal, -15°C - it is only on account of the community spirit of the Bulgarian people that it was not as bad as it could have been.

Your donation is a really big deal to me, and I am extremely grateful for it. I will do my best to make it work for you as well.

Yes, we are getting serious offers, I now have someone talking about fielding developers and developing funding schema to pay the developers for their work, and as such, I have set up https://github.com/calibrae-project organisation, and a team: https://github.com/orgs/calibrae-project/teams so that interested people can request to join the team and get to work on the many tasks that lay ahead of us. There is now also a chatroom that you can join, at https://discord.gg/AmyB6ee.

Count me in, but wasn't the idea actually opt in just anybody except pre-miners?

You can volunteer to write the code and/or manually comb through the whole chain and try to pin down where the money went after they exchanged it and then put it back in again, somewhere else...

This is just a lot easier for me, I got enough to do just doing the rebrand and quite intricate bit of code deleting and a few actual code changes.

bleujay would like to opt in.

I am opting in! Here in Colombia we also take beautiful pictures of hummingburds if you ever run out!

Love to be there! I sent 7.530 STEEM for your project and I dare anyone else to do the same. That's right a little from us all will go along way.

Ah what the Hell, I don't got that long a lifespan anyway.

I can't write code, but I have about $25 loose SBD to donate if it's of any help.

Count me in.

Big thanks for that... I feel good about having people donate to getting this off the ground. If there is too much it will be moved into a pool to start paying devs to speed this process up. I don't need much to be able to do my work, but I can only do so much and as people can probably see, I'm a little bit of a hummingbird with my attention... So having more focused people will help a lot. My fluttering attention has its benefits in that I spot things that others might miss.

Hey at this point, SBD is almost like pretend money anyway. ;-)

I've got a couple of double digit payouts coming, maybe I'll send more.

Hey my friend - I'm definitely in!! You know that. tty soon.

@elfspice ¡¡Opting In of course!! :)

This Tucusito who comments here now, is gonna resteem this post right away to spread more awareness about this promising project all over around. And hopefully, invite and also recruit a good army of new species of clever Hummingbirds & Chrysolampis Mosquitus to suck & taste the sweetest VESTS nectars of Steem JUICE.

And btw, regarding the depiction of the Meme in your post above, certainly you are not the only one nor you are alone on this fair crusade mate.

So, add me to your early script and Let's...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66