Part One - First Humble Bicycle Tour - Entering Denmark

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

Your really Welcome to join me and my 2 dogs on our first ever Cycle Tour !

Here's the Indroduction Post but if you don't want to read it then here's a short intro of the trip.

Me and my dog's went to Olso, Norway for an adventure on a cycle \ camping trip. It took 4 weeks because we were in no rush and my dogs walked the way there. It was amazing, I am traveling many years by eco-friendly means only like car sharing, hitchhiking or walking, but to use a bicycle is just amazing!
I had no money saved as I have no bank and had the guitar to get money along the way, and I was navigating with a map and compass, no GPS around! - Here's the starting point in Germany Below. I wrote a diary so the most part will be the diary copied exactly how it was written each night. This will also help me remember things, to give a better reading experience for you guy's!

flensburg map.GIF
15th April 2016

I arrived off the train at Flensburg from Berlin and man did the bike have some weight on it! It took a while getting used to it and it was fun to swap trains when needed. It was so good to be moving again! There's really nothing better than knowing you have all your responsibility's with you, and an open road ahead, and no reason really to go back.
In the town, I went first to dumpsterdive and met a punk guy who was sat begging. He saw me and later when I walked back past on an unsuccessful hunt he stood up and said Hi. I gave him my last 2 euro in change as It would be useless in Scandinavia. He smiled and gave me one cent back and told me that I had to have a lucky cent.
I then headed to to the coast line and knew from looking at the map that the border to Denmark was only around 8 km away. It was definitely time to smoke a joint to finish the weed off and get ready to be searched. I found a enclosed area where there were already people smoking weed and rolling around on skateboards or sat playing a guitar. Nice place to sit and ponder the journey ahead, and to smoke the last of what I had that wasn't well hidden and packed away. Of course as always, people see me and somehow I attract attention. If they are open people and slightly alternative , then they always come over and introduce themselves. A guy, I forget his name as I hadn't yet started to write the diary, sat and he started to roll up before I had even started. We chatted and after we had smoked I realized it was soon getting dark and I decided it was time to start and hit the road.

We headed up the quiet coastal road and the guy who I smoked with said that its a nice ride along the coast, as there is a pathway for cyclists, and you don't even go through the border check point. I took the turning for the cycle path and went down a steep hill leading to the ocean and because I wasn't used to the bike, I fell off a good'en and had quite a few cuts and huge bruises on my legs from the loose stony ground. There was a sign saying "AVALANCHE - pathway closed" when I reached to bottom, so I had to go back up to the steep road pushing the rig and then to join the busy main road that lead to the actual border crossing. There was so many supermarket's just before the border and I had to go and see what was being thrown out. This would be the first dumpster on the journey so it should have been a lucky one. It was. There was sausages in the first one and then to my amazement, the second one had a container FULL of organic wine. The worker tried to stop me from taking the wine, but after a chat about the way I see the world, he lightened up. I did offer to stash some in the hedge so he could take it after work but he just laughed - I was being serious! The bike trailer was suddenly a lot heavier.. even though I'm not a fan of drinking, I took a few boxes for trading or present's to give on the way. I cycled up along the pathway and after some time there was a police checkpoint that were stopping the cars, and I wondered if they would stop me but they were busy checking a car anyway and didn't even see me, so I just waved and carried on. I had to find the road the headed back down to that coastal path where the avalanche was because that was the route I wanted to be taking. I found the junction and as I stopped on the path a women stopped in her car and called me over at the crossroad's. What could she want?! She was full of smiles and said "Hi! Welcome to Denmark", and then passed me from the car window, 2 tins of dog food. Wow what a refreshing moment compared to the darkness of Germany. I was now for the first time ever in my life in Denmark stood still shocked at the random happy woman, and come to think of it I was also the first time in Scandinavia. I made it back down to the coast road easy enough enjoying the down hill ride and picked up the same path again. I had chosen a campsite that was marked on the map, which was a designated camping spot-one of many dotted along bike paths designed for wanders or cyclists. There was nothing at these places usually, just permission to put a tent and have a fire, which I find a really cool idea. I decided to loose some weight.

Diary Entry

Decided to loose some weight and to re-arrange how I load the bike.Tent pole for my tarp, half this huge notepad, a pair of trousers. A guy just arrived here with his son, he told me that I can follow this path all the way to Sonderborg. Ill start at 6am and see how we get on.he also said the weather is great tomorrow :).
I just looked at the map, and i think that he meant 68km to the ferry.
They just left, ill have a nice chill out day, happy to have a big tent, its raining!had a great siesta just now. Its turned very windy here. Problems with foldable water containers are that they get holes easy it seems! The wind is super strong! This is beautiful , I didnt do this in years, just laydown and listen to a 7 hour long audio book. Finally some alone time.Haha I just rememebred someone stopped and gave me dog food, the first 10 minutes i was in Denmark.

Right so now its around 5pm or so, just learnt how to put the tent up smoothly , and just had to reposition it because of the heavy winds. lucky I got pegs for sand!


Some other people came to stay that night at the camping spot and arrived quite late, there were 3 of them and all cool guys. I think they were doing a hike if I remember correctly and I ended up giving them a box of wine that they drank as we sat and chatted through the evening. As for me I had unpacked my hash stash and was well stoned and went to bed in my nice new big home.

16th April 2016- 9am - Diary Entry

Sat on a beach, swan swimming by whilst the sausage's are on the fire cooking, and also I've cooked some water for drinking as I'm nearly all out. Finally alone again, the guys from last night have just left. There's some guy's in a boat fishing. Today I will repack everything. Got a nice bruise from falling off the bike yesterday. Today I rest and plan where to go tomorrow, which will be a Sunday. I want to be in a village then to wake up on Monday and play guitar somewhere.


