Removing the Hulls from Sprouting Mung Beans foodphotography

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

An optional step while sprouting mung beans or any bean or seed is to take the hulls out of the mix. This can be done at any time after the little roots and exploding pods have shucked them off.

Here you see my mung beans right after the last photo I showed you – at about 48 hours of time. Actually you can’t see much of the sprouts now. Instead you see the hulls floating in some water I added after temporarily moving the sprouts to a different and deeper bowl than the one I have been sprouting them in.

Sprouting Mung Beans removing the hulls daily food photography fitinfun.jpg

At this point I can use my fingers and scrape the hulls off easily. The hulls float and the sprouts stay down lower. After this is done, I transfer the sprouts back to the original shallow bowl and put them back into the closest, cover loosely with an ever available Bangkok plastic bag, and leave them to keep growing.

I put the water in the fridge and use it later for soup or to soak any grains I'm going to eat. I lug my drinking water up here and I am not wasting any of it if I can help it.

Depending on what you are reading, this hull removing step is recommended:

Early in the sprout growth time – as soon as the hulls separate.

This is to stave off botulism and bacterial diseases that might kill you. Those who want you to remove the hulls say it is better for future growth and more sanitary. The hulls are doing nothing after they separate anyway and you do not eat them later. This is a picky time of effort and wet fingers if you want to get all the hulls.

After the sprouts are fully grown.

It is very easy to separate the hulls after growing is done, as 99% of them will be separated from their sprouts. Those who do this step when you are done growing and about to eat or store the sprouts, include it in a final rinse of the sprouting part that you will eat.

Not at all

Those who do not do this step at all say it is not necessary because the hulls will mostly drop to the bottom anyway by the time the growing is done. They think the other two groups of people are crazy to waste their time.

I have consistently been adding water and floating off the hulls in the third day of all my sprouting for many years now. In the interest of science, and because I was reading about the topic for these posts, I threw caution to the wind and did not do the step at all in my next batch of mung bean sprouts after this.

Guess what! For the most part, the hulls did sink to the bottom of the bowl. The sprouts themselves did not seem to suffer. They grew and tasted the same and I did not waste time chasing hulls.

The thrills never end when you are sprouting!

More in this series

Mung Beans to Sprout
Sprouting Mung Beans First Soak
Sprouting Mung Beans After 24 Hours
Sprouting Mung Beans After 48 Hours

= =
My post is for today's foodphotography @photocontest by @juliank. You have 14 ways to enter each week, so give it a try! I’m using a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera for these photos.

fitinfun before and after sitting difference.jpg

I lost weight when I learned skills and persisted. Anyone can do this if I can.

Sort:  

Hi Sharon! My boyfriend @nutinbutdatruth and I met Caleb yesterday at the SoCal steemit meet up, and I loved hearing your story and how you guys got started on Steemit. I look forward to following your blog :) You look great! The before and after photos are really inspiring.

Oh, I would like to have been a fly on that wall! So glad you commented. Caleb and I are so lucky to have steemit going for us. Good for you to get to the meetup. That's a good way to do better here, I think. Thank you for the compliments and I am following back :)

I am still trying to figure things out, what works for me etc, but I have to say - meeting people in person and making friends is the best part! We are new to California (recently moved last year from NYC) so its really nice to be able to make friends with common interests outside of your typical places, such as the bar. LOL.

Thank you, green bean sprouts are my favorite vegetables. Congratulations on your success in losing weight.

All sprouts are so yummy to me :) Thank you for the compliment!

fitfun i would love to meet you.

Well, come to Bangkok and we can meet up!

its need to remain your weight
nice food photography
i doing this

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.22
Server time: 15:21:43
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 849.29/1600.00
Total Photos: 116
Total comments: 125
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great food photograpy.
I like this food.thanks for sharing..

You're welcome.

nice food photography
resteemit done

It seems that you really like mung beans! Me too.. it is rich in proteins, right?!? Just wondering if mung beans contributed to your slim body now?!?! Upvoted and commented by rubelynmacion of krypto.

Great post. Very informative fitinfun. Continue to share your deepest thoughts here with us. Yes here is my kryptonia ID. Remiel Bertes @remieltbertes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99