Sprouting Mung Beans First Soak foodphotography

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

My dried mung beans posted yesterday are now getting their first soak in clean water and on their way to being sprouts.

sprouting mung beans first soak food photography fitinfun.jpg

I’ve washed them first, although they did not seem to need it. Now they are back in the same shallow bowl as before and ready to be set aside. The first step to sprouting these hard little beans is keeping them underwater for 24 hours. I pick out any dark brown, broken or floating seeds.

As you see, there is not much water, so I will need to keep checking them every few hours and adding more water. You are seeing them after the first 8 hours and then have already plumped up nicely.

A normal person would put these mung beans in a deeper bowl, with more water, and just let them sit overnight. No one has ever accused me of being normal, but in this case, I have a reason for my madness. This shallow bowl is the best thing I have for the task and I am making do.

I’m using cold water. I have heard of other people using boiling water, but I do not want to harm any nutrients in case that would happen.

My first introduction to mung beans and their sprouts was in one of my chronic pain groups. I found out there, that mung beans have nutrients that are hard to get otherwise, and that they are anti-inflammatory.

Since I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, I want to avoid inflaming myself at all cost. The more anti-inflammatory foods I can get, the better. Since my diet is so restricted, I protect what I do eat and keep it as near to the source as I can. I’m also not in any rush, and so cold water it is.

My post is for today's foodphotography @photocontest by @juliank. You have 14 ways to enter each week, so give it a try.

I’m using a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera. As you can see, I’m trying to get a macro shot and if I improve, I will finally be able to enter that contest!

Sharon fitinfun before after.jpg

Losing weight was the best thing that ever happened to me. Anyone can get over obesity and live their dreams if I did.

Sort:  

Cool photo, Mom. I'm glad to see you are still spouting even in Thailand!

i follow you from facebook and i like ur suggestion which you give in one post comment that create good content and get upvote i like it please visit my blog and upvote me i also believe in hard work and want to do so.

Hi @farah-kamran - I'm so glad to see you here. You are doing a nice job with your posts. I have this old post about how to do well on steemit and it may help you. I think you will do well here with effort. Good job on entering contests - that is the best bet when you are new here.

Make Money Blogging on Steemit Top Tips and Checklist for Better Results!!

how do you use the sprouts @fitinfun? I do sprouts and throw them in the vitamix as part of a healthy drink. And you? salads? smoothies? or ???

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.29
Server time: 10:34:04
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 792.89/800.00
Total Photos: 109
Total comments: 113
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Does it not help to cover them with a papertowel too?

I had no idea that mung beans had that kind of health benefit. I don't really have those issues now but I'll keep it in mind :).

wow..great food..amazing foodphotography..all the best...

I need to read about those a bit more!

You got a 4.18% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @fitinfun!

Hello, you received an upvote from @steemdunk thanks to @fitinfun! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58