The Foraging Scavenger Hunt Ends Tomorrow – Get Your Entries in on Wednesday!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #foraging8 years ago

I’ve seen some good posts and comments about foraging this past month! So there is plenty to work with in doing the Very First Steemit Foraging Communty Scavenger Hunt. The deadline for entries is 6pm PST (UTC-7).

There are 60 different items on the scavenger hunt list, but there’s no way that anyone will get all 60. Maybe you will only have to find and claim 10 items to win – who knows? Here is the original post that has the scavenger hunt list and explains the rules: Scavenger Hunt List and Rules.

The idea behind the scavenger hunt is to have fun way to find other people on Steemit that are interested in foraging, and learn something about how people are using plants and other natural bounties in arts, crafts, and to eat.

If you want an easy way to start your scavenger hunt, check out the posts on the @foraging-trail. And check out posts by some dedicated foragers here on Steemit -- @papa-pepper, @yetaras, @gardenofeden, and @haphazard-hstead (yes, that's me).

1fc2u7n98bea.jpg

Wild in the Wild - custom digital speed art by @nonameslefttouse and his Three Color Game. Official logo of the Very First Steemit Foraging Community Scavenger Hunt. – Thanks again, @nonameslefttouse!


Growing The Steemit Foraging Community

Thank you to everyone who is now following the @foraging-trail. I’m looking forward to seeing your posts about any aspect of foraging - and your comments on posts by other Steemit foragers.

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the natural world around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. If you haven't yet, check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Love that pic! I clicked through to here from Discord just to look at it more closely. :-)

Hi there! @nonameslefttouse here. It's nice to see compliments like this. Thanks for enjoying my work!

You're most welcome. Well deserved!

I like it, too. @nonameslefttouse made it. I just gave him some colors and he made his art and said I could use it. The link in the caption is his post where he asks people to send him a request. He's got some neat art. I laughed out loud at his Steemit logo post.

Easy answers on my post people.

Many are linked at the end of this post HERE

That should make it at least a little easier for you!

Thanks for the plug! I'm honored to be a part of this.

I appreciate you letting me us it. I really like my custom art!

I could probably make a decent living providing art for this steemit world. I don't mind sharing though, I see it's helping and you're not shying away from mentioning where it came from one bit. For that, I'm incredibly grateful.

I knew it would bring good luck as well. Don't ask how.

It turns out that nobody - nobody - even tried the foraging scavenger hunt. But that's ok. I still think it's a success. I got to meet you, a unique artist here on Steemit. And you got some visibility - I hope you saw the comment above from @kiwideb that she clicked on this post just because of your image. That's a success! I'll crack the nut of the Steemit foraging community yet, lol, with some sort of activity.

You can use the image for your project. That's my donation. We don't leave a quarter on the ground every time we pick a mushroom. The three color game is dead for now though, so maybe leave that part out when giving credit. "Donated by @nonameslefttouse for this project" or something fancy like that. If you ever wanted a higher quality printer ready file, that costs money. My images are designed to be blown up and hung on walls. Someone might buy one some day so I really appreciate having a few "advertisements" kicking around.

You're probably right as well, taking the hunt into the entirety of steemit would probably just cause more stress than anything.

Good luck to you and I'll keep checking in to vote when I can.

Thanks, @nonameslefttouse! I'll use the phrasing you suggested. And thanks for mentioning about the size of your art. I don't think I appreciated that before. It makes some of the pieces you posted take on a different meaning. The white one about 'cold' is even more beautiful at a large size, I think.

I had a flop recently as well with a series I'm working on. There wasn't any interest in a certain approach which was necessary to continue. I'm currently rewriting and trying to continue on without certain planned features. These things happen and we don't know unless we try.

The whole Internet is odd that way. We can't take any of it personally, just keep on trying different stuff - or even the same stuff at different times. Some folks here have experimented with that and gotten completely different results from posting at different times, with no pattern. I'll try another scavenger hunt in a few months, lol.

The idea of this scavenger hunt is good. I'm not sure if others have tried similar things, I've not been around long enough to know.

Why not try it on a grand scale. Move out of the niche market and try to make it appeal to as many tags as possible. Just an idea. You may have more success and you already have a base model to work with.

I'll keep trying to build the Foraging community. I don't think I'm up to all of Steemit and their diverse interests, lol. Is it OK to use your digital art "Wild in the Wild", again, to report on the results? If you don't want to be associated with the outcome of the scavenger hunt, that's OK. My post will be framed as our first step, just like a beginning forager that may not bring anything home the first time. But I would like to immortalize your artwork as the official logo of our Very First Scavenger Hunt and be able to refer to it, as part of the history of our Foraging community here. -- Thanks.

what a fantastic idea! love it!

skahvenger one, over and out! :P

Just asking - Did you enter anything for the Scavenger Hunt? I've been checking tags and I don't think anyone entered anything. I'll be writing a post about the scavenger hunt results after work today. Like some foraging trips, we don't always end up with what we thought. But I will keep trying to get people involved in our Steemit Foraging community.

No sorry I didn'.t I saw the blog on the last day of the hunt and didn't get a chance to, however I will take a peek and check out what you have written.
cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25