17th April 2016 Diary Entry

Today was great, it rained a lot but it's so nice to be moving again it was cool. We done 40km with a break in the middle. We left at 10 am and then at midday I saw a supermarket and went to check the bins. There were cars in the carpark and it was open! (its a Sunday, in Germany everything is closed!)I whipped the guitar out and had 600kr by the time I had played 14 songs. 100 euro in 2 hours. That's what I'm talking about! And it was lunch time which means it was quiet in comparison! Brought coffee , baby wipes and a pizza bun thing. Recycled a pork belly, a broccoli, a leek, some milk and fresh bread.
I got to look on the map as to where we are, I think I missed the intended camp spot for tonight and now im at the next? anyway. I found a shelter, there's two of them, 2.5m X 6m with an open front and 3 walls. I rocked up and the fire was lit and there were cold open beer's there sat on benches, but no people! Cool. Meat on the grill, broccoli is cooking in a pot. 1 hour later (the meat was huge!), I'm with a full stomach. Think it's 4c tonight and not warmer, I was happy not to put up the tent and to use this log built shelter. So now I shall look at the map for tomorrow. Oh yeh, I've got to say I love Scandinavia already, I'm carving my first ever wooden spoon! Just looked at map, and I have overshot the planned nightly spot and this one isn't even on the map! Tomorrow I go to this village "Tandslet" to play music early then go north to catch a ferry at "Flynshaven". I know I'Il need money for the ferry but how much?


sonderberg (3).gif


The ferry crossing was fun, I went to the ticket office in the line of cars and when I got there I asked to buy a ticket , and they guy point saying that there was a building that I had gone past where you buy the tickets. I left the dogs and all there and walked the long distance back to the ticket building. It was all just card payment's, and so I went back to try pay with cash. The guy was shocked when I said that I only have cash, and so it wasn't my problem if they don't accept cash because it is legal tender. He had to let me on for free. The crossing was short and sweet and now leaving the ferry was the long straight road leading to "Faaborg".

18th April 2016 Diary Entry

Haha, I'm sat in a hotel room with heating and electric, a flat screen and a huge double bed! I was on the way to a camping spot and I asked at a real campsite with caravans and toilet block, where the free one is. They directed me as I stood in the rain and said "Go past the old hotel and you will see it...." - Ding Dong - had to check it out. No-one there so I checked all the hotel room doors that were in the main courtyard and there was one already been forced open and had a piece of rope keeping the door shut. The weather outside is a huge storm! The place is called 'Hotel Mosegard', Faaborg. I think ill spend the next day here and the night also until the weather gets better. I played a bit at 3 different supermarkets but they all told me to leave. The ferry ride was cool, a guy stopped his car and gave me 50 kroner and wished me luck. I saw the first paper money today. I think I will promise myself to save the paper and use the coins. WE'VE DONE OUR FIRST 100KM'S! Since I'm here I've played around 3 or 4 hours of guitar and I have 1200kr! What the Fuck?! I even ate at the restaurant on the ferry due to the fact I'd just earnt so much for singing. Every bin also has been unlocked that I went to, Denmark is a cool country!
The alarm clock is flashing 00.42 and I just plugged the fridge in to put in the milk I found and the wine. Also the barn is unlocked, I went to have a look around. It's full of stuff from the hotel and I will look for a kettle. This is great. Maybe someone has just popped out, I don't know, but it looks like everyone left some weeks ago, and has a sign saying "closed" (I guess). Oh yeh I learnt that its ILLEGAL to refuse someone drinking water if you ask them. This is a great Law and a great way to meet people in the middle of nowhere. Ill be doing it often anyway as my fold-able water canister broke already. Laying in the bed is just luxury, if the weather stay crap I'll just be staying here very nicely. There's no shops around here but I have bread and butter , and can cook what I've found from supermarkets on my camping burner thing which burns tablets.. I found many boxes of fire lighters in the barn. THE BED IS GREAT!

I hope you enjoyed the first part of this journey. For me it's a pleasure to be writing it up, saving it on blockchain for the future. Let me know if it was too long or too short, so I can adjust for the following parts!

Big Love and Abundance Everyone! The tables are slowly turning, and you are not alone!

If your lazy, then click here to carry on with part 2 of the journey! (Nobody would even know!)

Most previous post's - Oldest First..

Untitled.png



All photos were taken from Google maps.

Sort:  

Another captivating story!

Epic! Following this journey my friend, curious to know the rest and getting inspired for my next bike trip in a few months.

Finding win, what a gift haha
Cheers

Ill be sure to keep it going , its sooo much easier with a diary , but even then there was so much stuff missed out lol

Oh yeah! How is the boat idea going? Still on?

haha that was your wantings, a boat?! I dont need a boat yet, my cash is for steem!! and silver lol

i will sell crypto in the future and get a ferry that is for sure!

Ohhh yeah the ferry! I so much wishing that you get it one day, it would be insane hahahaha

Have you ever read Kon-Tiki Expedition? Don't know If I've asked you, I'm sure I asked someone about it. The guys crosse the Pacifict in a raft made of Balsa logs in 1947

Holy shit is that what that film is about? If so that sounds like a cool film! you haven't spoke to me about it, must have been someone else :) you've got BOAT FEVER!!

AHahahhahah I kinda do man, I'm always annoying people with boat things! The movie is cool, but if you can put your hands on the book it's 100% worth reading.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I am very salute with your identity.

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 2 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

This post has received a 28.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @movingman.

free visa card dollars and crypto currency http://bit.ly/2sKif0K

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55