Skunked! Report from the Very First Steemit Foraging Community Scavenger HuntsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #foraging8 years ago

Have you been wondering about the results of the Very First Steemit Foraging Community Scavenger Hunt? Find out in this post!

1fc2u7n98bea.jpg

Wild in the Wild - custom digital speed art donated by @nonameslefttouse for this project.

It's been awhile since the close of the Very First Steemit Foraging Community Scavenger Hunt. What were the results? Well, as the saying goes -- We got skunked! There was not one single, solitary entry into the scavenger hunt. Not one!

The two posts announcing the game, the scavenger hunt list , and the rules did really well - over 350 upvotes, dozens of comments, resteems. There seemed to be plenty of enthusiasm. But nothing else. Well, I made $12 in earnings and the curators got something, too, but that wasn't the point.

The goal of the game was to help Steemit foraging enthusiasts get to know each other. And together, raise awareness of some of the interesting and informative foraging posts here on Steemit - even though many of those posts didn't have the foraging tag.

I stewed over this for awhile. I wondered whether my rules or the list were too difficult. I even went through and found entries for almost all the 60 items on the list, myself. The @foraging-trail started during the scavenger hunt and collected quality posts about foraging. So it was easy to find most of the items on the scavenger hunt list. If someone had provided only one item on the list, they would have been a winner.

In real life, I've been skunked out on the foraging trail before - especially looking for morel mushrooms in the spring, lol! That never stopped me from getting outdoors and looking another time, though. And that will be the same here on Steemit. I'll be trying other things to connect all of us foragers and people interested in foraging.

Why? Because I believe that our lives can be richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild area. I'd like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet!

So be on the lookout for future events and games for Steemit foragers!

If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

lol....about a month ago I noticed the foraging hunt and hadn't realised that it was old and out of date....I've been tagging people in it. he he, d'oh!

I just saw a couple of your tags and had to laugh because nobody -- nobody -- even tried to find one of the items on my scavenger hunt! But, because of you playing my game, now -- I'm going to revive it! So you will have a head start, lol!

My original list may have been too long, so I'm thinking about breaking it up into several different contests, like one every quarter, with 15 items on each one. Or I could make it a standing challenge -- anyone who gets all of the items would get a major prize, whenever they submit it. I'll write a post and ask people, I think. I'm definitely interested in your view!

Yes the list was very long!!!! And it also didn't seem to have an obvious order and the ones that would be used the most often where sort of randomly buried in the middle of the list so each time you have to sort of read down through it and it takes quit a while. I'm sure you could reduce it to broader categories and subsume much of the minor categories. Like "Using a foraging app" and "Review of a foraging app".... that's a bit overkill! Also for example, scattered separately but quite similar: "Use of a foraged harvest in the outdoors" / "A post or comment about foraging made by you"/ "A report from a personal foraging outing" (this last is probably going to be the most used but it was number 16 on the list, it should be first).

I ended up copying and saving a version to my desktop so it would be quicker to go back to. It was a bit complicated... I had a little sentence saved at the top of the document to copy and paste, could maybe already write a sentence for people to copy and paste like that.

I'm sure you could also cut the explanation down by half as well, keep it simple. The modern human has a very short attention span!

Sorry for taking so long to get back to your comment, @kate-m! Thanks for such helpful feedback! I'll take all that into account in a modified foraging scavenger hunt, for sure! It will be a lot better! :D

Will look forward to it getting launched!

Thanks for your encouragement. I'll definitely keep trying. There is a good-sized group of people here on Steemit interested in foraging. And it's been nice seeing so many foraging posts. I'll give another go sometime! : )

Seems us city slickers ain't that good at foraging @haphazard-hstead!

Haha -- I figured since this scavenger hunt was to find past Steemit posts, anyone on here could do it - even just sitting in a chair. I'll keep trying. And I am determined to get all y'all eating some real trees and weeds, too!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.84 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56240.84
ETH 2996.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21