Mung Beans to Sprout dailyfoodphotography

in #dailyfoodphotography6 years ago (edited)

These mung beans are more like potential food than actual food when they are at this stage.

Mung Beans to sprout daily food photography fitinfun.jpg

I sprout mung beans a couple of times a week and eat them almost the minute they are long enough. This photo shows you the amount of mung beans I start with before I wash them and start soaking them to get going on their growing. You will be shocked to see the result after a few days of action.

This tiny handful of mung beans came out of a 500 mg package that costs about 1 usd in my Bangkok Thailand Tesco. At the rate I am using them, these mung beans will be with me for many months, and maybe even a year. That’s okay because I love eating them after they sprout.

Thanks to steemit, I now know to take a picture and use that to find the "bad" beans. The brownish ones and broken ones are not going to sprout and it's best to remove them before sprouting the good ones. My bad eyes cannot see these too well in person. They are so much larger and easier to see here on this photo! Thank you steemit for helping me get a better plan.

Here is the next photo for this mung bean event. If you like to watch grass grow, you are in for a real treat!

You are viewing my entry for the dailyfoodphotography contest by @howtostartablog.

I’m using a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera.

before and after stomach fitinfun.jpg

After losing “half my size” with natural methods, I find myself in all kinds of places I never dreamed of. Losing weight was the best thing that ever happened to me. Anyone can get over obesity and live their dreams if I can.

Sort:  

I had no idea you could see the brown ones easier in a photo. I like the sprouts myself, but my wife doesn't, although she does love the mung bean noodles that are so common in Thailand.

lol - This is the first of many thrills about this series. I'm going to start shooting pill bottles and fine print as a hobby now. There might even be some words in English. My bad eyes are so excited!

I don't eat any noodles. Fat women get sauce all over their boobs while those things fling about, and I stopped at about the age of 12. No need to give bullies any additional ammunition. I have so many quirks it is amazing I'm still here.

I mostly throw these sprouts into soup, and they just soften down into the mix. I did not like them too much either, but now I've gotten a taste for them and eat little handfuls out of the fridge.

Weren't you the one talking to me about watching rice grow for fun? I hope this series of posts will make you feel at home. The next one is coming right up!

Can't wait!

And yeah, in soup is great for some crunch. I also like a big handful of them in my pad thai.

So, today I learned that sprouts come from mung beans! They serve them here in restaurants. Here, I only know of one Asian grocery store nearby that sells the sprouts. It would be a lot more convenient to buy the beans and have them to sprout myself. Thanks, I look forward to your posts.

They will also be much less expensive if you sprout them yourself. I did not look for them in the states, but I think you will be able to get them with all the other beans in the store. Based on my serving here, these are almost free. I remember the sprouted ones in the stores being expensive.

Good post. Would be even better if you were to add photos of the progress of the mung beans. 😊. Having never grown them myself, I would be very interested.

Thank you for the advice, but I decided to do a slow drip with these as that is how it is in real life. I really appreciate your interest and upvote and hopefully you will like the rest of the posts :)

I want to see them sprouted!

Cool share, my mother used to sprout seeds to eat too, mainly Alfalfa and another one I can't recall. They are very nice with salad, maybe I'll go back to sprouting some time.

Cheers

I'm doing a whole series of posts for this event, so you will get your chance to see more :) Sprouting is easy, inexpensive and makes good food, so I think it is worth the effort. I should get some other seeds or beans for more variety, so I'm glad you brought that up.

If your mom was doing it, I'm sure you have the chops!

A different bean. I've never seen this bean before. Legumes are always useful.

It's a good one. Maybe you can find them where you are :)

I dont think so ı am from Turkey :)

Look for any dried bean and sprout them - or seeds. I do this to many of them but I just picked this one to post about :)

Thanks for saying hi on Twitter. Your blog is really inspirational and well worth the follow.

See you around! :)

Thank you very much. So glad to have your connection!

All green is good (both in food and charts).

Thanks for tweeting.

Thank you - the more breaking out of charts you find - the better!

Your posts are inspirational and light to read. Thx for sharing

Thank you, @chelsea88 I really appreciate that. I'm still finding my way about what to post here. I used to create big long posts, but those did not seem to do well. I like the short contest and challenge post better on other people's feeds too :)

Can they be used for cooking ?

Yes, you can just soak and cook them like any other dried bean. I do not seen to do that preparation very well and prefer the sprouts anyway.

Very nice looking this food photography....I like this food. carry on dear.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58