We all love stories

in #forthechildren6 years ago (edited)

As a little child I already loved stories.

I can not remember my parents ever told us a story. On rare occasions an aunt did. She always told about the 3 little piglets. She made up their adventures.

I learned to read at an early age and read everything.

It was my way to escape out of a terrible world. A world full of abuse and although I read a lot of fairy tales I knew they are not true. Just tales about how to behave, mainly lessons for girls/women. The very less money I was able to save I spent on books. Not always the books I wanted the most but books I could afford. I still dream of my own storyteller.

As I became children I always read them stories before they went to bed.

All kind of stories. There was nothing scary to them simply because they know a tale is just a tale, so not real.

They all (5) were able to read at an early age, although two never read much. Still they are all into stories.

The eldest and youngest two are reading and collecting books. The eldest I gave most of my books and has a library of her own by now (in a separate room) something the youngest wants as well.

Just like me all of my children like to watch films.

All kind of, not only cartoons but also thrillers and horror. They can draw, are creative and one is even a great animator.

What I like most of them is that they look in a different way to a story (book or film) as most people.

They are able to read behind the lines, think over what they read or saw and like to discuss it and build their own opinion. Their opinion is never influenced by what the critics or other people say or write. I feel very proud the grew and grow up as people with an own opinion, lots of interests, a strong will and self-esteem.

2018-04-08-21-21-33-.jpg
picture by graphicriver.net

Like to know more about me? Please read my other posts.

Reincarnation? Barbo Karlén and Anne Frank

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/reincarnation-barbro-karlen-and-anne-frank

What does hurt you?

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/what-does-hurt-you

Crocheting class in prison

https://steemit.com/writeaprisoner/@wakeupkitty/crocheting-class-in-prison

Read what more I wrote for my children

Forthechildren: chemistry lessons

https://steemit.com/forthechildren/@wakeupkitty/forthechildten-chemistry-lessons

My child

https://steemit.com/forthechildren/@wakeupkitty/my-child

For my Children

https://steemit.com/forthechildren/@wakeupkitty/for-my-children



taddlogo001.png
Wil je lid worden van een Nederlandstalige Steemit community? Dat kan via: https://discord.gg/9mzqA7H

Sort:  

I remember when growing up the saying that "Reading is Fundamental", I think that really needs to be brought back into society today. Because reading is Fun and it can fund a mental (take those two spaces out) state of making a happy and healthy thinking brain. When people can read and take the time to read it activates the brain, the more one reads the more active it becomes. One thought, one line, in a story and our brains just want to take off and fly down that knowledge highway.

I totally agree with you. We should all start reading books again and leave the tele and computer for what it is for some hours a day. A book is so different you need to paint your own picture. The brain will also remember a printed (paper) text better as reading on a screen. Discussing stories, making up some, use your fantasy is also a great way of spending time (together).

I love to read, I don't just paint my own pictures, I get to see the whole book as a movie.

Reading is so important for children and I love that you include story time with your children. We love to read and make up our own stories in my house.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

How great to hear. It is a great way to spend time together. As my children were little we also played the stories ourselves :) great memories. I am happy they still enjoy them and love reading.

I think it's great that you talk about it, because this is not a topic often discussed. Sure some people talk about their love for books or films, but when they do it often seems so seperate from one another and it very rarely comes down simply to a love for stories in itself.

From very early on books, being told stories and making up my own ones was a part of my live, so it's great to see how this influences other people that positively in their own lifes as well.

Now you mention it, it is strange so less leople talk about it. Sometimes I believe nobody is reading any longer, or telling stories but they do. Most people make up stories daily. We could share ours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46