Is Steemit Run Like a Third World Country?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've been traveling around the world for ten plus years. I know a third world country when I see one. I think I just found the equivalent of that online here on steemit. The primary characteristics of a third world country is that there is very little or almost no middle class.

And that's what you have here on steemit. You have a very few number of true dolphins and whales compared to all the pond scum and minnows out there. Even the accounts that have started then gone un-active. Maybe we can even look at those as the homeless and unemployed. 

In a healthy first world economy, everyone gets to eat. Everyone gets a piece of the pie. You get paid for what you do. A lot of good authors on here get paid on average next to nothing for their time. Yeah you might get a pop and one out of ten articles brings in 50 bucks and now your total work per hour goes up from 30 cents to a dollar. Congratulations.

Just like in any third world country you have all the money and power centered in a few hands. Everyone else is a peasant, pining away, trying to get noticed by someone with a little pull. Like how I recall the two dozen shoe shine boys in the capital park in Ho Chi Min City all running up to me begging to shine my shoes for a quarter. It's not fun being on either side of that deal. When there's only one guy with a quarter and one pair of shoes to be shined the other 23 shine boys go hungry that night.

If you're thinking you're in like Flin cause you had a post or two pop. Just remember even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in a while. 

Here's a photo I took in Colombia to go with this post so maybe an extra person or two will click on it.

Sort:  

Very interesting observation! Spontaneously I have to agree, but I don't like it. Is steemit a third world country? Maybe. If it is then I would be like one of those shoe polish boys and yet I don't feel like I am, maybe I should?
I will come back here and read all comments, it would be interesting to hear what other users think about this.

Check out @diabolica her recent post inspired mine that you just read.

Thanks for the tip! Did you mean @diabolika ?

Beep beep. Hi @fanstaf!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

I'm glad you posted this, now the people from the developed countries get to feel what it's like in the third world lol

Ahhahahahaha. That's an absolute riot! lol. I'm in a great mood and you got my cracking up hard core. That's hilarious!

I just got back from a fantastic 5 mile walk. I met all sorts of people and even ended up in playing badmitten in the street with a couple older women. You have to check out my photo posts later on. I'm hard up for your ten cents! lol

But I got some incredible real life photos captured on the streets of Bangkok. I'll post that and us from the developed world can feel grateful for the opportunities of a strong economy.

I'm off to Koh Phengnan tmr. So adios Bangkok!

That's the real spirit of steemit! We get excited to post about something, and interact with friends haha. I'm enjoying it more now.

Have fun!

You've got to check out some of my reality based photos of 2 am Khoasan RD, and Bangkok. Let me know what you think.

Congratulations @world-travel-pro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

very interesting post, starting to think the same. for my its just the joy i get in sharing travel stories. lets see where we are in a year from now

Oh boy I'm not sure if I'm gonna be able to last a year on here. I've already almost walked away from this thing half a dozen times! I'm now getting more time efficient and posting photos with new camera. I've got a nack for catching the good the bad and the ugly of the real life where ever I go. You should take a look. I think you'd find it interesting for sure.

How does a third-world economy transform into a first world one? Ie: how do we grow the dolphin class?
Any examples from history?
You know I'm serious about this.

Great question. South Korea is a great example. After the Korean war they were about as third world as it gets, now they are a thriving first world nation.

Basically it took a great work ethic, investment, and innovation. Companies like LG and Samsung sprung up to be internationally competitive. They were able to employ who knows how many 10's of thousand of Koreans and pay them a decent wage. With the people at the bottom (now having a decent salary)....you have a class of dolphins, and a healthy economy and society.

I was talking to @biglipsmama about this in real terms on steemit. I believe those who bring value to the platform like you and I, need easier upward mobility. Hence investment from the rich in more teams of curators with more up-voting power. I even suggested the top 50 steemit millionaires pool together a like million dollars and get an office floor filled with paid curators to keep the system healthy and how it was meant to be from the start. I don't have all the answers and I'm new to this. So I don't really even know if that is a logical solution. But the money needs to trickle down or we will forever be third world steemit.

Thsnks for you insights.
I've backed community builders by delegating SP to them. I wonder if I can scale that up and automate that in a way the 0.1% can engage with.
Meanwhile, more value flowing inwards and staying would help too.

Glad to know there are people like yourselves working to maintain and improve the system. I'm feeling more and more of team player. As I travel around the world, people ask what I do. Before I said English teacher or investor, or nothing and just hang out and travel. Now I say "I'm the World Travel Pro on Steemit!" With a big smile.

They are like "What!!!!???" Then I explain the platform, I've already had a bunch of people interested and I think some are signing up. Including this great Israeli couple I met yesterday, and another few people from France.

I'm going to be publishing a great World Travel Report on Bali Indonesia real soon. I spent 2 months bicycling around the Island a few years ago. The report is like super well done. Anything you can do to help "blow it up" Would be greatly appreciated! It' will be along the same lines than this post that got 300 up-votes and about 65 dollars. I'm thinking it will be better.

https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/world-travel-report-ecuador

Sincerely,

Dan "World Travel Pro" :)

Hi Buddy. Instead of throw the towel in on Steemit. I lit a fire under my ass and I put up a bunch of great posts. Especially my new World Travel Report: Bali Indonesia. https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/world-travel-report-bali-indonesia

I'm trying all I can to get this thing to blow up and put me on a new steemit level. Anything you can do to help me would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thank you so much!

