Dulse Seaweed for Health My Experience foodphotography

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

If you are vegan or vegetarian and want to get umami taste, you will love dulse seaweed. But you do not need to be avoiding animal products to enjoy eating dulse.

Dulse my experience food photography bxlphabet.jpg

What is umami taste? It is the savory flavor you get from meat, fish, mushrooms, and some fermented foods. I’ve been vegetarian for most of my life and I seem to crave this flavor. Dulse is an easy way to get it.

Even though I grew up right near the ocean, we never had seaweed unless it was in sushi. I eat vegetarian sushi called California Rolls when I can and I love them, but that cannot be a daily thing due to the cost and having to travel to get them. Dulse keeps forever in the kitchen – or at least as long as it takes me to eat it, which is not very long.

The reason I’m so happy to have this package of dulse delivered to my door from Amazon is because this is the whole leaves. I don’t know if leaves is the right word for it, but you get the picture. This package contains large pieces of dulse.

I also have dulse flakes, which are finely cut into little squares, and I have a shaker version of dulse with tiny granules.

Both of those sit on my kitchen counter and I sprinkle them on just about anything. Even though they smell a bit like the sea if you sniff the big amount in the containers, once you get dulse on your food, it just adds a mild salty taste.

I have not had the whole dulse leaves for a while now. This package is only 2 ounces and it goes quickly once I start using it.

I guess there are many ways to cook this, but the only way I use whole dulse is by quickly frying it up in a bit of coconut oil. I get a bunch of dulse pieces out of the bag and flatten them. Then I put them in a frying pan with a little bit of hot oil and turn them once. They take about two minutes to cook.

I can use fried dulse as if it was bacon on any place I want a salty flavor such as soup, salad, or eggs. If I am hungry and in the right mood, I can just eat all of the dulse I just cooked up without adding it to anything. It is so delicious.

I really like using dulse on my food. Like all the other foods I’m talking about in this list of healthy products I got from my Amazon haul below, I feel good after eating and not heavy or tired. I feel energy from my meals now instead of sick and bloated like it used to be when I did not eat healthy. My healthy meals make more of a difference than I ever would have imagined before I started eating this way.

The start of this idea to post about my Amazon haul
Nutritional Yeast Flakes
Hemp Oil and Hemp Seeds
Raw Cacao
Magnesium Oil

My post is for today's #foodphotography @photocontest by @juliank.

Sort:  

I'm going to have to do a post on California Rolls. Really anyone can make them. First couple times they might be a little ugly until you get the rolling down pat, but after that you will realize they are a very simple and economical meal to make at home.

It takes time so you want to make enough to justify the time spent. Think technically you are looking at about 2 hours, but at least an hour of that is just down time waiting on things so perfect time to make a blog post or something.

Make it the first time or two for yourself until you get the hang of it (they won't look perfect the first time, but still tastes great). Once you have it figured out then offer to bring as a side dish for parties, or when you host people. It impresses most everyone yet is easier then cooking a steak to the right temperature.

I hope you do that post. I've had so many people tell me it is easy to make sushi, but I have no idea even how to start. Ugly is ok! I'm just going to eat them anyway :)

Ugly is ok! I's just going to eat them anyway :)

Exactly!

Next week is crazy busy, but will try to do this with my Daughter and do another Cooking with Kids post.

Awesome, cant wait to see it!

I sure wish I had some dulse right now. I have a different type of seaweed here and it is good but it's not the same! (sniffle)

Aw! I'm glad you found out about this anyway, and hopefully your seaweed has the same nutrition and makes you feel good eating it too. Do a post about it! Love you, Mom.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.85 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.17
Server time: 14:58:53
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 201.15/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 59
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@masterbot has been called by @fitinfun to give you 7.69% upvote!
Check this post for information about delegation. Make me strong!

You got a 11.26% upvote from @sunrawhale courtesy of @fitinfun!

This service has been created with the help of @yabapmatt so please show your support by voting for him for witness!

This post has received a 4.80% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @fitinfun. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

You got a 3.57% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @fitinfun!

You got a 8.26% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @fitinfun!

This post has received a 5.56% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @fitinfun. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 14.75% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @fitinfun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76