TEACHING THE NEXT GENERATION REAL SKILLS - FORAGING

in #foraging7 years ago

I believe that it is the responsibility of the current generation to educate the next.


In the past few generations, it seems that many families have left the country lifestyle and moved into the cities. Along with leaving the land, they left a plethora of how-to knowledge that this current generation is completely ignorant of, for the most part. Even simple skills like knowing which wild plants you can eat and which ones are dangerous have for the most part fallen by the wayside.

This knowledge used to be crucial to life itself, but the times have changed. Now, we leave our families to go to work, whatever income isn't taken from us in taxes or paid out in bills we spend at the supermarket for over-processed "food-stuffs" that fill us up but leave us empty. I think that it is a fantastic thought to realize that many people who attempt to include more wild edibles in their diet can actually have negative effects as their bodies attempt to adjust to a nutrient and vitamin rich diet.

For @papa-pepper, foraging is not just a hobby, but it is becoming a lifestyle. Who wouldn't want to enjoy an incredible variety of healthy food for free? In the upcoming video, I show my oldest daughter a whole handful of common wild edibles in just a few minutes, and we don't even walk that far.

It is incredible to me how much food the common man tramples underfoot without ever realizing the potential of the plants at his feet. You'll have to watch the video to check out everything that we find, especially what we find to enjoy as "dessert", but the photos here show a sneak peek of some of the wonderful wild edibles that we found. To find out why I tagged this one #funny, you'll have to watch it. Enjoy the video!

TEACHING THE NEXT GENERATION TO FORAGE


I strongly believe that having a good understanding of the wild edibles in your area it some excellent information to have in your head. If things get really bad, that info could save your life. If things don't get bad, you'll still have some great knowledge to supplement your diet with some healthy food for free!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-edibles



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I agree with everything here as you know with our off grid type interests, and have said the same thing for a few years now.

It was also smart when you said this:

I strongly believe that having a good understanding of the wild edibles in your area it some excellent information to have in your head.

  • because every area is different. I learned in the last few years a bunch of this wild medicinal and edible stuff and things like you say we think are weeds and useless are the OPPOSITE!!

Stuff growing in my yard or my driveway I used to swear at and tear out, like common plantain - I know smile at, encourage and harvest LOL

Yeah, if you really want it gone, I'd suggest eating it! LOL!

Thanks Barry!

the weed you pulled .. I just got rid of a lot of those tonight
so you could actually eat that?
I love goose berries papa!

Very tasty too!

Lost, the skills you are sharing are mostly lost!
We need to be teaching theses things. Thank you Papa for raising awareness!!

You are welcome!

Thank you!

Some wild sammich in the woods!!

Thanks for giving me a much needed chuckle, definitely justify the funny tag.

Although I must say I'm amazed at all the greens that you can literally put into your mouth right there and then when normally it's all "weeds and grass" to the untrained eye. I'm a fan of eating "microgreens" in the restaurant because of the obvious health benefit but goodness gracious do we pay a premium for it!

Perhaps you already have that in your future plans.. But I think it will be fantastic if you run a homestay business in your homestead when your dreams towards one has been achieved. Us Steemians would definitely love to hangout with you and you can even teach a course in foraging and homesteading!

Good idea. Thanks for that, and I'm glad you got a laugh.

Teaching the previous generation as well. would really love to seem more posts like this one. I love the other stuff you do to but people with foraging skills, horticulture, survival, these are in short supply. Thank you so much.

The previous generation too! Good point! Thanks @aaronmda!

Keep your diamonds, and accompany her to your daughter. Do not let him alone in his career.

Okay, thank you.

Love this post papa pepper!! I couldn't agree with you more! You can even make a bit of cash depending on what you're foraging!!

Interesting! Good idea @meowmeow!

nice....your post deserve upvote and resteem....

Thanks once again, and congrats on your followers milestone!

u r welcome...thanks...

I LOVE this!!

Just follow dad up a tree. No 'careful you might fall down' or 'girls shouldn't do this sort of thing', or 'you can't come up here'.

When you are long in your rest @papa-pepper (many decades from now) your kids will remember and treasure days like this.

They will become stories of legend.

You are doing an awesome job of being an awesome dad, and I look forward to more adventures in foraging from you and the @little-peppers.

Hmmm......... I sense a story coming on......... ;-)

Pinky Pepper and the wild edible icecream sandwiches

Sounds like a great story!

Love this, best class I ever took in college was Forestry where we learned to identify plants by their leaves, buds, flowers, bark, etc. Still use it today!

It is excellent knowledge! Glad to hear you've still got it!

It can be amazing to blow someone's mind when they are wondering what plant they are looking at and you have the answer right there, not to mention useful to keep people away from poisonous plants. Still amazes me how many people can't identify Poison Ivy or Oak...

I remember once when a man told me that I could eat some food in his garden. I picked about 5 kinds of "weeds" and chowed down, to his amazement.

My brother did this same thing actually...only he was 4 at the time, didn't have permission to go in a garden, and had to have his stomach pumped afterwards. I'm sure you were much more successful ;)

Pinky-pepper: Are there any chocolate-flavored plants that Grandpa would like?

We have some chocolate mint... and chocolate Ghost Peppers... but they are not wild.

Also, where are you at? All the way home by now?

Got home yesterday around 4 pm. Still mowing grass with the pusher. Too tall for the rider which flattens wider tire tracks. Ok, then just Dove dark chocolates for my secret private stash, right Pinky-pepper?

That sounds good Grandpa!
Check out our new post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65