Ha! Already saw and upvoted. Good to see you sticking around. Your posts look like they are attacting an audience.
I'm not sure what your thoughts are on using upvote bots. They do tend to spam up your comments, but they can get your post into hot for a short-time and maybe from there it gets noticed. Otherwise, you're on the slow grind of "engage and build up your audience". There are some bot (e.g. @minnowbooster) that have a stealth mode where you get a less valuable upvote but without the comment spam. Another strategy I've heard is that some people like to do the bot upvotes about 3/4 days after posting so that the bot comments sink to the bottom and their regular followers get curation rewards from the bot upvotes. You can also somewhat mitigate the bot spam by upvoting a few comments so they appear higher up than the bots comments.

Oh my god. I never even heard of a bot. Sounds so techy. ugggg. How do I figure this out now. my goodness. This whole thing has been overwhelming for me. I just got my first smart phone a couple months ago. And joined Facebook like 2 years ago and never post on there. I'm like a real freak of nature, all I've done my whole adult life is travel and teach English. That's all I know. Ok. I'll have to spend some time learning this bot thing now.

Thank you for taking me under your wing. I'm like the least ignorant person you could meet in person. But on steemit, and computer land I'm a total ignoramus. So thank you for your help in every way, seems as if I certainly need it.

@biglipmama has been helping me along and I've given her some insight into my negativity and why. Here what I just replied to her.

"Thank you so much. Appreciate it. I have some more insight into the platform from my perspective and why I got so negative. Maybe it's something useful for you to consider when talking to the higher ups.

Basically I read a lot about steemit and watched videos too, all about how the platform works BEFORE I signed up. A common theme that I picked up on, is that if you post quality good informative work then you will succeed, and you will have post after post make good money and a growing following......end of story. That's it. I was reading and seeing that over and over.

That is not the reality of the platform. That more or less was a straight up lie. I don't like being bait and switched. The reality is that posting good info and content is not the recipe to success here. You NEED to go onto other peoples blogs and comment on their stuff, whether you are interested or not. I don't recall reading that as being part of the recipe to success when I started here.

I feel like I now have to be almost a phony and spend my whole day commenting on other people blogs as if I'm interested. Even if I am interested, I prefer other forms of entertainment away from my computer screen.

So for me to learn that I now am going to spend the whole day on my computer commenting on others stuff so I can succeed on here was not what I anticipated from the start. I now have accepted it and will do what I can. But that is the cold hard truth from my experience from before I even signed up.

Hope you understand a little better about where my confusion and negativity has come from.

On a more positive note. I have enjoyed the friends I've made and the back and forth penpal style relationships, and especially the real life meet ups with @luczypher in Mexico, and @fitinfun in Bangkok. So for me that has been a bonus worth appreciating. I sincerely enjoy the growing friendship that you and I now have. Thank you again for your help and encouraging words! :)

Truly yours- Dan"

Yeah it kinda is a bait and switch, though kinda not. The judgement of "good quality content" is a subjective one made by the community. This means steem is more an attention economy - though there are efforts to change this.
The upvote bots are many. I like @randowhale and @minnowbooster and @resteembot. I'll spot you some of their upvotes on a future post of yours so you can see how they work.
But, once you get to the point you have reliable earnings from your posts, then probably stop using the upvote bots because their comment spam is a bit off-putting gor your audience.

Thanks again for keeping up with me and having my back. I'm no longer bitter and disturbed by the platform, now that I understand it so well. Bait and switch or whatever. The problem is that the recipe to success on I've never seen spelled out to me like I've concluded.

Without you, @twinner, @karenmckersie, @lukestokes, @flipstar, @lucyzher and other dolphin and whales noticing me, I would have surely left the system. But now that I truly understand that if you want to make money and get noticed, you need backers with steempower, and their powerful votes. So thank you for backing me. I look at i now as basically being sponsored, like a skateboarder and a clothing line. You are one of my sponsors! Thank you!

I can give you the most perfect example too. @diabolika had this one whale who must of thought she was cute or something. So he resteemed like everything she wrote for her first two weeks. She was kicking ass and making money. Then suddenly he stopped resteeming her stuff. You can see her earnings plummet the moment he started ignoring her. She admitted to me she went from flying high to banging her head against a wall instantly.

So like you said. A third world country is about who you know to get ahead. Got it and have accepted it. I'm happy to know you! So thank you so much for your help and support.

I've been socializing with the whales. They are really nice good people. One has over 700k in steem we have a lot in common. He's now following me and will likely have my back too on here which would be great.

I get it though. They have invested in the platform, they should have clout of who succeeds. But as a newbie, you have to reach out to them or you're just lost in the trash heap of minnows.

With my new understanding and perspective of the platform, you just have to play ball with the big boys on here, so I am. I can already see it reflecting in my earnings.

So that is my new approach to steemit. That is the key that nobody talks about. That is something I never read. All you read is good content and you will succeed. But it's all about networking with the 1% along with quality work. Now that I've cracked the steemit code, I think I'll be successful on here.

Thanks again for the bot info and your support. I'll surely look into when I find the time. Maybe as the one percent you should make things easier on yourself, and pick 20 minnow authors and religiously support them. Cut and dry, clean and simple. Might make things easier on yourself too. Just a thought.

I'll surely be in-touch

Dan

-Dan

This is so impressive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70